We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

436 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 418: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here overnight while my truck was in the shop. Breakfast was more than I expected. Mike the shuttle driver was great. Towels smelling like cigarette smoke was the only concern I had. Overall, it's a good place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronald B
Hotel_Manager_Albany, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

Ronald B Thanks for sharing your review and recognizing Mike our No Cash Cab shuttle driver. He tends to stand out in peoples minds. We are so very sorry for cigarette smoke. Unacceptable. We have been smoke free since September of 2015, and wouldn't you know some folks will test the limits. We should have caught this issue prior to...

Monmouth, Oregon
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We liked the comfortable bed and pillows (both soft and hard to choose from) and the cleanliness of the new and well appointed room. Keurig in the room and (included) breakfast were helpful amenities. Here's the bad news: We wanted a location not far from the the train station with shuttle service, which the HI Express advertised. Unfortunately, we had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Canajun1
Hotel_Manager_Albany, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

Canajun1, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. You have my apologies on the staffing issues you experienced, but overjoyed with the recovery effort by Angelica. I will take this opportunity to train some welcoming smiles with those who worked that night as well as reward Angelica who is due a "Mention Bonus" for being reviewed in...

Massena, New York
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is the second time I have stayed here. I chose this hotel because of my first experience which was good. I used my IHG points for this night and chose this location for the hot tub to help me relax after a 5 hour drive. Hot tub was CLOSED for inspection. Unacceptable. The room was large and spacious. Appeared...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MatthewJPeacock
Hotel_Manager_Albany, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

Mr. Peacock, My apologies for your experience with us. As a potential customer, we should have alerted you during the reservation process that the Jacuzzi was going to be down as we had scheduled. This is a New York State inspection, for life safety concerns, but could have been done without affecting your individual stay. I am awarding you with...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was a well priced and perfectly located hotel next to the highway but also in walking distance from the downtown core. It had a good pool, lemon water and fresh cookies in the lobby and thr reception staff was very friendly and nice. We stayed twice there.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dandraggon
Hotel_Manager_Albany, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

dandraggon, Thank you for your review. We are putting forth every effort as our renovation comes to a close to focus on the basics, such as items you would normally expect from this brand. Should you be in the area again, please stop by, we would love to see you. Thomas Rivera General Manager 518-434-4111 gmalbany@dchotelsinc.com

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Nice people and good budget room, but the spa was stinking hot. Too hot, There must have been something wrong with it. Please will you get maintenance to look at the temperature because it's not right. Will burn someone. The pool was very nice, however. Really enjoyed the pool

 Report
Helpful?
Thank susan b
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

Dear susan b, Greetings! Thank you for sharing your thoughts of your recent stay with us. We are sorry that you were not able to enjoy the spa amenities due to the temperature, definitely we will get maintenance to look into that. Moreover, it is great to know that you had a wonderful time at the pool and found our...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

There hotel is under renovation. First, in the center if the building, thw staircase us not isolated fir fure emergency purposes. You go down from one floor to thw lower floor and fet back on the landing in front of elevator. So it should not be marked at emergency exit. Second, on the second floor, the access door to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cheekago
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown, responded to this review

Dear cheekago, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our hotel. We are disappointed that you found our hotel unexceptional due the issues you had with our fire exits. The safety and security of our guests has always been our highest priority and we are sorry if you had felt otherwise. In line with...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 22 October 2016

The Holiday Inn was so much better than we expected. The staff, rooms, cleanliness, facilities, beds, pool and the terrific location exceeded our expectations. The price was also extremely reasonable and great value. It even had free parking, something that is rare in downtown hotels these days. I recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Macncarole
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2016 via mobile

We were recommended to this Hotel. I called and made reservations. I was not told the hotel was undergoing remodeling. We were very tired and the pounding was right behind our bedroom. I called about 5pm and ask when it would stop, she replied 5:30. It stopped at 8:20 pm And picked back up at 9 the next morning. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

Great stay at this location I always enjoy Holiday Inn. This location provides free breakfast and pool/ hot tub area. They are currently updating so the sauna was unavailable which is my only complaint. Always a great stay and this location is so close to everything.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie R
Ooltewah, TN
Reviewed 15 October 2016

Stayed overnight traveling. Hotel is being renovated and was quite comfortable. Probably the best hotel room lighting we have ever seen, with a comfortable bed. Despite being in town, and near a highway, the room was quiet. Breakfast was typical Holiday Inn selections. We used the free shuttle for in town dining and the front desk suggestion was perfect. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Billooltewah

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Albany - Downtown
0.6 km away
Hilton Albany
Hilton Albany
#14 of 50 in Albany
947 reviews
0.7 km away
Renaissance Albany Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany Medical Center
1.8 km away
TownePlace Suites Albany Downtown/Medical Center
7.2 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Albany / SUNY Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Guests looking for a convenient downtown Albany hotel will find this Holiday Inn Express, located close to the Riverfront and the Empire Plaza, the ideal location. For doing business in town, our Albany downtown hotel is close to Verizon, General Electric and the Port of Albany. Our hotel in Albany is also near the Legislative Office Building and State Offices. Our courtesy shuttle can pick you up at the Rensselaer Amtrak Station. Or if you're flying into Albany Airport (ALB), we'll pick you up there, too. We are easily accessible to I-90, NYS Thruway I-87 and I-787. We have the only free hotel parking in Downtown Albany. Leisure travelers will find our downtown Albany Hotel, with its historic downtown location, close to many major attractions. City Center tours, professional theatres, parks and the Hudson Riverfront are all just minutes from the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Newly updated guest rooms and public spaces will make your stay memorable. With many restaurants within walking distance of our Albany hotel, you can have the choice of fine or casual dining. To stay in touch, our WIFI is throughout the Hotel and FREE. When you're looking for Albany lodging, stay with the Holiday Inn Express Albany-Downtown. Albany is a city with 400 years of history within your reach. Come experience the downtown difference. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown

Address: 300 Broadway, Albany, NY 12207-2901 (Formerly Red Carpet Inn)
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Price Range: $132 - $202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, IHG and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown Hotel Albany
Albany Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
South West Scotland
Moriah, NY
New York City, New York
over a year ago
New York
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Albany - Downtown staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a renovated room.”
 of 5 bubbles Canajun1, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Restaurant up the road was not good, bit cheap and nasty but actually quite expensive :(”
 of 5 bubbles susanbT7005JU, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Hotel has some covered parking. Might be important in the winter.”
 of 5 bubbles Billooltewah, 15 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask to be away from the freeway side of the building.”
 of 5 bubbles TomB265, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ask NOT to face the highway!”
 of 5 bubbles Carriebomb, 30 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay