Hotel President

Hotel President

Traveller (78)
Our spacious family suite rooms are ideally designed for families with children. Each suite is aesthetically designed, well ventilated offering immaculate charm and contemporary convenience.
Room & Suite (14)
Family and Play Areas (1)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

4.0
#13 of 95 hotels in Madurai
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.1 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
With its easy accessibility to many key attractions, Hotel President in Madurai offers you the best services, experience, and comfort at affordable rates. The well-trained and friendly staff maintains the property and ensures your stay is smooth. Facilities Our rooms are tastefully furnished and offer amenities like complimentary Veg Breakfast, Parking Facility, Card Payment, and a lot more. To ensure the safety of guests, the hotel provides facilities like fire safety, first aid, and round-the-clock security. We also have a 24-hour helpdesk to offer assistance to guests at any time. What's NearbyTake a tour of Madurai and explore key attractions like Meenakshi Amman Temple, Sri Poovaraga Swamy Temple, and Gandhi Memorial Museum. Out of Cash? There is Sbt Atm, Axis Bank ATM, and IDBI Bank ATM in close vicinity to the property.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Airport transportation
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Car hire
Taxi service
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Desk
Room service
Seating area
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Private bathrooms
Tile / marble floor
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Trendy
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Hindi, Tamil

Location

8A Yanaikkal Street Simmakkal, Madurai 625001 India
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 75 out of 100
75
Madurai Airport
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles119 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Hotel President stands out for its coveted location in Madurai, with guests frequently applauding its proximity to the Meenakshi Amman Temple and local dining options. The hotel earns acclaim for its cleanliness and professional service, contributing to a positive atmosphere and a commendable stay. While amenities such as parking are appreciated, travelers suggest that improvements could be made to the hot water and spa services. Opinions on value and room conditions vary, though the majority of guests are pleased with the tidy and well-kept rooms despite occasional critiques regarding upkeep and mosquitos.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Inviting
Rooms
Clean
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Professional
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
119Reviews2Q+A17Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 76
  • 20
  • 6
  • 2
  • 15
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Aniruddha Hom wrote a review Dec 2022
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
The biggest advantage of this hotel is it is close to the Meenakshi Amman Temple, for which many travelers go to Madurai. The hotel is situated on a busy and noisy road though once you are in you will have a different experience. Entire hotel is very clean and friendly. The staff from the front desk to the restaurant are polite and ready to help you. Rooms are not very spacious, but clean and you’ll find everything you need in a hotel room good and enough for a one-night stay. Breakfast and lunch/dinner were included in extremely reasonably priced room rent. They serve South Indian vegetarian cuisine during breakfast and all food items are delicious. Though we didn’t pay for the food, I find the price of items in the menu very reasonable. Shopping area of Maduari is a little far from the hotel, though the neighborhood looked like a major wholesale hub of the city. Overall, it was like, ‘as you pay so you get’ and no bad feeling.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel President, Owner at Hotel President
Responded Jul 19, 2023
Dear aniruddhahomr, Greeting from Hotel President Madurai, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a positive review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and that you were pleased with the facilities, staff and service we provided. Your feedback is invaluable to us and this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Once again, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Hotel President Madurai.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sherpa57212168417 wrote a review Feb 2023
Madurai, India
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently had the pleasure of visiting Hotel President Madurai, and I had an excellent time there! The hotel itself was quite clean, and the staff was cordial and competent. The apartments were roomy and furnished with all the essentials. They also have fire safety precautions in place, as well as a 24-hour security system, which impressed me as a dedication to visitor protection.

The fact that they provide reasonable pricing without sacrificing quality really pleased me; have that in mind if you're looking for a reasonably priced place to stay in Madurai. Anybody looking for a fantastic place to stay in the city should check out Hotel President Madurai; you won't be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel President Madurai, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel President
Responded May 22, 2023
Dear Sherpa, Greeting from Hotel President Madurai, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a positive review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and that you were pleased with the facilities, staff and service we provided. Your feedback is invaluable to us and this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Once again, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Hotel President Madurai.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
David P wrote a review Feb 2020
Denver, Colorado
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I stayed here with my small tour group and we really liked the rooms and staff. Mgr. Padmanaban and his team were really helpful. WiFi was strong everywhere and it is a short walk from the main temple complex. They have a restaurant on the top floor, and although I only had coffee that was good and food did look good. A good option for a few days in Madurai.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sandeep K wrote a review Dec 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is the worst hotel that we have ever booked. In this "certified" 3 star rated hostel cleanliness and hygiene is an upgrade, as per the "GM" of the hotel. Someone had smoked and urinated in the room that was allocated to us. The room was doused with room freshener which was nauseating to say the least. The manager of the hotel initially tried to convince us that there is no stench at all and everything is impeccably clean. When we initiated he showed us another room where the same issue was there. He then summoned the "GM" of the hotel who moved us to another room and told us that we have been upgraded to a better room as it is clean.

The rules pasted in the hotel rooms says that smoking and drinking is not allowed in the hotel. I guess their smoke and fire detection system, if one exists, is as broken as the rest of the "facilities" in the hotel. There is not a single facility (for lack of an antonym) in this shabby hotel that is not broken. You can feel the state of cleaniness starting from the elevator itself. You are not provided any towel (not even a dirty one expecting a clean one would be height of optimism), soap or any item of hygiene in this hotel. There is no cable connection in the hotel. Looks like the hotel has not paid for the cable subscription. All the fixtures in the bathroom (they don't have anything beyond the bare minimum ones) are broken/ non-operational and leaking. God only knows about the hygiene of the linen and the mattresses. We avoided paid breakfast in this sickly place for good reason.

I don't know how this hotel even has a license to operate forget about its three star rating. Our stay in this hotel was nothing less than a nightmare.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Namrata wrote a review Jul 2023
Mahabalipuram, India
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The President Hotel fails to live up to its advertised standards, making it a disappointment for visitors. Upon entering our hotel room, my family and I were immediately dissatisfied due to its cramped and unclean conditions. The walls were marred with unsightly stains, and the bedsheets were littered with clumps of hair, which extended to even the refrigerator. Moreover, the presence of mosquitoes was persistent, hindering any chance of a comfortable stay. Additionally, the lighting in the room was inadequate, further adding to the overall unpleasant experience.
We had a booking for two days; however, after fifteen minutes into the hotel and the room, we decided to report the matter to the manager at the reception and expressed our concerns. We also informed him that we'll be checking out the next day as it was too late to find alternate accommodation.
The breakfast buffet is what we call TERRIBLE- from plates to spoons to tablecloths to food- everything felt greasy and untidy.
Mr. J Arunkumar and Mr. Dinesh assured us of our refund, but it has been ten days without any refund. Their continuous delay tactics and excuses for the past ten days have left you with no alternative but to consider taking legal action through the consumer court. It is disheartening when promises are broken, especially when they concern matters of reimbursement and customer satisfaction.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel President, Owner at Hotel President
Responded Jul 19, 2023
Dear Quest08506621560, Greetings from The Hotel President Madurai!!! We thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us on this forum. Guest reviews are always appreciated as they help us to evaluate ourselves and better our service standards. At our resort, we are committed to offer memorable experiences to our guests. It is always our priority to give our guests a flawless stay experience with the best facilities complimenting their stay. However, we understand that we have not at par with your expectations on the facilities provided during your recent stay and we regret the inconvenience that you had to face. Please be assured that this is not a recurrent thing at our hotel and we have shared your feedback with concerned team, so that notable changes can be made at the earliest. We thank you again for staying with us and sharing your feedback and we hope to welcome you back. Sincerely, Hotel President Madurai info@thehotelpresident.com
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Getaway60659156354 wrote a review Jan 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Good Hotel in a prime location in Madurai . Spa facility available for getting relaxed, but ₹2000 min for basic services . Bed Matress quality is just below average. Some lights were not working in the room . Some snacks were kept in the room which are chargeable (very pricey). Reception People are friendly. Would be really Better if they had 24 hour check out facility. Complimentary Breakfast provided, was good. Washrooms near the restaurant are not maintained well. Hot water in the room is not so very hot sufficient to take a bath. Cleanliness should be improved in the room. Especially, in the furnitures and the fixtures of the wall of the room, a lot of dust to be cleaned. Ample parking space is available for the verticals.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel President, Owner at Hotel President
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Getaway60569156354, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We greatly appreciate your input as it helps us to improve our services and ensure a better experience for all our guests. At Hotel President Madurai, we strive to provide exceptional service and create memorable stays for our guests. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we will use it to make the necessary improvements to enhance your future visits. If there is anything else you would like to share or if you have any further suggestions, please do not hesitate to reach out to us. We are here to assist you in any way we can. Once again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future. Warm regards, Hotel President Madurai
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Companion16484915172 wrote a review Feb 2023
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I recently stayed at the Hotel President Madurai, and it was one of the best hotel stays I've ever had! The staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were beautifully decorated and very comfortable, and the complimentary veg breakfast was a delicious way to start each day. The hotel's facilities were also excellent; with parking, card payment, fire safety, first aid, 24-hour security, and a 24-hour help desk, I felt safe throughout my stay. The hotel is close to some of Madurai's most famous attractions, such as Meenakshi Amman Temple, making it easy to get around. Strongly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel President Madurai, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel President
Responded May 22, 2023
Dear Companion, Greeting from Hotel President Madurai, Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a positive review of your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and that you were pleased with the facilities, staff and service we provided. Your feedback is invaluable to us and this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Once again, thank you for your kind words and we look forward to seeing you again soon. Sincerely, Hotel President Madurai.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paradise28131022406 wrote a review Mar 2024
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Very good supportive staff Mrs.Maheswari responsible and her service is highly appreciated while check in time and check out time she most helpful and guided to temple . Location is highly recommended . Meenakshi Amman temple is near walkable distance only rooms were cleaned and maintained.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: We will recommend for all the traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Hotel President, Owner at Hotel President
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Paradise28131022406, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We greatly appreciate your input as it helps us to improve our services and ensure a better experience for all our guests. At Hotel President Madurai, we strive to provide exceptional service and create memorable stays for our guests. Your feedback is valuable to us, and we will use it to make the necessary improvements to enhance your future visits. If there is anything else you would like to share or if you have any further suggestions, please do not hesitate to reach out to us. We are here to assist you in any way we can. Once again, thank you for your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future. Warm regards, Hotel President Madurai
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sivakumar wrote a review Mar 2020
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Breakfast is very bad and rooms are very small. Moreover I booked three rooms in a single name. They failed to provide invoice in the name of the guest as there system does not allow. This looks very funny and meaning less. I don't know what system they have.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled on business
Room Tip: You can try this hotel only when you don't get rooms in other hotels. If you book, You may...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Dr Sanjay wrote a review Nov 2022
4.0 of 5 bubbles
After staying at Rameswaram I prepared my mind to stay at any place where attached toilets with24 hrs availability of water are available,
To my pleasant surprise, Hotel President was quite clean, neat, and tidy. Rooms, room size, washroom, and bathroom size were reasonably good.

The room had enough ports to charge three mobiles separately.

Throughout the trip, we were facing difficulty with language, but a pleasant surprise was waiting for us. The surprise was Mr. Mohammad Riaz. He knew good quality Hindi and English too.

Temple, the main market was at a walkable distance.

For sightseeing Mr, Riaz introduced us to Mr. Gopal .

Mr.Gopal is an asset to the Hotel president.

Gopal himself is a good caretaker of his clients. He is a good trip advisor and can communicate in multiple languages. He knew much of the history and geography of the sights. Initially, you may feel his voice is quite high but actually, it's the typical south accent he has . He is a gentleman, and works not only as a driver but as a tour guide for you . he has a nice influence in many of the temples. He rescues you from long tiring ques.
If you are going on a tour of south India, especially Madurai and Rameswaram, insist on getting Mr. Gopal as your guide.
Thank you, Mr. Gopal, you were the best .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: We had a good Room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SledgeHammer asked a question Dec 2021
Kochi (Cochin), India24 contributions3 helpful votes
Is there any proper and safe parking space in this hotel?
Answer from Sandeep K
7 contributions6 helpful votes
This hotel is nothing more than a pigeon hole. There is an open space outside this hotel where you can park. Don't expect any safety here.
Premalatha S asked a question Apr 2019
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia29 contributions26 helpful votes
Hi just want to know if it was recently renovated? are there nearby restaurants?
Answer from Sandeep K
7 contributions6 helpful votes
Avoid dining at this hotel. You never know what they are going to serve you. A totally unhygienic place.
DayTrip52362091320 wrote a tip Jun 2024
1 contribution
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Travels are very good and make the guest tour and trip very good in good the briyani and started was very good its was my best food in madur"
Read full review
Senthilkumar C wrote a tip May 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Average "
Read full review
Paradise28131022406 wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"We will recommend for all the traveller "
Read full review
Wander36602354299 wrote a tip Mar 2024
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't choose this hotel for your stay, you be disappointed and cheated. "
Read full review
Nomad65444313391 wrote a tip Feb 2024
1 contribution
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"they have vvip Temple dharsan that was excellent service taxi service was nice food was good near by access to all the location around madur"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Madurai area.
PRICE RANGE
C$33 - C$79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
OYO 14759 Hotel President
LOCATION
IndiaTamil NaduMadurai DistrictMadurai
NUMBER OF ROOMS
44
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hotel President - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Hotel President
Which popular attractions are close to Hotel President?
Nearby attractions include Sri Thiru Aappudayar Shiva Temple (0.4 km), Madurai Art Gallery (0.1 km), and Edaganatheswarar Temple (0.5 km).
What are some restaurants close to Hotel President?
Conveniently located restaurants include Konar Kadai, Konar Mess, and Tamilaga Unavu Viduthi.
Is Hotel President located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.1 km away from the centre of Madurai.
Are there any historical sites close to Hotel President?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Thirumalai Nayakar Mahal (1.1 km), Sri Ramana Mandiram (0.9 km), and Madurai Amma Mitto (1.8 km).
All Madurai HotelsMadurai Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in MaduraiHotels near Hotel President
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars