Hakone Airu

Hakone Airu

499-1 Yumoto, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun 250-0311 Kanagawa Prefecture
Traveller (253)
専用客室露天風呂から箱根連山を望む
Room & Suite (83)
Dining (76)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#31 of 160 onsen ryokans in Hakone-machi
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.6 of 5 bubbles
Value
Well-positioned in Hakone Yumoto, Hakone Airu is the ideal point of departure for your excursions in Hakone. From here, guests can enjoy easy access to all that the lively city has to offer. With its convenient location, the hotel offers easy access to the city's must-see destinations. Hakone Airu offers impeccable service and all the essential amenities to invigorate travelers. While lodging at this wonderful property, guests can enjoy free Wi-Fi in all rooms, 24-hour front desk, luggage storage, Wi-Fi in public areas, car park. 15 rooms spread over 4 floors provide a warm and pleasant home away from home. Modern comforts such as television LCD/plasma screen, clothes rack, free welcome drink, mirror, slippers can be found in selected rooms. The hotel offers many unique recreational opportunities such as hot spring bath. Discover an engaging blend of professional service and a wide array of features at Hakone Airu.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hot bath
Free breakfast
Highchairs available
Shuttle bus service
Spa
24-hour security
Secured parking
Wifi
Paid internet
Bar / lounge
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary tea
Complimentary welcome drink
Happy hour
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Hot spring bath
Massage
Neck massage
Open-air bath
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Non-smoking hotel
Shared bathroom
Shared lounge / TV area
Shops
Umbrella
24-hour front desk
Ironing service
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Air purifier
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bidet
Bathrobes
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Private bathrooms
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Mountain view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Trendy
Languages Spoken
English, Japanese, Nepali

Location

499-1 Yumoto, Hakone-machi, Ashigarashimo-gun 250-0311 Kanagawa Prefecture
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Good for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 90 out of 100
90
Haneda Airport
71.4 km
See all flights
97Reviews14Q+A19Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 53
  • 20
  • 14
  • 2
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Roxy B wrote a review Mar 2020
Whangaparaoa, New Zealand22 contributions9 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Great place, rooms very authentic Japanese / Balinese mix. loved the onsen which was perfect for relaxation. We had a room on level 3 which was very clean and with everything you need, futon was laid out at night time while we ate dinner, and the kimono to wear to dinner was such a great touch, made for such an awesome experience. Food, both dinner and breakfast (we chose western breakfast) was devine, great flavours and such fun to try something different. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Highly recommend, and Hakone itself is such a worthwhile trip.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from hakoneairu, オーナー at Hakone Airu
Responded Mar 12, 2020
Thank you for staying at our hotel. I would be glad if you were relaxing at our hotel. Our hotel has a mix of Balinese and Japanese style. All rooms have private hot springs. (Everything is Mountainview.) We recommend rooms on higher floors. Because you can have a beautiful view of the mountains. If you need a window in the open-air bath, book a room on the second floor. (Some rooms have windows.) Experience Japanese hospitality with yukata and meals. Hakone has different pleasures depending on the season. We are waiting for your revisit. Thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Katherine S wrote a review Jan 2020
Southampton, United Kingdom97 contributions33 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is amazing, best I have ever stayed in. Wanted to have a traditional ryokan experience and was not disappointed. The staff are welcoming from the moment you arrive. Rooms are great with a view of the mountain the river, we booked a room with the personal onsen which was very relaxing. Food was amazing, not sure what half of it was but all tasted great and was different everyday, breakfast was also great with a choice of Japanese or English. The bar downstairs has a lot of choice and the staff were again very friendly, Shiro was especially helpful with advising us where to go and helping with travel plans (even though there was a little bit of a language barrier, but nothing Google can't over come) would go back again if I could. 100% recommend this hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from hakoneairu, オーナー at Hakone Airu
Responded Jan 16, 2020
Thank you for staying at our hotel. All of our hotels have a private Mountainview hot spring. The view is beautiful and very popular. We also recommend that hot spring. The aquarium bar has beautiful tropical fish and coral reefs. Bar masters are not good at English, but will strive to communicate with guests.Have a good time. Our hotel has a slightly different structure than traditional Japanese-style inns. Recommended for those who want to enjoy the Bali resort atmosphere. Please come to Hakone again. Thank you very much.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Alex wrote a review Jun 2020
Boxtel, The Netherlands15 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at Hakone Airu in early November 2019 after a week in Tokyo. Everything, from check-in to check-out was amazing. We were a few hours early for check-in and were able to drop our bags at the desk so we could explore the area (Tamadareno falls are worth the walk). After our walk we checked in and enjoyed a welcome drink before relaxing in our room and our very first onsen.

In the evening we enjoyed the kaiseki dinner with shabu shabu course in a private dining room. We ate lots of dishes that we never had before and loved the beef shabu shabu. After that we spent some time at the bar. It's not only beautiful but fun as well. We joked around with the bartender and enjoyed some of his great whisky recommendation.

All in all this was one of the highlights of our month in Japan. The location was beautiful, the rooms were luxurious and spacious after Tokyo.

A special thanks to the staff for being very accomodating with adjusting the meal for my pregnant wife who could not eat raw fish, and thanks for the bartender that evening for making a great day just a bit more special.

We enjoyed it so much that we're already planning to go back in 2021!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: The rooms are all very similar, the main difference is the floor they are located on. You pay a...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from hakoneairu, オーナー at Hakone Airu
Responded Jun 9, 2020
Thank you for staying at our hotel. We are very impressed with your best review. Did you succeed in giving birth to your baby? Japan is fighting Corona. Our hotel has a private hot spring in every room. Meals are served in a private dining room. Therefore, we rarely come into contact with other customers. You can rest assured. We are waiting for your return visit. Please come back to Hakone. Thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JBbabeNZ wrote a review Mar 2023
48 contributions22 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
The property is as lovely as it looks in the photos. However you can't put tatami mats in a Balinese hotel and call it a Ryokan. There is no fusion of the cultures, there are no Japanese staff, we didn't even feel like we were in Japan. The unwelcoming check in procedure involves a list of rules and regs before being shown to the room which was clean and well equipped. The view and the bath were outstanding. Be aware the shower is a glass room with zero privacy to the outside world. In winter it would be very cold. The bar wasn't manned and we had to wander around calling out for someone waiting for up to 10 minutes each time before getting a drink. The food was a bitter disappointment. The menu was in Japanese and staff had no idea what was being served - fish/vegetable/meat was the best explanations we got. I emailed prior to arrival asking for no seafood, but got served 2 fish dishes. The food was repetitive in texture and flavour, it was bland and very underwhelming. When we got back from dinner the bed had been laid out but the room hadn't been straightened, dirty glasses were left, towels not replaced etc. Paying over $800 for one night I would have expected a lot more. If you want a private bath in a nice environment, go for it. If you want something to even slightly resemble a traditional Japanese Ryokan experience, give this place a big miss. It's a commercially run rip off.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 箱根 藍瑠, オーナー at Hakone Airu
Responded Mar 22, 2023
Thank you for staying at our ryokan.Our ryokan operates with the concept of a fusion of a Balinese resort and a Japanese style ryokan.As you say, unlike a complete Japanese style ryokan, most of the employees are foreigners.If you are looking for a perfect Japanese style ryokan, please refrain from using it.You can enjoy the nature of Hakone from the open-air baths in all rooms.The open-air structure allows you to enjoy the hot spring while feeling a sense of unity with the mountains.This is the greatest strength of our ryokan, and it is well received by our guests.Why did you choose our facility as you can see from the photos that it is an open air hot spring?We question your dietary opinion.Surely you requested us to exclude seafood.However, we are offering kaiseki cuisine and cannot completely exclude seafood, and if you do not understand that, we have told you to cancel your reservation.You replied that all you have to do is exclude raw fish there.However, when you checked in, You say forced to exclude all seafood.We do not want to accept bookings if our services do not match the customer's needs.There are some things we need to improve based on your opinion.However, your evaluation can also be taken as selfish selfishness.Thank you for your opinion.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
NaomiScott32 wrote a review Sep 2023
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom181 contributions160 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Ryokan style with Japanese tatami mats, private onsen on balcony, private bathroom and Kaiseki dinner. Those were my non negotiables and surprisingly hard to tick all boxes without re mortgaging your house, but good news the Airu ticks all boxes. Yes, it’s pricey but not as bad as many I checked out.

Location - Hakone yamato is perfect, it’s a cute little town with lovely independent shops, very pretty and the first main stop on the loop. Staying here means not having to lug your bags by train, bus or taxi to other locations like Gora which is a good 30 mins away. The Airu is a 12 minute downhill walk back into town. I say this because you probably wouldn’t fancy walking uphill to get there with bags. From the station you can get the orange and white shuttle (Route B) for free and it’ll take you to the hotel. It was really busy when we arrived and the bus was full, not fancying a 30 min wait in 32 degrees we opted for a taxi which cheap enough.

The staff are incredibly kind and welcoming, the welcome is impressive with cold towels and fizz. Our room was spacious, set out with table and chairs. They make up the futons when you go to dinner. The onsen on the balcony is easily big enough for two and gorgeous. I have to mention the amenities are next level. So many face and skin products, I’ve never felt so clean which was greatly appreciated given the heat outside. I don’t know what is in their hair treatment but it was the most incredible conditioner and left my thick hair baby soft, I nearly bought a bottle from the gift shop. You’re given a yukata, pjs and socks to wear during your stay. Yukatas for dinner.

Dinner and Breakfast are both pretty mammoth affairs. I don’t know how many courses we had but I think maybe 8 or 10. One night we had snow crab, another we had steak. Everything is beautifully presented and it’s a great chance to try lots of things you’ve probably not had before.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 箱根 藍瑠, オーナー at Hakone Airu
Responded Sep 17, 2023
Thank you very much for staying at our inn. We are glad that you had the best inn experience. As you said, the hotel is located on a hill about 15 minutes walk from Hakone Yumoto Station. It can be very difficult for foreign tourists with a lot of luggage. We always let people know that we will be coming by bus or taxi. Please believe this. However, once you climb that hill, a beautiful view awaits you. Our private open-air bath will not disappoint. Surrounded by the nature of Hakone, it is a place where you can heal your mind and body. I think this is our hotel's greatest strength. All amenities are original products. In addition to shampoo, treatment, and body soap, we also offer a set of cosmetic amenities such as lotion, body milk, and body scrub, in an effort to differentiate ourselves from our competitors. It is popular among women and is also sold in stores. Yukata and pajamas are available on-site. Please wear your favorite clothes during your stay. Meals are served in a private dining room. Enjoy private time with hot springs and meals. In addition to the standard Kaiseki dinner, we also sell special plans such as beef steak, beef shabu-shabu, and sushi dinner. Please note that the price includes these items. There are many other reasonably priced ryokan inns in Hakone, including buffet meals at popular restaurants and rooms without hot springs. The atmosphere inside our inn is different from that of a complete Japanese-style inn. We operate with a Bali resort motif, including slightly dim lighting, decorations, and equipment. There are also waterfalls and an aquarium. Most of the employees are also foreigners. Although it may not be suitable for those looking for a pure Japanese-style inn, we are researching the service and hospitality that is worthy of being a Hakone inn. We will continue to make them. Please come back to Hakone, where there are many wonderful sightseeing spots. thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nour N wrote a review Jul 2023
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This was the worst experience in a hotel possible. They claim to be authentic traditional Japanese but everyone that works there is from India. They were rude from the moment we walked in and changed what they offered multiple times. We witnessed them take plastic wrap off of the food and serve it to us. None of it was edible. The server told us the kitchen was closed when we said my wife is pregnant and she can’t have raw fish. When I asked for a manager he said no one is there but he’ll talk to the chef and then brought out more disgusting food. He then redacted his previous statement and claimed he never said it was closed. None of it was authentic Japanese, it was more French cuisine than anything. The onsen was cold and there’s futons and chairs from ikea on the floor.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 箱根 藍瑠, オーナー at Hakone Airu
Responded Jul 13, 2023
Thank you for staying at our ryokan. We are sorry that you were not satisfied. But your review raises many questions. First of all, you didn't make any dietary requests to us when you made the reservation. We haven't heard anything from our auto message either. And even though you didn't give the information at check-in, You told the woman that she was pregnant after dinner started for us. And he told us many meals that she could not eat. We have already prepared the food and told you that we could not accommodate last-minute changes, but you still requested changes. We made as many changes as we could with limited ingredients. It's just not acceptable. This is because the chef considers the menu based on advance information and purchases the ingredients. If you prefer to eat your favorite dishes, we recommend staying at a hotel with a buffet restaurant. However, even so, it would be good manners to tell the request for the dish in advance. And most of the employees are certainly foreigners. However, they are not Indians, but staff from Southeast Asian countries. This is essential for our ryokan to operate with the Balinese concept. We think it's selfish of you to use it without understanding it. The hot spring in your room was 40.1°C on the day. We think this is perfect for this season. If you need to adjust the temperature, please request it. It is possible to adjust the hot spring temperature. Finally, you also make rude remarks to furniture manufacturers and cushion manufacturers. Furniture is procured from Asplund in Tokyo, a manufacturer that also handles overseas furniture. Zabuton cushions are products handled by a long-established bedding manufacturer in Odawara City, Kanagawa Prefecture. Think about how it would make them feel to be treated like a mass-produced IKEA product. We will consider improvement for your dissatisfaction. But this review is totally unacceptable. We also give you a 1 star rating. Thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jassese wrote a review Sep 2023
New Zealand81 contributions24 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
It was a special experience and the dinner and Asian breakfast were certainly tasty and interesting. The decor was showing its age however in the rooms, lots of peeled lacquer and paint. Communal areas looked great. Staff were very very attentive and if you are used to that then it was spot on, else you might find it a little overbearing. Japanese barman was awesome and selection at bar was great. Water pressure and bathing experience really good and loved the tatami mats which were set up while you were at dinner. Most staff were Sri Lankan or Indian with a few Japanese gentleman reflecting the Balinese theme.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid weekends on Hakone. Really busy. Only one power plug in room
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 箱根 藍瑠, オーナー at Hakone Airu
Responded Sep 17, 2023
Thank you very much for staying at our inn. The walls and floors you pointed out need to be repaired immediately. I will check it. And when it comes to food, opinions are divided. Therefore, chefs are required to pursue originality and enjoy special moments. I understand that opinions on taste vary. We will continue to strive to provide enjoyable meals to everyone. As you said, this service has been receiving very high praise recently. Our inn has many foreign staff who can speak English and Japanese. I am trying to learn about Japanese hospitality and service and offer it to foreign tourists. Your reviews will motivate them and increase their confidence. We strive to provide better, more personalized service to each customer. However, it is not suitable for those who are looking for a complete Japanese style inn. Please consider them before using them. All of our employees will do their best to ensure that everyone enjoys their meal, including the presentation of the food. Hot springs are the perfect reward for foreign tourists who are tired from traveling. That is our greatest strength. Hakone offers a variety of fun things to do in each season. There are also many attractive sightseeing spots. Please come to Hakone again. thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Dea O wrote a review Jul 2023
3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a pleasant stay. The private bath is very nice for people who don't want to use the public onsen. We loved the products for bath and hair provide by the hotel. Our water was too hot and when we requested the staff promptly cooled it down. The staff was very friendly to us and was helpful in our request making us feel very welcome in our stay.
There are some point for improvement though. The Kaiseki dinner was difficult because we din't know what was being served, in the second day there was no English menu. Some of the dishes didn't seem to be very fresh. There was also a scent of incense in the halls that was no pleasant for me since I am allergic to strong scents. I don't know if that is a balinese concept but we'd rather have no scent in a hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 箱根 藍瑠, オーナー at Hakone Airu
Responded Jul 31, 2023
Thank you for staying at Hakone Airu this time. I am very happy to hear that you had a wonderful time. There are pros and cons about meals, and we recognize that this is an ongoing issue. We will continue to consider the tableware, presentation, and method of serving so that you can enjoy your meal time. Also, since the concept of the ryokan is Balinese, the smell and decoration are also Balinese. Even before the corona disaster, we have been working on hospitality centered on foreign staff. We only use basic manuals so that each work does not become a job, and we provide guidance that respects individual judgment so that we can demonstrate sensitivity and responsiveness in the field. Therefore, there may be times when you are not satisfied with our service or have questions. In that case, I would appreciate it if you could give me specific instructions. The greatest strength of our hotel is the private open-air bath in every room. You can enjoy a panoramic view of the Hakone mountain range, and the synergistic effect of the hot springs will relax your body and mind. Please enjoy the hot springs to your heart's content. The guest rooms are about 20 square meters (11 tatami mats in Japanese style) and have a terrace and an open-air bath. The Japanese-style room has futons, so it can accommodate up to 4 pairs. Please note that all rooms have the same structure and are basically for 2 to 3 people. Many original amenities are also available. In addition to shampoo, treatment, and body soap, scrubs and milky lotions are also available. Please note that the price includes these items. We will continue to strengthen our differentiation from other companies as a hot spring inn in Bali and strive to provide hospitality. Thank you very much for this time. We are looking forward to seeing you again.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Noodle Arms wrote a review Mar 2023
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom472 contributions311 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a really luxurious and lovely place to stay. We spent one night here to recharge after a busy 4 days in Tokyo and the room and private onsen took our breath away with how beautiful it was. The service was good with luggage storage before and after check out and a welcome drink and the views from the balcony were amazing. The rooms have futons rather than beds but they were very comfortable.

The only issue we had was with the food. The multiple course dinner which is provided was too adventurous for our western pallet (sea snails was a ‘highlight’) which we couldn’t each much of. You also don’t get any drinks included with this and have to pay for expensive drinks on top. The breakfast was also average.

We really enjoyed our stay but if possible would chose not to eat here if we stayed again!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 箱根 藍瑠, オーナー at Hakone Airu
Responded Mar 13, 2023
Thank you for staying at our ryokan. We are happy that you are satisfied. All rooms have private open-air baths with mountain views. They are very healing and worth experiencing. We also offer natural hot spring water, so you can relax both physically and mentally. For meals, a Japanese kaiseki meal is served. Kaiseki is a traditional Japanese meal served as a hospitality dish at a sake table. I understand that foreigners don't like it because it uses a lot of seafood. But it's also one that our Japanese chefs want customer to experience. Since we basically sell a plan with half board, there is no refund for canceling a meal. note that. We also sell plans without dinner on our official website. It comes with beverage service in the fridge and a coupon to use at the bar. Please consider if you don't need dinner. Most of the service staff are foreigners. They can speak English and will help you to have a comfortable stay. Hakone has many sightseeing spots. And there are different pleasures depending on the season. Please come to Hakone again. thank you very much.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
patnyee wrote a review May 2024
Singapore, Singapore16 contributions15 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
As indicated on its website, the ryokan has a Balinese theme (use of stone, and statues and ornaments from the Indonesian island) which seem at odds with the typically Japanese-style tatami rooms. The clientele looks to be all foreigners as well, as I did not meet any Japanese locals during my 3-night stay.
Room balcony, however, do have stunning views of the Hakone mountains, making its private onsen a place to indeed relax.
Room amenities were rather lacking however… just one cup for ocha, one mug for coffee, one tumbler, though room caters for 2 persons. Nowadays it does not take much to have a simple Nespresso machine in each room, but the coffee is instant (which is fine by me) but there was surprisingly no stirrer, no sugar, no creamer.
Usually the highlight in a ryokan is dinner in the evening, but meal quality was ordinary at best. The sashimi texture seemed off (frozen fish?). The service staff were mainly foreigners, and spoke adequate English. But they couldn’t recommend a medium to dry sake to accompany the meal; I had to choose my own. The dinner courses came out too fast; the next dish out before I’m done with the current one… or the dish not cleared before the next one is presented. I had to tell them to slow down. Although a menu is provided for that evening’s meal, there was no explanations about the dish, its ingredients or where the produce were from, which, typically, should be the highlight of a kappo/kaiseki meal.
Location of ryokan was good… made visiting the old Tokaido trail and the Ashinoko attractions easy, and just 5 minutes by car to the main station… not to mention a nice burger joint (Box Burger) a stroll away.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 箱根 藍瑠, オーナー at Hakone Airu
Responded May 8, 2024
Thank you very much for staying at Hakone Airu this time. We offer relaxation in a place away from the crowds of city. Our inn is located on a hill about 15 minutes walk from Hakone Yumoto Station . I think it would be difficult for foreign tourists with a lot of luggage to come walking. We recommend arriving by bus or taxi in advance. However, as you said, there are very few taxis now. This is a problem common to all tourist destinations in Japan. In that case, it would be a good idea to send your luggage from Hakone Yumoto Station to the hotel and walk there. And the view from the top of the hill is exceptional. It will soothe the fatigue of your journey. For dinner, we offer Japanese Kaiseki. Japanese kaiseki is a traditional dish that uses plenty of seafood. I understand that it is not acceptable to foreign tourists. However, what you should definitely try is the kaiseki cuisine. We also sell plans such as beef shabu kaiseki and sushi restaurant seating. The concept of our inn is Balinese style. Most of our employees are foreigners, and we also focus on hospitality. Our hotel's greatest strength is the private open-air bath in every room. You can enjoy a panoramic view of the Hakone Mountain Range, and the synergistic effect of the hot springs will help you relax your body and mind. Enjoy the hot springs to your heart's content. The guest rooms are approximately 20 square meters (11 tatami Japanese-style rooms), and are equipped with a terrace and an open-air bath. Japanese-style rooms come with futon bedding. Please note that all rooms have the same structure and are basically for 2 to 3 people. We also have many original amenities available. In addition to shampoo, treatments, and body soap, we also offer scrubs and emulsion. Please note that these are included in the price. We will continue to strengthen our differentiation from other companies as a hot spring inn in Bali and strive to provide hospitality. We don't think there is any need to compare the services we provide with other companies. Because that's your personal opinion. We have our own way of operating. If there is something you are not satisfied with, please tell me directly at that time. We will do our best to find a solution.Thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Answer from airu h
Hakone-machi, Japan
There is no bedroom. Therefore, we will prepare a Japanese-style futon in the Japanese-style room. It is not possible to provide a separate bedding room. The room size is approximately 20 m2, so it is very small for 4 people. Thank you for your understanding.
Answer from airu h
Hakone-machi, Japan
We do not provide laundry service. There is no coin laundry at Hakone Yumoto Station.
Answer from airu h
Hakone-machi, Japan
Private hot springs can take up to 2 people. If you take a bath with a large number of people, please use the large public bath on the first floor.
Answer from LLKKcufuvobp
Adelaide, Australia134 contributions32 helpful votes
I am not sure if children are 100% adults prices - I used wotif to book and paid about $1800AUD for 2 adults/ 11year old and 9 year old. My 9 year old had a kids meal (Japanese style - she loved it) and my 11 year old had the same steak dinner the adults had. They set up the tatami mats for the 4 of us. We all had the Japanese breakfast the next day but the kids may have been better off with the Western breakfast although there was enough food they could eat to fill them up.
Answer from airu h
Hakone-machi, Japan
You must arrive before 8pm at the latest. Dinner will be canceled after 8pm. There is no refund. Please contact us when you leave Narita Airport.
Shalli Ang wrote a tip Apr 2024
Singapore, Singapore764 contributions142 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All room comes w private onsen in the balcony. The bathroom is located next to the onsen and it had no privacy (glass wall)."
Read full review
Keith C wrote a tip Mar 2024
McKinney, Texas124 contributions48 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"All the seating in the room is floor level, but the seating in public areas is more elevated."
Read full review
Diego L wrote a tip Feb 2024
5 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid eating there. Rude manager"
Read full review
Pudkrong P wrote a tip Feb 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"go somewhere eles"
Read full review
Alanglen wrote a tip Jan 2024
Yokosuka, Japan28 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking is available!"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hakone-machi area.
PRICE RANGE
C$570 - C$727 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
JapanKantoKanagawa PrefectureAshigarashimo-gunHakone-machi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
15
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

Hakone Airu - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Hakone Airu
Which popular attractions are close to Hakone Airu?
Nearby attractions include Sounji Temple (0.2 km), Gallery Fuchiso (0.4 km), and Asahi Bridge (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Hakone Airu?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Hakone Airu?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at Hakone Airu?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Hakone Airu?
Yes, free parking and secured parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Hakone Airu?
Conveniently located restaurants include 808 Monsmare, Chimoto Ekimaedori, and Hatsuhana Soba Honten.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Hakone Airu?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Japanese, and Nepali.
Are there any historical sites close to Hakone Airu?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Hakone Shrine / Kuzuryu Shrine Singu (7.4 km), Odawara Castle (5.3 km), and Hakone Sekisho and Hakone Sekisho Museum (7.9 km).
Does Hakone Airu have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the mountain view available here.
All Hakone-machi HotelsHakone-machi Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in Hakone-machiHotels near Hakone Airu
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars