We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

879 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany
See the most recent reviews
Showing 846: English reviews
Wahpeton
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We initially booked one night but ended up staying 2 more. The hotel itself is not the most up to date but we found the staff to be very helpful & accommodating. When comparing to other hotels in the area, it was a good deal. The hotel had free parking and a continental breakfast with both hot/cold food.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KeepTheMotorRunning
Binghamton, New York
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Though this may not appear to be the highest quality hotel, the way the staff treat you and make sure you're taken care of is exemplary. The cleanliness was maybe a 8/10, not perfect but frankly evident that they do regularly hit all the blind spots so it may have just been an off afternoon when i checked in. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne L
Lucasville, Ohio
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We checked in at 12:15. Now we are sitting waiting on someone to bring a sheet to fit this bed. It looked like they tried to put a full size sheet on a king size bed. The padding under it had brown stuff on it that looked like poop. It looks like an old hospital on the inside and smells...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tbrumfield
Patchogue, United States
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Poorest hotel I've ever stayed in. Rooms were sub-standard, cold showers, unable to control the heat/air condition unit. Elevator was out of order - people were stuck in it. Rear entrance of the building did not work - no cameras in the parking lot for safety.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marcelle L
Gil S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this review

Dear Marcelle L, We apologize for not meeting your expectations. Please know that the issues you mentioned have been corrected. We sincerely hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future. Sincerely, Gil General Manager

Buffalo, United States
Reviewed 26 October 2016

We arrived at the hotel at about 11PM. We were quickly checked in and on our way to our room with a nice king bed. In the morning we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the free breakfast; there were a lot of options and everything was delicious. I was weary about our stay based on some other online...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily R
Huntington, New York
Reviewed 25 October 2016

A recent conference brought me back to this property. Against my better judgement I stayed, I will not make that mistake again. Elevator out of order Deadbolt lock on room door doesn't work. Pick up room phone to call desk about broken lock, phone does not work. Call hotel on my cell phone, put on hold. Hung up after 8...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChubbaHill
Bath, ME
Reviewed 24 October 2016

I recently stayed at the Best Western Sovereign in Albany and wish that I had listened to my gut feelings about it prior to booking it. My colleague and I were attending a meeting and the meeting host had arranged a block of rooms. I read the reviews and they raised valid concerns but I went ahead and booked it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronni K
Utica, New York, United States
Reviewed 21 October 2016

When you first walk in the reception area is very nice and updated. When you get on the elevator that all changes. The elevator is very old and I really felt unsafe on it. Once we got off the halls where very dim, the dark wood made it look very dated. The carpet was awful and had a musty smell....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly H
Gil S, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany, responded to this review

Dear Kimberly H, We are sorry to hear that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us. Please rest assured that your feedback is valuable and we will definitely implement changes to insure that every guest can enjoy a comfortable and safe stay with us. Sincerely, Gil General Manager

Merrick, New York
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Our room REEKED; it was like sleeping inside of a burrito-bowl! The hallway carpets were also nasty, with strong pet odors. The indoor pool was "closed", the fitness center is run down, and the eggs served at breakfast are inedible.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marshman2014
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Got this hotel on an express deal on priceline as a 3 star hotel. NO WAY, 2 maybe at best! Just like alot of other reviews, outside looks like a jail, desk and lobby are nice! Staff was very friendly. Once you get in the elevator its all downhill. My FIRST room smelled like body odor and cologne to cover...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Edward C

112 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (40)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.6 km away
CrestHill Suites Albany
CrestHill Suites Albany
#25 of 50 in Albany
428 reviews
0.7 km away
Hampton Inn Albany-Western Ave/University Area
5.7 km away
BEST WESTERN Albany Airport Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
4.2 km away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
5.9 km away
Hampton Inn Albany - Wolf Road (Airport)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Microwave
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Convenience and value come together at the Best Western Sovereign Hotel in Albany New York. This full service Albany Hotel offers complimentary Full Hot American Breakfast, Free Wi-Fi and Shuttle Service. All rooms have refrigerators, microwaves, coffee makers. Hotel has an indoor heated pool, sauna, fitness room, restaurant, and business center. The hotel is located at the entrance of U-Albany and is minutes from Times Union Center, Downtown area, Crossgates Mall, and Airport. The Best Western sovereign is currently renovating the Lobby area. We look forward to offering our guests a new and updated Lobby with comfort and convenience. We expect the lobby renovation to be completed by 04/30/15. ... more   less 

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany

Address: 1228 Western Ave, Albany, NY 12203-3326
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Price Range: $106 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Best Western
Best Western Albany
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Albany
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from BEST WESTERN Sovereign Hotel - Albany staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The front of the hotel can be noisy and if you are at the far back, there are long corridors, so pick something in between”
 of 5 bubbles Carson_W995, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Request a room away from the pool, chlorine smell is very strong.”
 of 5 bubbles maryanlagard090, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't stay, there's a Hampton Inn up the road that is the polar opposite of this.”
  • Sadly this is the bathroom, the ceiling had bits falling off it, and it was dusty and grubby.
  • This whole area has never been vacuumed and the wall is filthy.
  • Again, this isn't even just rust, it's filth
  • The AC was falling apart which probably explains the horrendous noise.The place is on its last l
  • Inside the room and again you can see they haven't vacuumed it or cleaned it in a very long time
  • This was a 'before' photo believe it or not. Really disgusting.
  • The AC was falling apart and filthy and just smelled of dust.
  • No idea if this is blood or something, I want to say worse? So this was on the covers.
 of 5 bubbles sandyosullivan, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“all seemed the same.”
 of 5 bubbles 12Inspire, 22 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't book three star on Price Line near University or this is what you will get”
 of 5 bubbles , 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay