We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ilboru Safari Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ilboru Safari Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

614 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ilboru Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 496: English reviews
Toulouse
Reviewed 10 April 2016

We spent three nights in that lovely lodge in Arusha. Everything was fine. The swimming pool is gorgeous ! The staff was just fantastic. We recommend that place which is also quiet. The room was simple but convenient.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Globetrot31
Annelies v, Owner at Ilboru Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Traveller, greetings from Sunny Tanzania. We are most delighted to have received such a beautiful review and we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us at Ilboru! With most kind regards and greetings from the entire team of Ilboru.

Toronto, Ontario
Reviewed 2 April 2016

We enjoyed our stay in this clean, quiet lodge. The staff was friendly and helpful and the food plentiful. Don't be discouraged by the bumpy, dirty road into the property. It's worth it. The grounds are beautiful and well cared for.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine T
Annelies v, Owner at Ilboru Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dearest Lorraine, Greetings from sunny Ilboru. Many thanks for your beautiful review, we are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Wishing you a pleasant sunday. With most kind regards and on behalf of the entire staff, Annelies

Werchter, Belgium
Reviewed 19 March 2016

After a long flight a warm welcome awaited us at Ilboru Safari Lodge. We were to tired for dinner but the next morning we enjoyed a lovely breakfast. Very nice lodge with beautiful swimming pool and friendly staff. Also very quiet for Arusha. Highly recommended!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 66josn
Annelies v, Owner at Ilboru Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dearest traveller, Greetings from Sunny Ilboru! brilliant review, thank you very much indeed. Its very helpful for Future travellers. With most kind regards- Annelies

Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewed 17 March 2016

Ilboru Lodge is like a peaceful heaven in crowded Arusha. Calm, lovely garden, great green environment and excellent price-performance ratio. Very good breakfast and a good restaurant. The staff is very efficient, helpful and they have real interest that their clients enjoy their stay and feel well. A real pleasure for me staying there for almost 1 week and feeling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anna S
Annelies v, Owner at Ilboru Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dearest Anna! ohhh thank you so very much, it was such a pleasure hosting you both and of course we all hope to seeing you again here at Ilboru in the near future! Many sunny greetings- Annelies

Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 14 March 2016

First of all, the path to get here consists of a VERY bumpy ride across unpaved roads and then on top of it, the rooms are small with no towels! We had to request from the front desk. Dinner was expensive at USD $22 for stuffed bell peppers. They ran out of the shrimp dish (why bother telling us that...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JonJK808
Annelies v, Owner at Ilboru Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Jon, Greetings from Ilboru Safari Lodge. Many thanks for your submitted review and i am really sorry to hear that you have had such a bad experience. This is really not our intention as we always try to make people feeling happy, relaxed and satisfied. If you can let me know what room number you have been staying and...

Aldershot, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 March 2016

Stayed here on the first night of safari trip. Lodge was very comfortable and the staff helpful and friendly. Food was adequate but not brilliant. Very bumpy and steep road to get to lodge, on the edge of Arusha.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank hugh_pitfield
Annelies v, Owner at Ilboru Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dearest Hugh, Greetinsg from Sunny Ilboru. Thank you very much for your review, much appreciated. Yes, very bumpy road, the road gets into really bad shape after the rains. As soon as the rains have finished, we will grade the road again, all the way up the main road, 1,5 kms. Safe travels. With most kind regards, Annelies

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 10 March 2016

Room was very nice. Breakfast was excellent and the staff could not be more friendly or helpful. Pool was very clean and quiet. The grounds were pretty, internet/wifi worked very well in the restaurant and pool areas.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bridget D
Annelies v, Owner at Ilboru Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dearest Bridget! Wonderful review, thank you very much indeed, its really helping us with improving our service and great contribution for future visitors! With most kind regards, Annelies

Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 March 2016

Excellent, courteous service, nothing was too much trouble. Driving up the lane to the hotel is a bit of an experience, and it is quite a walk into Arusha. Rooms are pretty soundly African standards and well spaces out in th grounds round the extensive pool. Food was goo and seemingly on tap most of the time

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
Annelies v, Owner at Ilboru Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dearest Richard! Thank you so much for excellent review, much appreciated! Greetings from sunny Ilboru.

California
Reviewed 5 March 2016 via mobile

This hotel is a nice place to stay wth all your basic needs taken care of. We stayed in one of the villas surrounding the pool. No toiletries so be sure to bring what you need. Shower sprays pretty much outside the shower area so don't have your clothes nearby. Because water is precious, their laundering process must be limited...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pglaw
Annelies v, Owner at Ilboru Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dearest traveller, greetings from Ilboru! Many thanks for submitting your review, much appreciated. We have just started our renovation the first 10 rooms, bathrooms, bedrooms and verandah. Sorry for the bad timing i would have loved you staying on of the renovated rooms but they are not ready but will be by the end of this week. Sorry! Greetings on...

Devizes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2016

We loved this friendly lodge and stayed pre and post climbing Kilimanjaro. Would highly recommend it as the staff were lovely and their attention to detail was fantastic. The food was also very tasty and a great breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank robsnook
Annelies v, Owner at Ilboru Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dear traveler, thank you so much for wonderful review, its highly appreciated. Our very friendly staff members that always carry a smile with them have become the signature of the lodge. Thank you!

232 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (191)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (41)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (32)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
8.2 km away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 42 in Arusha
392 reviews
3.5 km away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 42 in Arusha
855 reviews
19.9 km away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 42 in Arusha
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 42 in Arusha
523 reviews
10.4 km away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#8 of 42 in Arusha
131 reviews
5.6 km away
Arusha Coffee Lodge
Arusha Coffee Lodge
#1 of 140 in Arusha
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Ilboru Safari Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 8012, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Ilboru Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilboru Safari Hotel Arusha
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ilboru Safari Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
4 months ago
Toronto, Canada
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Detroit, Michigan
over a year ago
Houston, TX
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Ilboru Safari Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“All included”
 of 5 bubbles mebirdieric, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms a good, very nicely situated around the pool.”
 of 5 bubbles remcoo2017, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Some units are a bit further from the pool and the restaurant/lobby”
 of 5 bubbles Hugues2015, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“There are some rooms nearer the main hotel, however mine was at the far side, a bit of a stroll if you forgot something but a very good!”
 of 5 bubbles Alison080558, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I was in a double room”
 of 5 bubbles 51mariev, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5