We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Entebbe Backpackers

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Entebbe
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 83: English reviews
Montignac, France
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a whole 4-persons hut to myself for only 17,50 dollar. beds and facilities are good for what you pay. lovely calm garden in calm neighbourhood. food is ok, but really loved the fresh juices. friendly staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank baerloo
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Overall, a very positive experience. The airport shuttles are always on time, friendly, and affordable. The food is very good, but the kitchen closes at 8pm. We stayed in the spacious rooms 10 and 11. $32 total per room with bunk beds. Beware of the shower handle, we were literally shocked when attempting to shut water off. Use a towel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank omuzungu
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

I was a bit worried after reading some poor reviews but I was more than satisfied with my stay. I booked a private room and was not as basic as I expected, with a good hot shower. I communicated by email and sometimes had to resend a second time to get a reply but Colin was very helpful going as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dardobarbini
Reviewed 28 December 2016

We were at the Backpackers on Christmas Eve and Christmas. This hostel is calm, clean and budget friendly. The staff is available and nice, even on Christmas day. The rooms could benefit from renovation; but it was comfortable and the mosquito nets are efficient. They offer towels and soap for free, which I greatly appreciated. Breakfast is not included, but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mmaowww
Reviewed 8 December 2016

I had the absolute WORST experience at Entebbe Backpackers. I would never recommend this place. I first called them days in advance to book a room and they told me they didn't have a single room available, but then two days later replied to my email saying they had the exact room I was looking for. I had a 4:00am...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Samantha B
EbbBckpkrsManager, Manager at Entebbe Backpackers, responded to this review

Dear valued guest, thank you for your review and all concerns pointed out. I sincerely apologize for the unpleasant stay you had with us and I will go ahead to make certain that the reasons you had an less than ideal stay are addressed. However, may I point out that it is indeed true that the room you first preferred...

Reviewed 23 November 2016

Arriving at evening, this is a close and decent place to spend the first night. Basic dorm room en suite, mosquito net, quiet. They arrange transfers from the airport for the same price of the dorm bed

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renata R
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

For my first day as solo backpacker in Uganda, I hoped to find a nice place with a great atmosphere, other travellers, nice advices from the staff... The staff was kind and I guess it is because of low season but I didn't find anything particular to this basic hostal, felt lonely and wanted to leave on the next day....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dorotheebruxelles29
New Jersey, USA
Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

This place has a lot going for it: safe quiet location, low prices, and great food. Reception manager Kanaan and housekeeper Janet are super nice people who try hard to make their customers happy. And James, the chef, is an unbelievably good cook and also very nice. The owner is constantly trying to improve the property: overall the facilities are...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank johnmillspa
Lago Agrio, Ecuador
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Yesterday my partner was at this so-called hostel. She was "greeted" by a so-called guard who was drunk and told her to give him a hug. She had never seen this person before. She asked the receptionist for help but he barely even answered. Another guest at the hostel stayed next to my partner to make sure she was safe....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrew_Galea_Debono
Singapore
Reviewed 4 September 2016

Very basic but considering where you are, I quite appreciated how much I could have from this backpacker. As I joined a group tour starting from Entebbe, the agent had arranged a single room (US$9) for me for the night. It is 5~ 10 minutes driving from Entebbe airport. I had asked a airport pick up, which cost US$7, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mamacita1001

33 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Entebbe hotels
2.8 km away
2Friends Beach Hotel
2Friends Beach Hotel
#1 of 30 in Entebbe
249 reviews
0.2 km away
Executive Airport Hotel
Executive Airport Hotel
#10 of 30 in Entebbe
59 reviews
0.6 km away
Skyway Hotel
Skyway Hotel
#29 of 30 in Entebbe
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
4 Penguins Hotel
4 Penguins Hotel
#15 of 30 in Entebbe
21 reviews
7.4 km away
Thames Hotel
Thames Hotel
#27 of 30 in Entebbe
19 reviews
0.5 km away
Lake Heights Hotel
Lake Heights Hotel
#6 of 30 in Entebbe
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation

Additional Information about Entebbe Backpackers

Address: Plot 33/35 Church Road, Entebbe 256, Uganda
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Number of rooms: 16
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Entebbe Backpackers staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Cluj-Napoca, Romania
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Entebbe Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you want intimacy, you can ask a double room for 30$ a night. They are cottages.”
 of 5 bubbles mmaowww, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Don't go there.”
 of 5 bubbles Andrew_Galea_Debono, 10 Sep 2016 | Read review
“the room nr.9 and 13 are very good.Is good to make reservations because is very full...”
  • a part of the room.Has no AC but a fan working very good
 of 5 bubbles 240eugenm, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“rooms outside the main building are better”
 of 5 bubbles Baloo911, 4 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Room 10 has a great double wide bunk bed with staircase. Other rooms looked fine, too. They also have dorms which we did not see. You can also pitch tents in the gardens.”
 of 5 bubbles bobinathens, 25 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5