We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bonnie Castle Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bonnie Castle Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

870 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 869: English reviews
Start your review of Bonnie Castle Resort
 Click to rate
Dansville
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

A few couples travel to Alex Bay every winter for a relaxing Adult Weekend. We have stayed at the Bonnie Castle several times. It is an older hotel. There are a few things that need to be done but they are in the process of updating and fixing things as they go. The bed was clean and comfortable, the room...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deanne S
JodiT15, Assistant Room Division Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review

Deanne S, thank you for your comments from your recent stay with us, here at Bonnie Castle Resort. Thank you for your suggestions that we can look into correcting in the pool rooms. Yes they can be very noisy and loud in the evenings with the music. I am glad that overall, you did enjoy your stay with us, at...

Gananoque
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We always enjoy ourselves when we stay at Bonnie Castle. We have been coming here for the past 30 years. Enjoy it so much more with the new renovations. The apartments are great when we have our cousins weekend in the fall.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank joann261
JodiT15, Assistant Room Division Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review

joann261, thank you for your comments from your recent stay with us, here at Bonnie Castle Resort. It's wonderful to hear that you have been faithfully coming to Bonnie Castle Resort for the past 30 years. I really do appreciate the fact that you have enjoyed the upgrades to the rooms and the property. It means a lot to our...

Liverpool, New York
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great views clean rooms with amazing food on site I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone not just in the summer but also as a year round get away my wife and I had a blast and can't wait to go back!!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank georgerhode
JodiT15, Assistant Room Division Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review

georgerhode, thank you for your comments from your recent stay with us. It is so nice to hear that you have a nice stay with us, here at Bonnie Castle Resort. Yes at this property, we do get to see some great views and that is just one reason many come back. I am glad to hear that our housekeeping...

Utica, New York
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Staff was to strict, to the point of being rude, pool was not attached so we had to walk outside in cold to get to pool and restaurant. Charged $20 if you didn't have your wet pool towel in your room. Rooms were clean, but dated. They included maid tip on our bill.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grandmaofalmost4
JodiT15, Assistant Room Division Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review

Grandmaofalmost4, thank you for your comments from your recent stay with us, here at Bonnie Castle Resort. I do hope that you did enjoy your stay with us. As per your comment of the staff being strict, we do need to have some kind of control with our towels as they do cost us money. I do want to apologize...

Bridgeport
Reviewed 1 week ago

Wonderful stay. I did have to open the door and ask the children to be quiet and stop bouncing a ball off of our door. We have two children so we are used to that stuff. Other than that. Prefect.we look fwd to taking advantage of the special before the months over!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindseyyU4966KI
JodiT15, Assistant Room Division Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review

lindseyyU4966KI, it's great to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us at Bonnie Castle Resort. I do apologize for the children disturbed you with their playing with their ball. I do appreciate your patience and understanding. We will be looking forward to have you back soon. Thank you Brian Urich Assistant Room Division Manager

Binghamton
Reviewed 1 week ago

No complaints. Three stories with no elevator, for those concerned. I ate at the restaurant three times. Loved everything I had. The pool area was lovely and unique. The dining area was wonderfully decorated and the staff was more than accommodating.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank kcv433
JodiT15, Assistant Room Division Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review

kcv433, thank you for your comments from your recent stay with us, here at Bonnie Castle Resort. I'm glad to hear that you did enjoy your stay with us. Yes, having an elevator would be helpful, and I will let them see this suggestion for the future. It's wonderful to see that you enjoyed the restaurant and the indoor pool...

Ottawa, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago

Another great weekend at Bonnie Castle.....finally got a poolside room allowing us to walk from room right in whirlpool can't get anymore convenient than that. Staff were amazing a always making us feel at home thanks Polly and Maggie your guys are awesome. Had to have wings on Sunday night and I don't know where you get them but I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank randyk_1963
JodiT15, Assistant Room Division Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review

randyk_1963, it is great to hear that you did enjoy your birthday in our poolside rooms. Those are really a treat. Thank you for your comments about our staff during your stay. Polly and Maggie are great employees and really strive to make you feel at home. We will look forward to having you back at Bonnie Castle Resort. Thank...

Canandaigua, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The rooms were beautiful, yet outdated. Everything was very clean and top of the line. It should be noted that the resort is split into two buildings. In the summer not a huge deal, but in March when it's 14 degrees it's a factor. Beautiful spot with lots of scenery.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
JodiT15, Assistant Room Division Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review

Chris B, thank you for your comments from your recent stay with us, here at Bonnie Castle Resort. It's is great to hear that you did enjoy your stay and the room you stayed in at our property. Our staff strive to make sure that everything is clean and top of the line. The Summer is a great time to...

United States
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in the apartment. The jacuzzi tub was huge. Well worth the price of the March special they have. It was a relaxing time. The rooms were very big and accommodating. The bed was very comfortable!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristine K
JodiT15, Assistant Room Division Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review

Kristine K, thank you for your comments from your recent stay with us, here at Bonnie Castle Resort. It sounds like you had a great stay and enjoyed your apartment that you had at the resort. We always look forward to hear our guests enjoy their time. Our housekeeping staff strive to make sure that our guests make sure that...

Baldwinsville, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As always, our little escape from reality was refreshing. I surprised my husband with a jacuzzi room for his birthday at Bonnie Castle and we had a wonderful time sitting in the pool area socializing with the other happy people that were there enjoying the beautiful river view.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank mccrums2004
JodiT15, Assistant Room Division Manager at Bonnie Castle Resort, responded to this review

mmcrums2004, thank you for your comments from your recent stay with us, here at Bonnie Castle Resort. It's great to hear that your husband had a nice birthday here at Bonnie Castle. I'm glad that you enjoyed the view and had a wonderful time at the pool with others. We will be looking forward to have you both come back...

109 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (89)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alexandria Bay
17.4 km away
1000 Islands Harbor Hotel
18.6 km away
Country Squire Resort & Spa
18.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Suites Gananoque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.4 km away
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
The Gananoque Inn and Spa
#3 of 11 in Gananoque
464 reviews
19.9 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Thousand Islands Harbour District
0.4 km away
Capt. Thomson's Resort
Capt. Thomson's Resort
#3 of 15 in Alexandria Bay
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on the shores of the St. Lawrence River in Alexandria Bay, New York, Bonnie Castle Resort is your gateway to the breathtaking beauty of the Thousand Islands. A world of beauty, history, and relaxation awaits you at Bonnie Castle Resort. Enjoy fine dining in our Manor House Restaurant, grab a sandwich on the dock at The Pointe Bar and Grill, relax by the pool, or simply sip a cocktail on our expansive decks overlooking Boldt Castle on Heart Island. Visiting by boat? Take advantage of our full-service marina. Whether you're looking for a fun family getaway or a perfect spot to host your wedding or other event, Bonnie Castle Resort and the Thousand Islands region offer something for everyone. We look forward to making your stay as enjoyable and relaxing as possible. Please note that Bonnie Castle Resort is under new ownership and management as of May 2012. Come visit and see what's new as we update this property in a manner deserving of its rich history. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bonnie Castle Resort

Address: 31 Holland St, Alexandria Bay, NY 13607-1098
Region: United States > New York > Alexandria Bay
Price Range: $118 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bonnie Castle Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Bonnie Castle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonnie Castle Hotel Alexandria Bay
Bonnie Castle Alexandria Bay
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bonnie Castle Resort staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
9 months ago
2 months ago
Auburn, New York
LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK
8 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Bonnie Castle Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“book early if you want a poolside room”
 of 5 bubbles randyk_1963, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Apartment style in separate building from pool and restaurant. ”
 of 5 bubbles B6674QYchrisb, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the building with the front desk are quieter. Rooms in the building with the restaurant and pool are more convenient, as you do not have to cross the parking lot to get to them, and offer a river view.”
 of 5 bubbles DottieH51, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I have only stayed in Jacuzzi suites, and prefer the hotel side rooms more than the river side rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles rcazziol, 27 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Nothing was done to compensate us for being moved to rooms next to a hockey team that played hockey in the halls. We were no where near the pool. ”
 of 5 bubbles sandcharmac@gmail.com, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5