We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown

Show Prices
#9 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

909 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Showing 893: English reviews
Albertson, New York
Reviewed 10 March 2016

The Hampton Inn is an ideal hotel for a business trip in Albany. The internet is very good, the breakfast has convenient hours from 6:00-10:00 am and the room is clean and quiet. The location is convenient to restaurants and bars.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank EEscobar_3
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your business travel. We know how important internet and location is for our business travelers. We value you and hope you continue your Hampton loyalty with us!

Fairport, United States
Reviewed 9 March 2016

I stay at this particular Hampton for Business often. The service at this hotel has declined distinctly. Honors members are routinely not recognized at check in, final invoices are often wrong, and the breakfasts have become virtually inedible. During this visit there was one elevator out of service, and one of the emergency stairway doors was locked.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for your loyalty to our property. We appreciate you letting us know about your recent experience with us. We will address your concerns quickly, so we do a better job for future guest. We are in our final stages of our renovation, so we invite you back to enjoy the finished product and allow us exceed your expectations.

Liverpool
Reviewed 9 March 2016

Dinner at Yono's, Albany's most elegant restaurant, and a blissful evening in one of the suites. A perfect get away! The bed was comfy and after breakfast we chilled out and watched the Sunday morning programs on TV while sipping some delicious coffee. Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bridget S
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for letting us and others know about your recent visit. We are thrilled we were able to meet your expectations. We hope you return soon.

Cicero, United States
Reviewed 4 March 2016

This hotel is very clean. Comfortable beds. Nice/efficient valet experience in the back parking lot of the hotel (very friendly and helpful with luggage), nice restaurant to unwind after hours. Front desk had issue with many programming hotel keys which was a bit frustrating for myself and others but re-programming worked the second time around. Location is GREAT to downtown...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pat Y
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We take pride in providing a great experience for our guest. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Armonk, New York
Reviewed 3 March 2016

Staff members at the Albany Hampton Inn & Suites are always friendly and helpful. The last time I was there I awoke to temperatures far colder than predicted and, without an overcoat, dreaded having to sit in a freezing cold car. Happily, Steve Colon, the parking lot attendant, volunteered to bring my car around and keep it running until it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Urs F
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

Wow, thank you for your kind words about your recent visit to our property. It is always our priority to ensure each and every guest has an exceptional stay. We look forward to your next visit.

Quincy, Massachusetts
Reviewed 27 February 2016

Hotel was going through renovations, so not their fault. Staff was very nice and friendly. Parking is a joke though, $15 to get it "valet" in their own parking lot. If you can find street or cheaper parking, I would recommend doing so. Very silly for a hotel, who has a parking lot, that you can only get it valeted....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RelaxTim
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

We appreciate you and your business. Because we are located in downtown Albany, safe secure parking is very limited. We offer valet parking to ensure you have quick service in our private parking lot. It has been our pleasure to have you as our guest!

New York City, New York
Reviewed 22 February 2016

Major construction renovation during my stay. The dust and noise made my stay Horrible. Although the staff work overtime to accommodate, it just was a poor management decision to schedule this major renovation project in the midst of Albany's biggest weekend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank michael g
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

We appreciate you and your comments about our renovation timeline. We do our best to schedule this during slow times, but it takes monthly to start and complete a renovation, so there is never the "perfect" time to complete much needed upgrades to the property. We do hope you return in the future to enjoy the fresh new look!

New Jersey, United States
Reviewed 21 February 2016

sleep in your car. cleaner than this hotel. EVERY possible thing that could of gone wrong did. I will NEVER stay there again. OVERPRICED and , well, just BAD. Valet parking without the valet, food for breakfast that is cold, rooms dusty and dirty with the LAST PERSONS DIRTY clothes on the floor in the room. Construction debris and dust...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kevin H
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. We will address your comments in this post, so we do a better job for our guest experience. We invite you to return in the future, post renovation so you have an exceptional visit.

Guilderland, United States
Reviewed 20 February 2016

I chose the Hampton Inn because it was conveniently located, near the Palace Theatre. When they say check-in begins at 3:00 PM, they mean it. You can't check in before that. Right now, they are in the midst of remodeling the lobby, so you can't use it, except to check in and out.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steven H
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

We appreciate you choosing us for your recent visit. We do our best to allow guest to check in before our standard check in time if rooms are available. Because check out is not until noon, and we also allow late check out based on request. We often have not had time to fully clean the rooms for early check...

Providence, Rhode Island
Reviewed 19 February 2016

Whenever I am in Albany for work I stay at this hotel. On my recent visit, I had the pleasure of meeting Lenora who works during the breakfast time. She was so kind and helpful and made you feel right at hime!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MIchele A
Michelle W, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

Thank you for being a loyal guest. We value you and appreciate your business!

163 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (82)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (81)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.3 km away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#14 of 50 in Albany
947 reviews
0.5 km away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
2.0 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
8.2 km away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
6.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The upscale downtown Albany hotel features 121 lavishly-appointed guest rooms, 35 suites with microwaves and refrigerators, eight whirlpool suites and one executive 2-room suite. The new hotel boasts wired and wireless Internet access, complimentary On the House® hot breakfast, on-site exercise facility with sauna and steam room, plenty of meeting space (we specialize in law firm deposition meetings), fresh hot coffee and tea in the lobby 24/7 and, of course, Hilton HHonors® points and miles for your stay. Eleven accessible rooms are available. All rooms and suites are smoke free and feature the Clean and Fresh Hampton Bed™. Welcome to Albany’s brightest new star!Yono’s Restaurant, and dp, an American Brasserie, share space near the entrance of the Hampton Inn & Suites! Just a step through the doorway for hotel guests, this upscale fine-dining restaurant features creative continental and Indonesian cuisine for a memorable dining experience.The Hampton Inn & Suites Albany Downtown is centrally and conveniently located to many downtown attractions, government buildings and points of interest. Business travelers will enjoy easy access to the area’s many businesses and corporations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown

Address: 25 Chapel St, Albany, NY 12210-2733
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Price Range: $158 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown Hotel Albany
Hampton Inn And Suites Albany - Downtown
Hampton Inn Hotel Albany
Hampton Inn Albany
Albany Hampton Inn
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Albany
#5 Business Hotel in Albany
#6 Family Hotel in Albany
#8 Romantic Hotel in Albany
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go to another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Texaslady6000, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I asked for a quiet room and gor one.”
 of 5 bubbles Nonaleyone, 26 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Request a higher floor away from the front of the building, otherwise you'll have flood lights in the room.”
 of 5 bubbles 555teresas, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“room away from elevator quieter”
 of 5 bubbles 601georgec, 9 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Become HHonors member to be able to choose your room.”
 of 5 bubbles FredericT379, 20 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay