We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bentota Beach by Cinnamon

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
Panoramas (6)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,344 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bentota Beach by Cinnamon
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,039: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The room is small and not clean. It takes so long to check in and the room service is what irritates me. I called in-room dining service for several times and no one picked up my call. Then I tried to call front desk but he did nothing to help me. Everything here is in a mess and not a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James W
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are sorry that we did not meet up to your expectations during your stay. We will address the areas you have mentioned for future improvements. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you. Thank you,

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

- Last week, I checked out of the Cinnamon Bentota hotel after a two-day stay (room 504, 27/12/2016 > 29/12/2016). - It was the worst quality/price hotel I have ever been in. - Slow service (more than one hour to deliver two cokes with ice at 10pm), poor quality buffet (meat overcooked, flavourless food [which is a shame for Sri...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thomas G
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are sorry that we couldn't cater to your needs during your stay with us. We will pay attention to all the areas you have mentioned in your review and work towards to get the areas right. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you by our team. Thank you,

Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stood for a long time at reception on arrival, then we were asked to go and identify our luggage. We stood next to our cases and were completely ignored and had to go back to reception. We went half board and there was no information given about the different options. We only found out by asking the guy at...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank auspal
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review regarding your experience at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon. We will look in to the delay of your check in and luggage marking with the front office team immediately. Usually the person who checks you in, is supposed to give all required details but in this case he has failed to do so. We...

Orange County, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Extremely friendly and hospitable staff, made you feel right at home. Had the morning and afternoon buffet, food offered was international and local fare, quality was good. Was in close proximity to the Bentota River where there are options for water sport enthusiasts such as jet skiing, speed boating etc. Day fun cruise and Dinner cruise are available as well....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rohanali
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review made followed by your stay at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon. We are extremely delighted to note that you had a memorable stay with us and we thank you once more for choosing us to spend your most valuable holiday. We appreciate that you have liked the hotel rooms, sports activities, beach front and...

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is very poorly maintained & desperately in need of renovation. The rooms are dingy, the bathroom very shabby -everything is so desperately in need of repair & maintenance. Considering the property is superbly placed between the sea & the Bentota river it's a real shame the hotel has been allowed to reach this level of disrepair. The quality...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joshimeera
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. The rooms will be further upgraded at a future renovation project scheduled shortly. The unique location coupled by an enhanced product would certainly add more colour to the hotel. As you would have witnessed our buffets are well spread and conforming to the international standards. Kindly advise any areas for further improvement as...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have visited this hotel more than 10 times all I can say is the quality has deteriorated. The room was in good quality but the bath room had mildew. The restaurant roof was worn out and the garden was not maintained well. The service my staff was the worst very arrogant and didn't even provide drinks on time. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan A
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Mr Jonathan, Thank you for your review and repeated visits to Bentota Beach by Cinnamon. We will immediately address the service staff regarding their service attitude as we all take great pride in serving our guests all times. The chefs will add more variety and quality to the the lunch and dinner buffets. The rooms and public areas will...

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited Bentota Beach with some of my friends.From beginning to the end their service was great. They welcome us warmly & really helpful. But one of the major drawback was their rooms are quite small & specially washroom is very much tiny. It seems some old building with some ancient architecture. Food was quite delicious & had a pretty much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sahan H
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review followed by your stay at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon. We are pleased to note that you had a pleasant stay with us. The rooms will be fully renovated at a future renovation project considering all your views and suggestions. Best wishes,

Dublin, Tipperary, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The bathroom is full of mildew. If you can go past the untidiness of the room the views are good. The duty manager not helpful.the first day the rain was endless.staff quite helpful trying to satisfy your needs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Yoshani P
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We will look in to the areas that you have mentioned for improvement. Kindly write to me direct on 'bbh@cinnamonhotels.com' to describe further on the behavior of the duty manager. We apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. Sincerely,

Colombo, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The bathroom was really old and was in desperate need for renovation. We booked and paid for a triple room. But on arrival we noticed that the room which has been given to us is just a double room with an extra bed. No toiletries and mugs were provided for the third person in the room. The extra bed didn't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NirmaHew
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We will look in to the areas that you have mentioned immediately for improvement. For all the new arrivals, we serve cold towels and welcome drinks immaterial of the nationality. In this case the service team have missed it out for some reason but certainly not due to discrimination as we greatly value...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We took two triple 722 and 721. This is the worst hotel I stayed for the money I spent. Hotel looks 100 years old. Pls visit Grand Hotel in nuwara eliya to learn how to maintain a old hotel. Floors, ceilings lightnings are so dirty..Bathroom sink leaking..shower cubicle broken..room furnitures rotten..pool tiles missing....corridors with drainage guly and stinking.. food horrible...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ram K
SanjeevaPerera, General Manager at Bentota Beach by Cinnamon, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review and comments are well noted. We apologize for the multiple inconveniences caused to you during your stay. We will address the highlighted areas with relevant teams for improvement. Sincerely,

1,490 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1379)
Viewed
View from Room (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (282)
Viewed
Room/Suite (140)
Viewed
Bathroom (60)
Viewed
Dining (69)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (221)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (3)
Viewed
Other (511)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (105)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Beach (6)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Superior Room (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bentota
1.0 km away
Vivanta by Taj - Bentota
3.8 km away
Centara Ceysands Resort & Spa Sri Lanka
0.2 km away
AVANI Bentota Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
The Surf Hotel
The Surf Hotel
#9 of 29 in Bentota
735 reviews
3.6 km away
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
Cinnamon Bey Beruwala
#1 of 1 in Moragolla
1,420 reviews
1.5 km away
Club Bentota
Club Bentota
#1 of 6 in Aluthgama
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the southern coast of Sri Lanka, Bentota Beach by Cinnamon is the perfect get-away from the buzzing city life. The resort specializes on water sports and other adventures at its own Water Sports centre with a variety of activities such as wind surfing, jet skiing, banana boat riding and diving. The hotel also hosts other recreational activities such as a tennis court, squash court and archery. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bentota Beach by Cinnamon

Address: Colombo-Galle-Hambantota-Wellawaya Highway | Galle, Bentota 80500, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Bentota
Price Range: $189 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentota Beach by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Bentota Beach by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentota Beach Hotel Sri Lanka
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bentota
#8 Spa Hotel in Bentota
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Bentota
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bentota Beach by Cinnamon staff and other travellers.
24 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (24)

Questions? Get answers from Bentota Beach by Cinnamon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room with a view and ground floor. Also ask for the room that is away from the router to getting better wifi connectivity and speed”
  • Ceylon tea and rains made it more special
  • The cosy sit-out inside the room to enjoy the beautiful view outside
  • The view of the swimming pool
  • Beautiful climate and the green view outside
  • View from our room
 of 5 bubbles 513lavanyap, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“In another hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 364patc, 15 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't go for standard rooms - they really are quite shabby”
 of 5 bubbles KappyMe, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Interconnected room was spacious and clean, view was fantastic, providing 180 degree panoramic view of the ocean and the Bentota river.”
 of 5 bubbles rohanali, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Do not choose the hotel very different from the pictures on the website”
 of 5 bubbles YoshaniP, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay