We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

176 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 169: English reviews
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed here to avoid the hour drive to the airport for the morning flight. Incredibly beautiful location and super friendly service but at midnight the power tripped and generator kicked in which sounded like a 16 wheeler truck idling in my bedroom. Got no sleep. Choose the rooms looking over the lake to avoid this

Helpful?
1 Thank Kate W
Scotland
Level Contributor
96 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were due to fly out of Entebbe at around 2 a.m. so check in at midnight. We decided to have a good dinner before the long night ahead. We had an onward flight connection in Addis as well. We picked the Protea for our evening meal because of its proximity to the airport, the availability of a shuttle (33,000... More 

Helpful?
Thank mrrlstephen
Cape Town, South Africa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2016 via mobile

I've stayed on two occasions at the end of business trips. It's very convenient for early morning flights given that it's a 5min drive from the airport & there is a reliable hotel shuttle service. Pros: - great pool area & lakeside view - friendly staff - proximity to airport Cons: - bit soulless - food can be inconsistent, some... More 

Helpful?
Thank NickRSA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2016

We arrived at 11pm to Uganda for the beginning of our trip. The staff of the hotel came to pick us up at the airport (10 minutes away) and gave us a warm welcome. We left the next morning not without enjoying a big and tasty buffet! Friendly staff with spacious and comfortable rooms

Helpful?
Thank Antonillorens
Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

If you are looking for a good hotel in Entebbe on transit or for some downtime between trips then this is the hotel for you. I appreciated the hotels proximity to the airport especially if you have an early morning flight. If you prefer some quite time, then try room 133 on the first floor. It has a balcony overlooking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Naje2013
EntebbeUG, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe, responded to this review

Dear Naje2013, Thank you for taking time to share your experience at Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectation. Your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to... More 

Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
152 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

This is a good little Protea (now owned by Marriott) hotel. Comfortable rooms, relaxing restaurant with a few outside chairs and very friendly / accommodating staff. They do a Braai (barbecue) on one of the weekday nights and their ribs are delicious!

Helpful?
Thank David B
EntebbeUG, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe, responded to this review

Dear David B, Thank you for your feedback received during your last visit to Uganda. Albeit your review was in-fact for the Protea Hotel by Marriott Kampala and not Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe, we do have a Braai (BBQ) every Saturday on our pool deck. Hopefully next time you are in Uganda we can host you. Best regards Cymon More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

I haven't stayed at the hotel but I have used their restaurant multiple times and it's Excellent. I eat there atleast 2-3 times a week. Fridays Mongolian buffet are a bomb and the stir fry plates very good and cooked right in front of you. They also have an excellent breakfast buffet for 45 thousand shillings and you can eat... More 

Helpful?
Thank Francisco S
EntebbeUG, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe, responded to this review

Dear Francisco S, thank you for your feedback received on Tripadvisor. To receive such positive feedback from our GUESTS is most rewarding for the TEAM at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe. This with the knowledge that as a TEAM we have exceeded you, our GUESTS expectations. We trust you will be return to Entebbe in the not too distant... More 

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2016

The hotel is very close to the airport stone throw away. The rooms have a Great Lake view the high the floor the better the lake view one can get up to a beautiful sunrises over the lake in the morning

Helpful?
Thank SalmonAN
EntebbeUG, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe, responded to this review

Dear SalmonAN, thank you for your feedback received on Tripadvisor. We trust you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to hosting you again during your next visit to Entebbe, Uganda. Kind regards Cymon cymon@proteaebb.co.ug More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2016

Where to begin? The Protea Hotel was an amazing find for my 2 weeks of Business in Uganda. The staff are extremely courteous and will go out of their way to help you find whatever you need. I unfortunately wasn't able to partake in any of the safaris or experiences that the hotel had brochures for, but people I had... More 

Helpful?
Thank paladin0018
EntebbeUG, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe, responded to this review

Dear paladin0018, thank you for your feedback received on Tripadvisor. To receive such positive feedback from our GUESTS is most rewarding for the TEAM at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe. Your special note regarding Charles is of notable interest, to which I will personally deliver to him recognition for this accolade. As you have mentioned, "if ever you ever... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed in Entebbe for one evening en route to the gorilla tracking. We were disappointed with the hotel, especially given it it a Marriott. The hotel really needs updating. The shower leaked all over the floor; the service was very slow in the restaurant; the pool was dirty green and when we went to sit down outside by the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie B
EntebbeUG, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe, responded to this review

EntebbeUG, General Manager at Protea Hotel by MarriottR Entebbe Resort, responded to this review Dear Julie B. Thank you for your feedback received, please do be assured that the experiences you have detailed are not in keeping with that which we at the Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe strive to achieve. Indeed whilst the unexpected rain storm we had (1st... More 

156 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Entebbe hotels
4.8 km away
2Friends Beach Hotel
2Friends Beach Hotel
#1 of 30 in Entebbe
238 reviews
5.0 km away
Acacia Beach Hotel
Acacia Beach Hotel
#7 of 30 in Entebbe
30 reviews
2.6 km away
LAICO Lake Victoria Entebbe Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Lake Heights Hotel
Lake Heights Hotel
#6 of 30 in Entebbe
50 reviews
2.3 km away
Airport View Hotel
Airport View Hotel
#4 of 30 in Entebbe
80 reviews
10.1 km away
4 Penguins Hotel
4 Penguins Hotel
#14 of 30 in Entebbe
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Entebbe is ideally located on the glistening shores of Lake Victoria a convenient 1km from Entebbe International Airport. Protea Hotel by Marriott(R) Entebbe's trendy restaurant, Tides, is a must visit, offering an exciting and truly inviting a la carte menu 7 days a week. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, specialties include fresh Tilapia and Nile Perch. Daily specials are also a firm favorite with locals and tourists alike. After a busy day, the Agama Terrace or Pool Bar with its own special ambience and uninterrupted lake views, the perfect place to kick off a decadent evening out or simply just to relax and enjoy the sunset with an aperitif before dinner. Added attractions include the Entebbe Golf Club, Botanical Gardens, Mabamba Swamps and Uganda Wildlife Education Center. As part of the education center day trips can be arranged to Ngamba Island Chimpanzee Sanctuary, Ssese Island Trips, Fishing trips for Nile Perch - the largest fresh water game fish in the world or sunset cruises for the less adventurous. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe

Address: 36-40 Sebugwawo Drive | Entebbe Road, Entebbe, Uganda (Formerly Protea Hotel Entebbe)
Region: Uganda > Central Region > Entebbe
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Airport Transportation
Price Range: $264 - $412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Marriott, Orbitz, HRS, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Entebbe
#2 Business Hotel in Entebbe
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Protea Hotel by Marriott Entebbe staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Recommended rooms with views to Lake Victoria”
 of 5 bubbles Antonillorens, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“South side have the lake view”
 of 5 bubbles SalmonAN, 6 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I stayed in the same room for 2 weeks, and to be honest, I didn't spend a lot of time in my room to give any useful hints, sorry.”
 of 5 bubbles paladin0018, 29 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Lake and pool view only if you don't mind kids playing”
 of 5 bubbles hannas420, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
“I was near the swimming pool, which meant unfortunately that I had to go through the restaurant whenever I wanted to go for a swim.”
 of 5 bubbles Nossim, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay