We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bentota Beach by Cinnamon

Show Prices
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,420 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,088: English reviews
Start your review of Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
 Click to rate
Emirate of Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

The property is very old let me list things for you to allow next visitor to benefit from my experience and not to do same mistake: 1- Bed bugs have done great job and bite every single cm in my body , stuff came and spry the room but nothing worked 2-reception stuff they have no idea how to deal...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank krimmi K
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed yesterday NEW

It's really sad that a hotel that is so picturesque and enjoys the benefit of a river on one side and the ocean on one side does not care for the quality of the rooms.The food and service was exceptional. I should mention that Hashan at the front office went out of his way to ensure that we felt welcome....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MJ M
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hotel is a great place to stay , the staff are all attentive and friendly and can not do enough for you. The pool bar is excellent and cannot be faulted. We stayed here for two weeks and our only complaint would be the lack of alcohol on puya days and also on New Year's Day, not good no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank angie19600
Indika D, Assistant Manager Operations at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Bentota Beach by Cinnamon. Thank you for rating with four stars following your recent stay with us. We are glad to have served you on your wonderful holiday and making your stay at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon an interesting one. It is always a pleasure to read reviews about satisfied guests. We appreciate that you recognized...

Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This was our final destination during this trip. Unique entrance grabbed our attention straight away. The welcome was everything we had come to expect from Cinnamon, warm, friendly but efficient. The Deluxe room had a view over the pool and we could also see the river. Certain parts of the hotel are a little dated/tired (the one tiny lift for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tangawizi_Sandan
Indika D, Assistant manager Operations. at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Bentota Beach by Cinnamon. Thank you for the heartfelt remark. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your experience at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon. We will assure to share your wonderful review with our team. It's true that the hotel will undergo a complete refurbishment, but we assure Geoffrey Bawa's magnificent architecture will be well...

Sri Lanka
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

First impression was very nice... Front desk people are very Friendly and helpful food is in average range... Hotel is close to sea and benthota is famous for sea food but we had only fish in are dinner and breakfast... My room is 816 air condition was not working and we complain to front desk. Because room service line (500)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dilinibandara
Indika D, Assistant Manager Operations at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Dilini, Greetings from Bentota beach by Cinnamon. Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay with us. We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant experience you had with us during your stay. We do take constructive feedback seriously and we sincerely regret that certain areas, especially the staff responsiveness and air conditioning, did not meet...

Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel with a vast area and a beach front and the banks of the Bentota river. The rooms are clean and comfortable. However bathrooms are smaller and tiles fittings are very old. even the exhaust fan was not working. Beds are comfortable, but the AC controls are not working. The food is awesome specially the Sunday lunch buffet. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ramesh A
Indika D, Assistant manager Operations at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Ramesh, Greetings from Bentota Beach by Cinnamon. Thank you for posting a four star review on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon. It’s a pleasure to note your satisfaction with your experience at our hotel. However,We regret any inconvenience that may have been caused to you during your stay with us.We thank you for...

Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Nice welcoming and fresh juice :) . Nice view to the river and beach with a balcony! amazing breakfast so many types of food!! Helpful staff!! The beach is just a few steps from the room... You gotta love it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank abobandar1
Indika D, Assistant Manager Operations at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Bentota Beach by Cinnamon. Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon. We are indeed pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. While thanking you for staying with us, we certainly hope to welcome you back at our resort for yet another memorable stay.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We traveled in a large group, and enjoyed every sort of water sports there with complete satisfaction. Boat safari was marvelous one apart from banana ride, and sole water motor ride. Facility to cater large group regarding foo dings also. One can enjoy sea as opposite to the spot.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CHANDRASHEKHAR P
Indika D, Assistant Manager Operations at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Greetings from Bentota Beach by Cinnamon. Thank you for the review posted with five stars following your visit to Bentota Beach by Cinnamon.We are so much happy that you have enjoyed your time spent with us-even though it was a short one- and we appreciate the tempting review that you have made about your experience. Bentota is well...

Delhi, Delhi, India
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The only hotel which has a river and the beach front in bentota. The staff is excellent the manager I think Mr .Rajesh/prem and the bell man are very very helpful. You enter the hotel and the fragrance of cinnamon overpowers you. The entrance seems like that of a movie studio. The water body in the middle is also nice...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hurrshk
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your encouraging review based on your stay at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon. We are extremely delighted to hear that your stay had been memorable and you have liked many aspects of the hotel under calm and tranquil, lush surroundings. Bentota Beach by Cinnamon is one of the world famous tourist resorts with 133 rooms situated...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Big, corporate style hotel. Arrived and was offered a myriad of add ons for a price. Restaurants are far below average for the price. Really, we stayed further south in an AirBnB and ate out at the local restaurants. They were delicious and not pricey. Here, it is pricey and bland... unless you are into cafeteria food... with one caveat--breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tutybello
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for the comments made followed by your stay with us. We wholeheartedly regret for the inconveniences caused to you during your stay and had those been brought to the notice of management, we could have immediately attended to, for your convenience. With regard to the food quality and buffet standards, we have addressed your comments with...

1,628 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1517)
Viewed
Bathroom (73)
Viewed
Room/Suite (151)
Viewed
Dining (75)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (311)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (249)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (11)
Viewed
View from Room (83)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (558)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (105)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Beach (6)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Superior Room (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
0.9 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
0.8 km away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.2 km away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
1,543 reviews
6.3 km away
Cocoon Resort & Villas
Cocoon Resort & Villas
#3 of 9 in Induruwa
159 reviews
0.5 km away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#7 of 21 in Bentota
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the southern coast of Sri Lanka, Bentota Beach by Cinnamon is the perfect getaway from the buzzing city life. The resort specializes on water sports and other adventures at its own Water Sports centre with a variety of activities such as wind surfing, jet skiing, and banana boat riding. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bentota Beach by Cinnamon

Address: Colombo-Galle-Hambantota-Wellawaya Highway | Galle, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle District > Bentota
Price Range: $84 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentota Beach by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bentota Beach by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentota Beach Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#7 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bentota Beach by Cinnamon staff and other travellers.
28 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (28)

Questions? Get answers from Bentota Beach by Cinnamon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I recommend that you check the assigned room before opting to stay the night !”
  • Dirt & grime on the mini bar!
  • Dirty shower cubilce
  • Broken lights in the bathroom
  • Dirty Stained old toilet paper
  • Dirty shower cubicle
431mjm, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Upper floor, ocean view or river view”
Tangawizi_Sandan, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The superior rooms has a good view of the river or the sea. Rooms are spacious but the bathrooms are very small and very old.”
ramesha497, 17 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing Sea may be chosen best view.”
827chandrashekharp, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
“look for a beach front view room if possible”
Hurrshk, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5