We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ocean View Tourist Guest House

Save
Share
122 ( Old Number 104) Lewis Place, Negombo 11500 Sri Lanka
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Booking.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (66)
Room & Suite (40)
Dining (13)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
A note from Ocean View Tourist Guest House
Updated 20-06-12

About

#20 of 464 in Negombo
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Ocean View Tourist Guest House Negombo is the most convenient place for your stay in Negombo.You can reach us from airport in 20 minutes any time of the day. We have got different rooms for different prices according to your budget. We are specialized in organizing inbound tours as well.Our experience is since 1978. If you want to know the country well, come with us.
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Airport transportation
Mosquito net
Laundry service
Room features
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Family
294Reviews6Q+A44Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 112
  • 119
  • 45
  • 11
  • 7
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Unna L wrote a review Jan. 2022
Long Beach, California43 contributions45 helpful votes
Warm showers, great beds and the long experience of the proprietor, Mr Mark Thamel, makes for a great and safe guest house to stay in. You get the best, to the minute, travel tips there. Emails are answered quickly and your whole itinerary can be secured with Mr Thamel's knowledgeable organization. He can book hotels, find a comfortable car and experienced driver for you. Or something more impulsive where you make lodging decisions as you go. Also where to get return trip covid testing etc. You are in good hands. And the value is outstanding - I've traveled many times to Sri Lanka and his care is the best to be found - all at very reasonable price. He knows the country like the back of his hand, including all the best hotel deals, and has arranged trips to the farthest most isolated parts of the country for me. Those discoveries allowed me to experience the most authentic view of Sri Lanka possible. In my last trip this January, I mentioned to Dennis (perfect driver, totally in tune with the kind of trip I wanted) that I'd like to buy a Sri Lankan nativity creche. Dennis phoned Mr Thamel and he had it waiting for me at the end of my trip. You wont just get a travel planner and guest house proprietor, you will get a true friend in Sri Lanka. I was so lucky the day I first contacted him.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: All rooms are really good, also the ones without AC
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark Thamel, Owner at Ocean View Tourist Guest House
Responded Jan. 12, 2022
Dear madam Unna Lassiter, Thank you for the great review about our place and the tour services. Thank you again for coming back in this covid situation and using us again as your service provider. Best regards, Mark Thamel.
Read more
1 of 4 Seniors in Sri Lanka wrote a review Mar. 2020
Goole, United Kingdom32 contributions40 helpful votes
We only used this guest house for one day not overnight, purely for rest and shower before departing for the airport. Excellent very clean room, and welcoming staff. The owners sister owned the restaurant next door which provided and very good late lunch which was very cheap. Short walk to the beach, we should have stayed here for our last days in Sri Lanka instead of Columbo, much more peaceful and relaxing.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Jean P wrote a review Feb. 2020
6 contributions1 helpful vote
Frienfly staff. Rooms are clean and spacious. Breakfast is fine. Close to restaurants. They organise also the transfer from and to the airport with our two bicycles and kept the cardboard boxes during our five weeks trip in Sri Lanka. Very convenient. We recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark T, Owner at Ocean View Tourist Guest House
Responded Feb. 19, 2020
Dear Sir and Madam Jean Pierre Peilon , Thank you for your review. This feedback encourage us to improve our place and services. Thank you for selecting us for your stay and services. Our gate and doors are always open for you when ever you come to our beautiful country. Best regards, Mark Thamel.
Read more
cuteass wrote a review Feb. 2020
6 contributions
I went to Sri Lanka twice, and the second time where I stayed in Negombo is Ocean View Tourist Guest House. I was with my friends. we went there and met Mark, the owner of the guesthouse. he's very nice and spoke good English. so we don't need to worry about the communications. After staying there one night, we decided to ask Mark to help us plan our Sri Landa trip. He offered us a driver whose name is Jude. Jude is a very good and quiet driver/tour guide. He introduced a lot of local restaurants and very good valued hotel for us. all my friends were very satisfied with this trip. And thank you again. Ps: i would like to say, Rooms in Ocean View Tourist Guest House are really clean and quiet. it provides proper breakfast and Mark also recommends some restaurants sometimes. it was a pleasant journey and i believe i will definitely go back again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark T, Owner at Ocean View Tourist Guest House
Responded Feb. 19, 2020
Dear Madam Christina , Thank you for your review. This feedback encourage us to improve our place and services. Thank you for selecting us for your stay and for tours and our gate and doors are always open for you when ever you come to our beautiful country. Best regards, Mark Thamel.
Read more
Ken W wrote a review Jan. 2020
Monterey, California13 contributions4 helpful votes
We stayed at Ocean view Tourist Guest House only one day, our last day in Sri Lanka. It is indeed only 20 minutes from the airport. The hotel is fairly basic, but provides all the essentials. It has a wonderful location, just a 5 minute walk to a fantastic beach, good restaurants and interesting places. It is pretty quiet and the people who work there are kind and helpful. The price was more than fair. When we had a miscommunication with our booked taxi, the people at the hotel arranged a ride to the airport for us with 5 minutes notice at 10 PM with minimal cost. The room itself provides only the basics. The bed was not that comfortable and the air conditioning could only get the temperature down to 86. But the hotel is a good, safe, wonderfully located place and we would recommend it. I would recommend getting a room on the ground floor. Ours was on the 3rd floor and was quite warm.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Ground floor rooms would be cooler.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark T, Owner at Ocean View Tourist Guest House
Responded Jan. 21, 2020
Dear Sir and madam Ken Wanderman, Thank you for your review. This feedback and the inputs encourage us to improve our place and services. Thank you for selecting us for your stay and for the transfer service and our gate and doors are always open for you when ever you come to our beautiful country. Best regards, Mark Thamel.
Read more
Joyce v wrote a review Dec. 2019
14 contributions5 helpful votes
The last week of November we stayed in Ocean View. This was particularly pleasant. The Owner, Mark Thamel and his staff are very friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much for them. The Owner has an eye for his guests and responds well to that. The room was clean and the price quality is good. The location is convenient to the shops, restaurants and the beach.We are only positive about Ocean View. We want to advise everyone to start your holiday here and to end again. You won’t regret it. We are happy to come back Edwin en Joyce from the Netherlands
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Rooms
Service
1 Helpful vote1 Repost
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark T, Owner at Ocean View Tourist Guest House
Responded Dec. 4, 2019
Dear Madam Joyce, Thank you for your review. This feedback encourage us to improve our place and services. Thank you for selecting us for your stay and for the transfer services and our gate and doors are always open for you when ever you come to our beautiful country. Best regards, Mark Thamel.
Read more
kevin s wrote a review Nov. 2019
Abergavenny, United Kingdom5 contributions5 helpful votes
Excellent Guest House. Have stayed here for the last 10 years as a stop off before and after cycling throughout Sri Lanka. Transfers to and from airport have always been totally reliable .Rooms are very reasonably priced , clean and with the best hot showers in Sri Lanka. Staff are the great and the owner Mark is always available to help and offer the best tours of the island to suite both your interests and price.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark T, Owner at Ocean View Tourist Guest House
Responded Nov. 18, 2019
Dear Sir Kevin Sunderland, Yes it is for so many years you are coming to see us and you brought your family too in last April. Thank you for your review. This feedback encourage us to improve our place and services. Thank you for selecting us everytime for your stay and for the tour services and our gate and doors are always open for you when ever you come to our beautiful country. Best regards, Mark Thamel.
Read more
James D wrote a review Nov. 2019
Yarra Valley, Australia127 contributions60 helpful votes
After a booking mix up, I arrived at this guest house on Negombo Beach at 1am. Very obliging employee booked me in, made sure there was drinking water and a night, sleeping rough in Negombo, ws averted. Rooms are a good size, there's a fan and air-con. The beds are comfortable and the shower was warm. Wins all round!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Quiet rooms towards back.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark T, Owner at Ocean View Tourist Guest House
Responded Nov. 13, 2019
Dear Sir James, Thank you for your review. This feedback encourage us to improve our place and services. Thank you for selecting us for your stay and for the tour services and our gate and doors are always open for you when ever you come to our beautiful country. Best regards, Mark Thamel.
Read more
Xavi B wrote a review Nov. 2019
Barcelona, Spain2 contributions3 helpful votes
The staff in the hotel are super friendly and caring. The rooms are very clean and the breakfast is good. It is a good and cheap option to stay in Negombo. Totally recommend it if you travel on a budget.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark T, Owner at Ocean View Tourist Guest House
Responded Nov. 3, 2019
Dear Sir Xavier, Thank you for your review. This feedback encourage us to improve our place and services. Thank you for selecting us for your stay and for the tour services and our gate and doors are always open for you when ever you come to our beautiful country. Best regards, Mark Thamel.
Read more
Amalie B wrote a review Apr. 2019
Toronto, Canada12 contributions1 helpful vote
I have used Mark's drivers on 2 separate occasions - once 2017 for a trip to the north of the island ( a first for the driver and myself ) and this year in 2019. Both times the drivers were kind, sweet, safe and lovely. He was recommended to me by a dear friend in Tangalle and the services did not disappoint. Highly recommend them as a touring option. Honest and trustworthy.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2019
Value
Service
Trip type: Travelled
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from MarkThamel, Owner at Ocean View Tourist Guest House
Responded May 1, 2019
Dear Madam Amalie, Thank you for your review. This feedback encourage us to improve our place and services. Thank you for selecting us for your stay and for the tour services and our gate and doors are always open for you when ever you come to our beautiful country. It was a pity that you had to leave earlier than the schedule due to the terrorist attack on easter sunday. Best regards, Mark Thamel.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$17 - US$24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ocean view tourist guest house hotel negombo
LOCATION
Sri LankaWestern ProvinceNegombo
NUMBER OF ROOMS
13
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ocean View Tourist Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to Ocean View Tourist Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Selyn (0.4 km), Sun Shine Jewels (0.4 km), and Bluemoon Jewellers (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ocean View Tourist Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and airport transportation.
Is parking available at Ocean View Tourist Guest House?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ocean View Tourist Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Queen's Restaurant, Cafe Zen, and The Port Beach Restaurant & Pub.
Does Ocean View Tourist Guest House have airport transportation?
Yes, Ocean View Tourist Guest House offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.