We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ananda in the Himalayas

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ananda in the Himalayas
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

610 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 552: English reviews
Start your review of Ananda in the Himalayas
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I wholeheartedly recommend Anandaspa as a retreat/spa type of holiday. The staff is superbly well trained and the facility is very well appointed and situated. We achieved what we set out to do- which was coaching on meditation and yoga. Our routine was idyllic- yoga, breakfast, mediation, spa treatments, lunch, exercise, and evening meditation classes. What differentiates Anandaspa from other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sanj G
Munich, Germany
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Ananda means „bliss“, and indeed, this place is as close as you can get to paradise on this earth. Peacocks stroll around in the lush gardens, the staff is genuinely friendly and always smiling, the food is exquisite, the spa is excellent, both the therapists and the impeccable organisation. You are totally being cared for, 24/7, and can completely let...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrBattuta
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

having heard about the resort through friends and wanting to see the himalayas were the reason i made the journey ... the experience was outstanding . from the reservation part up to minute details are to be commended . i received a spa plan for the days i was to be there tailored to my requirements .. we were greeted...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mona A
Nikhil K, General Manager at Ananda in the Himalayas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Namaskar! Thank you for visiting us at Ananda and for sharing you experience. It gives us great pleasure to know that you had a memorable trip to Ananda and we look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing and rejuvenating visit. Warm regards, Nikhil Kapur

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a wonderful place to unwind Wonderful room with a fantastic view What a beautifully kept property Went for the Ganga Aarti, everything was organised by the hotel The staff could not be more attentive The spa treatments were world class Going to make it a habit of coming here more often

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pradeep B
Nikhil K, General Manager at Ananda in the Himalayas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Namaskar! Thank you for staying with us at Ananda and for your kind review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, Nikhil Kapur

Bangalore, India
Reviewed 1 week ago

Fantastic property and fantastic service !!! I spent 3 nights there and this was probably the get getaway in several years . Everything from the spa to the music to the service to the welcome on arrival to the seeoff is coordinated towards delivering wellness . Must congratulate Nikhil the GM in driving the perfection

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AnilSivadas
Nikhil K, General Manager at Ananda in the Himalayas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Namaskar! Thank you for visiting us at Ananda and for your kind review. It was a pleasure to meet you during your visit and I look forward to welcoming you back soon. Warm regards, Nikhil Kapur

Pune, India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dated 11/03/2017 1:00pm - We had a terrible experience visiting THE ANANDA .We were visiting RISHIKESH for a holiday.Since we had heard so much about ANANDA,we thought we would visit for lunch but were not allowed to even enter and talk to any person at the reception by the main gate watchman and were asked to back off with rudeness,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wAr10ck86
gmananda2013, General Manager at Ananda in the Himalayas, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer, Namaskar! Please accept our sincere regrets for being unable to accommodate your family for lunch when you were in Rishikesh. We are a destination spa and all our facilities are designed to accommodate only guests who are in residence. Also in order to maintain the tranquility of the resort, we do not allow children below 14. We are...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

One of the most peaceful hotels I have ever stayed in. Located atop a hill, in Narendra Nagar, just 45 mins from Dehradun Airport, the hotel is completely cut off from the outside world. The hotel is surrounded by forests, commanding a wonderful view of the river Ganga and Rishikesh below. The rooms are extremely comfortable. Kurta Pajamas are provided...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ferozeuddin
gmananda2013, General Manager at Ananda in the Himalayas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Namaskar! Thank you for visiting us at Ananda and for your kind review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found our location to be tranquil and picturesque and look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing and rejuvenating experience. Warm regards, Nikhil Kapur

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The resort is a perfect getaway for peace and quiet. The service and food is impeccable. The employees are courteous and reminded me of my stay at Disney resorts - the happiest place on earth! Ananda definitely comes close to the Disney experience. However, the resort needs to have a policy on guest etiquette and how to speak and behave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shruti G
gmananda2013, General Manager at Ananda in the Himalayas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Namaskar! Thank you for visiting us at Ananda and for your review. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay and that our facilities and services met with your expectations. It was a pleasure to meet with you while you were here. We have noted your feedback regarding some other guests causing you disturbance during...

Changchun, China
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Two weeks for a good grounding on the divine nature in Ananda in The Himalayas. Wake up every morning with birds' twitter and fresh air of Himalayas. The balcony overlooking the romantic golden palace, while having a cup of lemon ginger honey tea for the great start a new day. Experience the best traditional Hatha yoga in the morning with...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank starliangjing
gmananda2013, General Manager at Ananda in the Himalayas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Namaskar! Thank you for visiting us at Ananda and for your kind review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. We will pss on your kind compliments to the Chef, Rajesh and Dr. Naresh. Warm regards, Nikhil Kapur

Pune, India
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were at Ananda in the Himalaya’s to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary, and we were very happy with our choice. It is truly a “heaven on earth” . Spread over 100 acres of land only 20% of it is used for the rooms and everything else is pure blissful natural forests. Ananda is at about 3600 ft height overlooking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LalitaVasu
gmananda2013, General Manager at Ananda in the Himalayas, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you choosing Ananda for the special occassion of your anniversary and for your kind review. It was a pleasure to hve you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing and rejuvenating stay. Warm regards, Nikhil Kapur

546 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (504)
Viewed
View from Room (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (136)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (48)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (217)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (31)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Narendranagar
4.7 km away
Aloha On The Ganges by Leisure Hotels
19.0 km away
Atali
Atali
#1 of 2 in Singthali Village
556 reviews
4.7 km away
Dewa Retreat - A Himalayan Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Ganga Kinare - A Riverside Boutique Hotel
6.2 km away
EllBee Ganga View
EllBee Ganga View
#5 of 51 in Rishikesh
356 reviews
4.5 km away
Hotel Akash Continental
Hotel Akash Continental
#25 of 51 in Rishikesh
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ananda in the Himalayas is an award winning luxury destination spa located in the foothills of the Himalayas, the birthplace of India's ancient arts of yoga, meditation and Ayurveda. Dedicated to restoring balance and harmonizing energy through a holistic approach, Ananda incorporates the healing principles of the East and the West with a specific focus on Ayurveda and Yoga, along with contemporary International spa experiences. Set amongst 100 acres of virgin forest and opened in September 2000, Ananda in the Himalayas is built around a Maharaja's palace estate and located 260 kilometres north of New Delhi. The resort features a restored Viceroy's Palace, world-class Spa, 70 deluxe rooms, 5 suites and 3 villas. Two of these villas are 2 bedroom villas and one is a single bedroom villa, with breathtaking views of the Ganges River and the mountainside. With the highest standards of service, luxurious accommodations, innovative dining and breathtaking mountain views, Ananda is an internationally recognised oasis offering an enriching experience designed to restore, renew and revitalise. Ananda signature wellness programs include Detox, Ayurvedic Rejuvenation, Weight Management, Stress Management, Yogic Detox, Ananda Yoga, Ananda Renew and Ananda Active. Getaway Spa packages starting at 2 or 3 nights are also available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ananda in the Himalayas

Address: The Palace Estate, | Tehri - Garhwal,, Narendranagar 249175, India
Region: India > Uttarakhand > Narendranagar
Price Range: $493 - $1,375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Ananda in the Himalayas 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ananda in the Himalayas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ananda In The Himalayas Hotel Rishikesh
Ananda In The Himalayas Rishikesh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ananda in the Himalayas staff and other travellers.
33 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (33)

Questions? Get answers from Ananda in the Himalayas staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“4th floor and above has the best views”
 of 5 bubbles AnilSivadas, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Valley view rooms have better view than garden view rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Ferozeuddin, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Best views on the 6th top floor”
  • The view of Himalayas as Chinese ink painting in the morning
 of 5 bubbles starliangjing, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Premium valley view of one of the villas”
 of 5 bubbles LalitaVasu, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We had a premium valley view room, very nice, but we were NEVER in our room, so we really didn't require the enhanced view...”
 of 5 bubbles cmhlaw, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5