We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ilboru Safari Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Ilboru Safari Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

590 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ilboru Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Showing 474: English reviews
Hamilton, Montana
Reviewed 4 October 2016

We stayed at the Ilboru Safari Lodge on the first night we arrived in Tanzania. Didn't arrive there until nearly 9 p.m. but it was a welcome oasis after a long flight. Rooms were spacious and comfortable. The lodge is in a gated area on a bumpy dirt road, but the road was a good sample of what we'd be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BitterrootTraveler
Ossining, NY
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Ilboru safari lodge has comfortable boma-style rooms, a fine swimming pool and beautiful landscaped grounds. The breakfast is excellent and sets one up for the day. The staff is friendly and helpful. An added attraction was an acrobatic show by the pool on one evening.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M185YOsheilas
DEVENTER
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Nice place to stay. Very good service en nice people. Breakfast and Diner was exellent. I will come back again and travel again with African Heart Expeditions and sleep in thr ilboru Safari Lodge. Thank you for the great tomes

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sinnebrink
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

We have spend one night at ilboru after a day of safari. We were welcome with a passion juice and a lot of smiles. This is a lodge hold by Dutch owners and everything is clean and rooms are beautiful. Beds were amazing. We even had the chance to meet the owners and talk to them during the whole evening....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mstennie
Yorkshire
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

Nice basic accommodation. Very friendly staff and a Dutch owner who helped make it a very special trip. Good food, pool, garden and bar. We spent a bit of money on beer too! The bumpy road up is not great but it's well enough located to be at Kilimanjaro in a few hours.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireTwig
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewed 25 September 2016

The rooms are located in hut like structures, making the rooms private. Each has it's own patio with chairs and a table. The pool is lovely and long enough for those who would like to swim for exercise and not just a cool off :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly64624
San Francisco, California
Reviewed 22 September 2016

I stayed here for 1 night after a week long safari since I had to "waste" a night before being able to catch my international flight the next day. I debated between 2 and 3 stars and ultimately chose 3 stars because the staff are friendly and try to help when possible. Why the 3 star average rating: - Everything...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank genxathena
Annelies v, Owner at Ilboru Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dearest traveller, thank you very much for your review. We are very sad to hear that we didn't supply to your expectations and we are very sorry for that. We are however in the process of renovating. We have upgraded 10 rooms so far and during the coming low season in November this year, we are going to upgrade another...

Evergreen, Colorado, United States
Reviewed 21 September 2016

If you've arrived into Arusha in preparation to climb Kilimanjaro or you're taking in a few days of relaxation, llburo is the perfect lodge! Super comfortable beds, beautiful pool, and a welcoming and helpful staff!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Patrice H
Annelies v, Owner at Ilboru Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Dearest Patrice! Greetings from Ilboru! Many thanks for your wonderful review. Much appreciated ;) We hope to welcome you a 4th time! With most kind regards- Annelies

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Good loge - rooms clean and well appointed for our needs as hikers/backpackers. Food was good and plenty of it. Staff were friendly and gracious - good African hospitality. After a 24 hour flight from Australia, it was great to find the little oasis of calm that is Ilboru Lodge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NLO123
Annelies v, Owner at Ilboru Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Good morning from sunny Ilboru. Many thanks for contributing to reviewing our lodge. It was our pleasure to host you, with most kind regards- Annelies

Orlando, Florida
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Clean, quiet, comfortable room in a peaceful setting; great staff and food. We had our laundry done and the service was great! George was particularly helpful before, during and after our trip. We stayed here the night before and the night after our 4 day safari with G Adventures.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ksandsvet
Annelies v, Owner at Ilboru Safari Lodge, responded to this review

Good morning from sunny Ilboru! Many thanks for your beautiful review, much appreciated. With most kind regards - Annelies

230 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (189)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
View from Room (10)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (56)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Arusha hotels
8.2 km away
Planet Lodge
Planet Lodge
#3 of 39 in Arusha
364 reviews
3.5 km away
The African Tulip
The African Tulip
#1 of 39 in Arusha
818 reviews
2.5 km away
Mount Meru Hotel
Mount Meru Hotel
#4 of 39 in Arusha
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
Mvuli Hotels Arusha
#8 of 39 in Arusha
74 reviews
19.9 km away
Rivertrees Country Inn
Rivertrees Country Inn
#2 of 39 in Arusha
365 reviews
10.4 km away
Kigongoni Lodge
Kigongoni Lodge
#9 of 39 in Arusha
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Ilboru Safari Lodge

Address: P.O. Box 8012, Arusha, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Arusha Region > Arusha
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Jovago.com so you can book your Ilboru Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ilboru Safari Hotel Arusha
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ilboru Safari Lodge staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
Toronto, Canada
London, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Detroit, Michigan
over a year ago
Houston, TX
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Ilboru Safari Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are some rooms nearer the main hotel, however mine was at the far side, a bit of a stroll if you forgot something but a very good!”
 of 5 bubbles Alison080558, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I was in a double room”
 of 5 bubbles 51mariev, 6 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Pick a room next to the pool”
 of 5 bubbles us3345632, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Comfortable, rather old but very clean. ”
 of 5 bubbles U8394MJlouiseg, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“no tip; I do not recommend to go there”
 of 5 bubbles vincentv220, 10 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay