We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Red Carpet Inn & Suites

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Red Carpet Inn & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Red Carpet Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 146: English reviews
Champlain, New York
Reviewed 29 June 2015

What did I see when I stayed here? = Pet hair all over carpeting. There were holes in both comforters. Disgustingly dirty bathroom floor. There were cobwebs in every corner. Stained and dirty curtains on the windows. Was an odor so BAD in carpeting I went through an entire can of Glade (that I had to buy) and my own...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
ChristinaR1478, Front Office Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites, responded to this review

i would like offer you my deepest apologies for the issues you experienced during your stay. we addressed all issues with housekeeping staff. i want to assure everything was corrected. after reviewing your reservation we noticed there no was no request for fridge. we did our best to accommodate your request and provided you with a fridge. Again i would...

Dover, Delaware
Reviewed 24 June 2015

Dirty room, wet dirty towels, dirty floors, homeless people hanging around. I don't know how Wyndham could associate with this facility.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank D9055DZgracec
ChristinaR1478, Front Office Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites, responded to this review

we are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay. we take all issues you expressed in your review very seriously. we have coached our housekeeping staff to maintain our high standards. Again we are sorry for your unpleasant stay.

Vienna, Virginia
Reviewed 22 June 2015

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nicholas Y
ChristinaR1478, Front Office Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites, responded to this review

New York City, New York
Reviewed 18 June 2015

1) We booked non-smoking and they put us in a smoking room. We had to go back and have the room moved. 2) The door did not latch. They had to come and fix it. 3) There was debris on the bathroom floor. 4) There were many places that nails were coming out of the walls and the walls were...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank NeverAgainSuper8
ChristinaR1478, Front Office Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites, responded to this review

after reviewing your booking we seen that a smoking queen was booked. The Asst. manager that was on duty did his best to accommodate your request for a non smoking king . We are truly sorry for missing the debris on the bathroom floor and on the bathroom counter. since your stay all issues were addressed and taken care of....

Delray Beach, Florida
Reviewed 16 June 2015

Although the nightly rate was within my travel budget, the condition of the Motel and the room (119) was very rough. The property was dirty with much refuse scattered about. The building needs serious renovation. I grew up in this area and the property is a bit of an embarrassment to the businesses bordering it. The room didn't have any...

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 200stevenak
ChristinaR1478, Front Office Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites, responded to this review

we apologize for any issues you experienced during your stay. we apologize for not having a waste basket as soon as we were aware of this we were able to accommodate you with a new one. We are currently in the middle of our renovations which explains the refuse outside on the property. we apologize for the issues expressed in...

Wantagh, New York
Reviewed 1 June 2015

This place is very shady. The reception team didn't seem to have a clue of what was going on around the property. It is clearly not well maintained and very neglected. The owners and management of the facility are ignoring what the customer wants. It's simple. A clean room. My room had hair all over the bed. I saw stains...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank James J
ChristinaR1478, Front Office Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites, responded to this review

we apologize to you for issues you experienced during your stay. as we are currently under the renovation process we will updating our room to be at a higher super 8 standard. Again we are sorry for your unpleasant stay.

Buffalo
Reviewed 1 June 2015

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 954sharonk
Alex1579, Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites, responded to this review

Reviewed 25 May 2015 via mobile

What a moron! A work colleague and I were going to book this room for a month at the daily rate all we asked was for a early check-in at the beginning of the week. The person who answered the phone said absolutely not! Wow I'm amazed he just gave up a guaranteed month of payment over a couple of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Korie C
Alex1579, Manager at Red Carpet Inn & Suites, responded to this review

We would like to offer you an apology for not being able to offer you an early check in. But due to our occupancy we do not always have rooms available for early check in. We are sorry we were unable to accommodate your request.

RUTLAND, VT
Reviewed 26 April 2015

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SMYRSKISUZY
New Haven, Connecticut
Reviewed 21 April 2015

The building and the room need some renovations. I guess they started this updating process, but some of the rooms, including the one I rented, are really in need of renovation. Overall, the location is good, not far from the highway. The stuff are nice and do the best they can to offer a confortable stay to their guests.

Review collected in partnership with Super 8
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rodica S

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.1 km away
Cocca's Inns & Suites Albany Airport
0.6 km away
Quality Inn Central
Quality Inn Central
#29 of 50 in Albany
146 reviews
4.3 km away
Days Inn Albany SUNY
Days Inn Albany SUNY
#32 of 50 in Albany
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Travelodge Inn and Suites Albany
5.6 km away
Ramada Plaza Albany
Ramada Plaza Albany
#37 of 50 in Albany
867 reviews
2.5 km away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Albany Airport / Wolf Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Red Carpet Inn & Suites

Address: 1579 Central Ave, Albany, NY 12205-2405 (Formerly Albany Inn)
Region: United States > New York > Albany
Price Range: $73 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Red Carpet Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Reservation Counter so you can book your Red Carpet Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Red Carpet Inn & Suites staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Red Carpet Inn & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quiet rooms, clean rooms, comfy beds,”
 of 5 bubbles N2101GWrichardm, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The motel is perpendicular to a busy 5-lane road so ask for a room as far back as possible.”
 of 5 bubbles SteveP435, 16 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Don't stay here at all”
 of 5 bubbles beardiemum, 8 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Would not stay here again”
 of 5 bubbles debsnyder32, 6 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
 of 5 bubbles ORIORDANT, 21 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5