We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Retreat

Expedia.comUS$33*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
The Retreat
The Retreat
Panoramas (17)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

717 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Showing 573: English reviews
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 9 April 2017

The hotel is clean.room was spacious.and fast check in fast check out.outside hotel a bit dusty and noisy in the afternoon.Food not that great or less variaty. The distance to taj mahal less than 100 m.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Arifiin B
Tanuj_Goyal, Manager at The Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from Hotel The Retreat, Agra !! It was a pleasure to have you stay With us at The Retreat, Agra. The team is excited looking at your fantastic feedback for each and every department you come around and I am sure this will motivate them further to deliver high levels of guest satisfaction. Thank you for...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 26 March 2017

I have stayed here for one night only and overall experience is excellent. Nice Hotel with nice staff, good rooms, good food, nice location. I strongly recommend this for everyone. Thanks for providing such comfortable stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mkjain79
Tanuj_Goyal, Manager at The Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from Hotel The Retreat, Agra !! It was a pleasure to have you stay With us at The Retreat, Agra. The team is excited looking at your fantastic feedback for each and every department you come around and I am sure this will motivate them further to deliver high levels of guest satisfaction. Thank you for...

Crowthorne
Reviewed 23 March 2017

Excellent value. Very clean, excellent room and friendly staff. Good restaurant. They do not serve hard drinks. But were able to provide beer. Overall very good. They get 10/10 for honesty, e.g. We had left our smartphone in the room and got a call within 10mins after leaving the hotel and were able to go back and pick it up.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hartiraths
Tanuj_Goyal, Manager at The Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from hotel The Retreat Agra! Our endeavour is to offer excellent accommodation, food and prompt service to all our guests and my team and I feel privileged that you have considered writing Such a positive review. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Retreat Agra. We...

Canberra
Reviewed 21 March 2017

The Retreat is an older-style hotel with standard rooms but was just fine in terms of location and price. Staff were very helpful (although dining room staff could pay a bit more attention to the smaller issues such as refilling empty bufffet containers, serving coffee when you want it...). The room was a good size, clean and comfortable. We would...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank geoffr395
Tanuj_Goyal, Manager at The Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from hotel The Retreat Agra! Our endeavour is to offer excellent accommodation, food and prompt service to all our guests and my team and I feel privileged that you have considered writing Such a review. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to The Retreat Agra. We are...

Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Reviewed 19 March 2017

It's a very nice property with good food . Near to the Taj east gate. The staff were courteous n the check in was quick. The restaurant was good and food was quite good, the breakfast spread was good n combined well with Indian n European spread.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashispatnaik
Tanuj_Goyal, Guest Relations Manager at The Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from hotel The Retreat Agra! Thank you very much for staying with us at Hotel The Retreat Agra. I am delighted to read your review and to learn that your experience at our hotel was exceptional and our staff and services exceeded your expectations. It is a pleasure to read such a positive comment on staff ,...

London
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Chose this for its position - within waling distance of the Taj Mahal, and also not too noisy. However, I think the main problems, although relatively minor, are due to poor management. On arrival, our room had half the light bulbs broken and only 2 hangers in the wardrobe. A call to Housekeeping got a quick result, but these things...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ashiraboppa
Tanuj_Goyal, Guest Relations Manager at The Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Hotel The Retreat, Agra !! Kindly accept our apology for the dissatisfaction and inconvenience caused to you. We regret that we have not been able to measure up to your expectations this time. We are glad to note that you have left with a positive impression of our product in terms of staff, location, service and...

Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

Average stay that could have been improved if A: we had hot water, B: we weren't treated to a dance party outside by the pool - the music was crazy loud, C: the bathroom didn't have a strange odour, and D: the internet coverage was consistent. Saving the stay were the polite staff and good breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JazzApple
Tanuj_Goyal, Manager at The Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from Hotel The Retreat, Agra !! It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Retreat hotel, Agra recently. Please accept my apologies for the shortcomings during your stay, though we as a team put in all our efforts to offer a flawless product, there are times we fall short of the mark. Rest assured,...

Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Reviewed 13 March 2017

I stayed here for one night and was disappointed with the overall quality of the hotel. The rooms were tight, the roll-away bed was awful, and the breakfast was lukewarm at best. There was also rust on all the handles and faucets in the bathroom. The staff was pleasant but I will not be staying here again and I recommend...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank davidsperlings
Tanuj_Goyal, Guest Relations Manager at The Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Hotel The Retreat, Agra !! Kindly accept our apology for the dissatisfaction and inconvenience caused to you. We regret that we have not been able to measure up to your expectations this time. We would certainly make the necessary amendments in this respective area you have raised the concern about, so as to let our valued...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2017

Enjoyable stay at this hotel in Agra. Staff are very friendly, however, they need to be more organised and efficient. 1. Ordered room service but the waiter came without cutlery and napkins. 2. Front desk did not have smaller denomination to change Rs 2000 two days running! 3. Dining room: We asked for bread rolls but did not make it...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dingle81
Tanuj_Goyal, Manager at The Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Greetings from Hotel The Retreat, Agra !! It was a pleasure to have you stay at The Retreat hotel, Agra recently. Please accept my apologies for the shortcomings during your stay, though we as a team put in all our efforts to offer a flawless product, there are times we fall short of the mark. Rest assured,...

New Delhi, India
Reviewed 6 March 2017

We were there for few hours only but had a relaxed time there. We had ordered American Breakfast and Stuffed Paranthas. both were very good. We opted for Buffet Lunch which had good variety of dished. May it be Pasta, Noodles, Continental or Indian. Food was hot and not very spicy just the correct amount of spiced used to satisfy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Seema828
Tanuj_Goyal, Guest Relations Manager at The Retreat, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from hotel The Retreat Agra! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Retreat hotel on Trip Advisor. It has been my pleasure to convey your compliments to the entire team. They are delighted to know that their contribution has been recognized and appreciated by you. Positive recognition is a tremendous source of...

303 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (203)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (45)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (84)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (74)
Viewed
Pool (20)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (20)
Viewed
Superior Room (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Agra hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Taj Resorts
Hotel Taj Resorts
#17 of 145 in Agra
1,509 reviews
0.8 km away
Taj Villa
Taj Villa
#31 of 145 in Agra
286 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
Hotel Atulyaa Taj
#20 of 145 in Agra
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel The Taj Vilas
Hotel The Taj Vilas
#19 of 145 in Agra
442 reviews
1.6 km away
Hotel Seven Hills Tower
1.8 km away
Howard Plaza The Fern Agra
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about The Retreat

Address: Taj Nagari Phase -1 | Near Prateek Enclave, Shilpgram Road, Agra 282001, India
Region: India > Uttar Pradesh > Agra District > Agra
Price Range: $46 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Agra
#11 Business Hotel in Agra
#16 Spa Hotel in Agra
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Retreat staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Retreat staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Very good and Rich Hotel to stay room quality is super. For family it's a very good hotel we stay. Over all MORE valuable than you spend. It's Agra seventh wonder and the hotel make it for us really wonder . So when we will come agra WE will stay here only. ”
34vishnuk, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“No elevator so get a ground level room if you have mobility issues.”
Kadimai, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Use the thermostat ”
hartiraths, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book a spa treatment or use the pool if you have time.”
cinecam70, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“standard or superior - both are the same concept”
souziem, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$33* /night
View Deal
Hotwire.comUS$34
Orbitz.comUS$34
TravelocityUS$34
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates