We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Desmond Hotel Albany

Show Prices
#9 of 50 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Desmond Hotel Albany
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

770 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Desmond Hotel Albany
See the most recent reviews
Showing 768: English reviews
Colonie, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Everything was fantastic but the beer service at the party. After the first hour something should have been done to fix the tap problems. Otherwise the Alice in Wonderland festivities were great especially the characters.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank leefam4889
Altamont, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The beds were very uncomfortable along with the bedding. The two sheets used to cover the bedspread (which was thin and not warm) twisted all night. There was no blanket either. Pillows were acceptable

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank laurabU9904ZQ
Long Island, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great location adjacent to 87 staff was excellent from check in to checkout on site restaurant and bar provide great food and service with reasonable prices. Would definitely stay here again on our next visit to Albany

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Greg G
Richmondville, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It was done very well. The bands were the best. Skeeter Creek is the best. I will be back if they are playing next year for sure. I also liked that you had a smoking room. I would like you to notifier when tickes come out for next year. I might be able to bring some friends to join us.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulmT8663RL
Gansevoort, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

New Year's Eve was a blast. The characters were wonderful. The staff were pleasant and check in was quick. We asked for a quiet room and was placed in a mansion room. The room was big and clean. The bed could have been updated and more comfortable. The only other improvement would be that this event which had a 2...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jamie R
Albany, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

the hotel and the rooms are very dated. The rooms are very old looking and furniture is old and in my room the couch had rips in it. The bed was very uncomfortable felt like a very old mattress i was sleeping on

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 909anthonyn
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I have been going to The Desmond as our romantic getaway for a few years now. It is a very quaint and beautiful hotel. Inside they have made it look like a colonial village with their facades. The restaurants are spectacular! If you stay make sure that you sign up for a package as most times you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aimee D
DeWitt, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I was quite impressed with the level of commitment your hotel and staff exhibited in putting on this event. Everyone did a great job of satisfying the guests. I'll keep you in mind for 2018. The whole event was well managed. Kudos.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank samuelwN7268SP
Plattsburgh, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We found out that our room had no hot water about 45 minutes prior to an event that we were attending and we had to argue with the front desk in order to get moved to a room that hot water....unacceptable especially when we spent $500 for the night.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
GMDesmondAlbany, General Manager at The Desmond Hotel Albany, responded to this review

Dear Scott, We apologize again for the issue of the hot water in your guestroom. Unfortunately our maintenance staff had just replaced the shower valve in that room, and had forgotten to reset the water temperature from the "cold" factory setting. We were happy to provide a replacement room for you, and apologize again for the inconvenience.

Rensselaer, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were there for the New Year's Eve Party. The party was excellent. It went off very well. It was also a good value. The staff is friendly, the rooms were clean. We had a suite. The suite was nice, perhaps showing it's age a little but it was very clean. The room was a little cold in the living...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen P

163 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (146)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (29)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
2.0 km away
Staybridge Suites Albany Wolf Rd-Colonie Center
0.3 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Albany
2.6 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
9.3 km away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
4.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
The Tavern at The Desmond
The Tavern at The Desmond
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Desmond Hotel is conveniently located at the entrance of the Albany International Airport (ALB), adjacent to shopping on Wolf Rd and minutes from downtown Albany via I-87 and I-90. As Albany's premier hotel and conference center, The Desmond is an independent, family owned and operated property that is proud to celebrate over 40 years of providing superb accommodations, outstanding service and a one-of-a-kind experience. Deluxe accommodations await with 322 guest rooms and suite options including king size four-poster beds, double queen beds, executive suites, junior suites and spiral staircase duplexes. The hotel offers exceptional dining choices in our casual, sophisticated Simpson's and The Tavern, an English pub. Modeled after a colonial village square, our two indoor courtyards feature mock storefronts, brick pathways, a koi pond, beautiful fountains, and balconies that overlook our year-round landscaping. Together with our elegant ballrooms, these indoor courtyards provide a gorgeous and unique backdrop for weddings and galas. Versatile facilities, award-winning food, and personal service make the hotel an exceptional venue for meetings and conferences. We invite you to experience The Desmond. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Desmond Hotel Albany

Address: 660 Albany Shaker Rd, Albany, NY 12211-1056
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Price Range: $223 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Desmond Hotel Albany 3.5*
Number of rooms: 322
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Desmond Hotel Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Desmond Albany Hotel Albany
Desmond Americana
Desmond Hotel Albany
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Albany
#8 Family Hotel in Albany
#10 Business Hotel in Albany
#10 Romantic Hotel in Albany
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Desmond Hotel Albany staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Warwick
8 months ago
over a year ago
Hyde Park, New York
over a year ago
Hyde Park, New York
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Desmond Hotel Albany staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid rooms that are sold as having a 'courtyard' view. It can be very noisy.”
  • 4th floor room, back of hotel.
 of 5 bubbles BLDTraveler, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Overlooking the courtyard is nice. Otherwise not any great views.”
 of 5 bubbles LindaS770, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Take an inside room with a view of the atrium.”
 of 5 bubbles 834larryd, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A room in the back of hotel lets you see your car in the lot.”
 of 5 bubbles Jacques1313, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Outward facing rooms are quieter than the courtyard.”
 of 5 bubbles MikeN660, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay