We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Galle Fort Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Galle Fort Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

488 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 425: English reviews
Start your review of Galle Fort Hotel
 Click to rate
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

It was our last night in Sri Lanka and even though we had stuffed our faces all day I needed my curry fix. My husband just watched whilst I devoured a vegetable stuffed roti and chicken curry - delicious! On our trip, we found that many hotels reduce the spice in curries for the tourist palate however, the curry here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachael0303
David_El456, General Manager at Galle Fort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rachael0303, It was wonderful to read your review and exciting to know you found your curry fix at our latest restaurant addition Galle Things Roti. I am pleased you enjoyed the level of spice in our curries and I will pass on your feedback to the kitchen. They will be pleased to know you found the curries delicious. Thank...

Scotland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent two nights here, the hotel being in the Fort itself.We had a lower room set, like the others, round a central courtyard with pool. Described as a Colonial Style Boutique it certainly lived up to it's name. A good choice of food. Only odd thing, and this is not a criticism, this was the only place we ate in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NBRMan
David_El456, General Manager at Galle Fort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear NBRMan, It was a pleasure to receive your review of the hotel and I am pleased you enjoyed your room overlooking the colonnaded courtyard and pool. Thank you for mentioning we offered good choice of food. I take your point on not being shown to your table and the napkin. Not hard to do and I am glad you...

verrierdale
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were very disappointed with this hotel. Whilst the room photographed well in the real world the room was dirty. The rug in the bedroom was badly stained. The view from the bathroom looked into an unkempt backyard. I am so sad to be writing this negative review as I was so looking forward to staying at this old Colonial...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sashalute
David_El456, General Manager at Galle Fort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear sashalute, Thank you so much for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed the superb furnishings in the Grand Apartment. It’s a superb suite but the unkempt yard you saw from your suite does not belong to the hotel. I understand the owner of the block which backs onto GFH is planning to start construction work for a...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Adding these photos as they did not download before the afternoon tea was a disaster found nothing we could enjoy other than the building service was terrible and food worse. The scones were like hockey pucks and the cake dry and ugly. Not an afternoon I will repeat

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nayajazz
David_El456, General Manager at Galle Fort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nayajazz, We fully accept that your afternoon tea experience with us was not a sensational one and as a result we suffer a poor review and its consequences. However I must add that the high tea service is a relatively new addition to GFH and while we have had a mixed bag of reviews since we stated to roll...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were really looking forward to this experience. Sadly, for a hotel of this caliber it was sadly lacking. Service was slow and uninterested (until tip time), the food took almost half an hour to arrive and the tea even longer. The sandwiches were dry and the scones were not so much scones as dry, hard biscuits, with cream from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neisha D
David_El456, General Manager at Galle Fort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Neisha D, Thank you for posting your review of your High Tea experience with us and I accept that we fell well short of your expectations. High Tea is a new service at GFH and clearly from your feedback we have to up the ante on quicker service and offer a better quality product. This has been immediately addressed....

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is incredibly beautiful, the staff are superb from the initial welcome to the final goodbye. It's charming, welcoming and the communal areas cannot be flawed. Sadly our room had a real problem with damp, there was a strong smell of damp and there was paint peeling off the walls in the downstairs area. We didn't spend much time...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy_Tails
David_El456, General Manager at Galle Fort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Amy_Tails, Many thanks for your review and I am very pleased you have mentioned that our staff were superb from the start of your stay to the final departure. Thank you for the feedback specifically mentioning the dampness in the room. My maintenance crew has since made an inspection of this room, attended to both issues but the heads...

UK
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We only stayed in Galle for one night but really enjoyed our stay at the Galle Fort Hotel. It has been fantastically restored and is furnished with antiques throughout. The rooms are set around a lovely central courtyard with a pool and a terrace for dining. It's well located in Galle Fort and they provide you with a map for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tandmtravels
David_El456, General Manager at Galle Fort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tandmtravels, Thank you for your review and feedback which is very much appreciated. Walking the ramparts is an integral part of staying and exploring the Fort and we encourage all of our guests to participate in this activity. Thank you for mentioning how much you enjoyed our GFH walking tour map of the Fort, it highlights some interesting places...

United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We couldn't imagine a better place to stay to see the old Fort area of Galle. Arriving for the first time was like stepping back two centuries into a beautiful heritage building, now superbly decorated and maintained. Our room was on two levels, with the sitting area and bathroom services on the lower level and a magnificent four poster bed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dewar D
David_El456, General Manager at Galle Fort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dewar D, Thank you so much for your review and as you say, arriving here is a bit like stepping back in time. For all the good reasons of course. In fact Galle Fort was originally built in 16th century by the Portuguese; then later the Dutch extensively fortified the ramparts and improved the buildings inside with Dutch architecture....

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What a beautiful hotel this is! As soon as you step into the hotel, you feel nostalgic. The lobby is beautifully decorated with hanging oil lamps from temples, old fishing tools on the wall and Dutch porcelains. Simple white linens on the tables,history books and photo books for you to browse through. The staff also had simple white uniforms on....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank makiherbert
David_El456, General Manager at Galle Fort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear makiherbert, I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your review and feedback of the hotel. I agree with your nostalgic sentiments about the hotel because the property evokes a subtle sense of colonial grandeur. Once you walk into the main hotel area, a feeling of romanticism permeates throughout, extenuated by verandahs and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Galle Fort Hotel is very nice. The location right in the middle of the Old Fort is excellent. The historical building has been lovingly and sympathetically renovated, the furnishings are stylish and carefully chosen, the service and lunch/dinner are both good, and the rooms are quite unique. The rooms face into a central garden area, complete with small swimming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank frequenttraveller63
David_El456, General Manager at Galle Fort Hotel, responded to this review

Dear frequenttraveller63, Thank you so much for your post and for your many interesting comments about the hotels location, restoration works and for pointing out many of the features of the hotel which make this such a fascinating hotel to stay in. Great shame you did not mention the issue with your bedside lamp while you were here or on...

282 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (253)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (49)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (47)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (104)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (29)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galle hotels
12.9 km away
The Fortress
The Fortress
#1 of 5 in Koggala
1,377 reviews
3.2 km away
Jetwing Lighthouse
Jetwing Lighthouse
#12 of 60 in Galle
1,660 reviews
3.0 km away
Tamarind Hill by Asia Leisure
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Cantaloupe Levels
Cantaloupe Levels
#3 of 29 in Unawatuna
383 reviews
2.8 km away
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
CoCo Bay Unawatuna
#2 of 29 in Unawatuna
660 reviews
3.7 km away
Thaproban Beach House
Thaproban Beach House
#5 of 29 in Unawatuna
861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Food & drink at the hotel
Galle Fort Hotel Restaurant
Galle Fort Hotel Restaurant
Cuisines: Sri Lankan, European, Asian, Fusion, Wine Bar
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Winner of the 2007 Unesco Award of Distinction for heritage conservation. A charming, friendly, award-winning and affordable heritage boutique hotel in the heart of the Galle Fort world heritage site and a perfect base for the best beaches, tea plantations, temples, rain forests and cultural attractions in southern Sri Lanka. Famous for its Asian fusion food made from fresh local seafood and market produce. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Galle Fort Hotel

Address: 28 Church Street, Galle, Sri Lanka
Region: Sri Lanka > Southern Province > Galle
Price Range: $220 - $516 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Galle Fort Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galle Fort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Galle
#15 Family Hotel in Galle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Galle Fort Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Galle Fort Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The first floor two-level rooms are charming”
DewarD_12, 4 Apr 2017 | Read review
“They are all different, and unique. I loved the Portuguese Barracks room.”
frequenttraveller63, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book upper floor”
GM990, 19 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Check out the descriptions of each room carefully”
GregG333333, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“A little away from the breakfast area would feel more private when opening a window”
NidhiRo, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5