We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Windward Shores

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Windward Shores
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

67 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Windward Shores
See the most recent reviews
Showing 66: English reviews
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2014

I was referred to Windward Shores by another hotel that was sold out for the days that I wanted to vacation to Montauk. The property was beautifully landscaped, which I was unaware of from reviews I had read. I requested an updated room for the best price and was given a studio in the west building. It seemed like it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julia315845
ManagerWindward, General Manager at Windward Shores, responded to this review

Dear Julia315845: It is always nice to hear of guests enjoying their time at Windward Shores Ocean Resort, and I thank you for your positive feedback. I am pleased to report that many of our units have been updated. We still have a few to do and will complete those this winter. We strive to offer excellent service and are... More 

Harding, NJ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2014

As long as you stay outside, Windward Shores is a fine spot. The problem is interior. To say the 2 bedroom suite is dated is an understatement. There was peeling paint…missing molding, unpainted wood, where the molding was gone and blue painters tape along part of the flooring. The old, tired furniture looked like it as from an Austin Powers... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank CKHarding
ManagerWindward, General Manager at Windward Shores, responded to this review

Thank you for your review at tripadvisor. I only wish I could have had the opportunity to discuss your concerns while you were here. I passed your review information on to the owner of that unit. As Windward Shores is a resort co-op, all units are individually maintained and furnished. In the past two years, we have renovated and updated... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

Booked a five night stay for the family in a studio. The beach is nice and the heated pool is too. The grounds are well taken care of and people working there are nice. BUT, 500$/night for a bare bones studio, is a bit much. Each room is owner owned and therefore some are renovated and some are not. Yet,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 2013JPL2013
ManagerWindward, General Manager at Windward Shores, responded to this review

Thank you for your review at tripadvisor.com I only wish I could have had the opportunity to discuss your concerns while you were here. In the past two years, we have renovated and updated almost all of the units. I discussed your concerns with the owner and they have agreed to update their unit this fall. After reading your tripadvisor... More 

1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

If you are visiting Amagansett strictly for location, which we basically do, this is the perfect place for the family. The view from units 44,43 and 42 up top simply cannot be beat. Other top units are beach front but the dunes are in the way of ocean view, still a perfect location in my opinion. The units are large... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jean P
ManagerWindward, General Manager at Windward Shores, responded to this review

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review. The housekeeping effort here is tantamount to our success at Windward Shores, and I very much value your feedback. Please note that we had two housekeepers out sick for five days and while you were visiting us. Of course, that is not an excuse, but it is the truth. I am pleased to inform... More 

Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

One of the worst "hotel properties" I have ever stayed in. I realize this was a "beach" property, but for $300 a night, it was ridiculous. I have stayed in better Motel 6 type properties. Many units are owned by individual investors who take better or worse care of their units. We stayed in unit 127 - avoid it. Front... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank bstorm502014
ManagerWindward, General Manager at Windward Shores, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay with us last year. We have endeavored on a large renovation project, and I am pleased to report to you that most of the units here have been completely updated, including the one you were assigned. I sincerely hope you give Windward Shores another chance and ask that you contact me directly... More 

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We travel here at least 10 times during the summer. Not enough of course! Windward Shores is my favorites Dunes resort and I have used them for the past 15 years. The location is perfect! We enjoy the East Hamptons and Montauk and WS is right in-between both. We alo head to Sag Harbor as well. The rooms have a... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank flymetothemoon_8
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2013 via mobile

First time in Long Island, first time in Montauk, first time in Windward Shores. We got this room at the very last minute (it was 5 pm and we were asking for sleeping there that night). Awesome room, the view was amazing and the receptionist really helpful. There's a pool, though the private beach is really a place you have... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mirko T
ManagerWindward, General Manager at Windward Shores, responded to this review

I was so pleased to read your very nice review regarding Windward Shores Ocean Resort, and very happy to know you enjoyed your time with us. Now that you have experienced the Montauk and Amagansett areas, we hope you will return when your schedule allows. We look forward to welcoming you back to Windward Shores a "second time." More 

Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

This was our first time staying at Windward Shores after 32+ years of traveling to Montauk and we were very pleasantly surprised. We requested two bedroom, ocean front/ocean view to accommodate our group of four. Reservations were easy and our needs were met. Our unit had the feel of apartment-style living. Downstairs has a private queen bedroom (minimal closet space)... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank toto24522
ManagerWindward, General Manager at Windward Shores, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about Windward Shores Ocean Resort. I shared your comments with our staff, property management and the owner of the unit you occupied. We strive for excellence here and it is indeed rewarding when those efforts are recognized by our guests. During your stay, our electric provider (LIPA) was... More 

Ronkonkoma, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Great location. You walk out your door through the dunes to the ocean. The two bedroom suite was spacious and slept everyone comfortably. The manager, Laurie, was so helpful and her staff- Amanda, Karen and Emma, were equally friendly, helpful and accommodating. Fantastic off season rates! Looking forward to visiting again in September, this time for girls weekend getaway! -Katherine

Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine O O
ManagerWindward, General Manager at Windward Shores, responded to this review

Dear Katherine: Thank you the wonderful comments you posted regarding Windward Shores. The staff were thrilled to be recognized! We are all pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and your time here, and look forward to welcoming you back in September! Kind Regards, Team Windward More 

Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013 via mobile

We had a newly renovated room, it was a studio & nice. Our friends stayed in a two bedroom unit that was VERY nice. The lower rooms have "dune view" so you don't really see or hear the ocean., but its a short walk away.

Helpful?
1 Thank dan d
ManagerWindward, General Manager at Windward Shores, responded to this review

Thank you for your very positive review. We renovated many studios and suites this past winter, and look forward to our guests enjoying these as well as our beautiful facilities this summer season. Hope to welcome you back! More 

47 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amagansett
0.8 km away
Sea Crest on the Ocean
Sea Crest on the Ocean
#2 of 6 in Amagansett
148 reviews
4.4 km away
Gurney's Montauk Resort & Seawater Spa
0.7 km away
The Hermitage at Napeague
The Hermitage at Napeague
#3 of 6 in Amagansett
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Driftwood on the Ocean
Driftwood on the Ocean
#16 of 41 in Montauk
130 reviews
0.6 km away
Ocean Vista Resort
Ocean Vista Resort
#5 of 6 in Amagansett
77 reviews
8.7 km away
Ocean Surf Resort
Ocean Surf Resort
#3 of 41 in Montauk
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Windward Shores Ocean Resort is a year-round exclusive luxury resort located on the pristine ocean beaches of Napeague in Amagansett. Windward Shores offers luxurious studios and two bedroom duplex suites offering fully equipped kitchens,living and dining areas and private decks for sunbathing or entertaining. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Windward Shores

Address: 2062 Montauk Hwy, Amagansett, NY 11930-2019
Region: United States > New York > Long Island > Hamptons > Amagansett
Price Range: $162 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Windward Shores 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Windward Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windward Shores Amagansett, NY - Hamptons
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Windward Shores staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Windward Shores staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“TO get there at night, better go with GPS since it may be difficult to find the entrance when passing by on the main route.”
 of 5 bubbles 50MM50, 11 Aug 2016 | Read review
“This 2 story ocean front condo has a better view of the water if you are on the top floor. Those condos are duplex with a second bedroom.”
 of 5 bubbles nancycD2480GK, 13 Jul 2016 | Read review
“get a corner unit ocean side”
 of 5 bubbles 487gailq, 23 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Get ocean front, although the resort is tiny so all rooms are steps away from the beach.”
 of 5 bubbles rebeccak515, 12 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Rooms facing the beach, whether with ocean views or not, allow for great breezes and the sound of the ocean.”
 of 5 bubbles LocalHerotwo, 1 Jul 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay