We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Sunbird Livingstonia Beach

Expedia.comUS$141*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Sunbird Livingstonia Beach
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

111 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 106: English reviews
Start your review of Sunbird Livingstonia Beach
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We are world travelers traveling with our own car. We used the camping for three days and stayed there with three other fellow world travelers. The camping area is big and has lots of shaded pitches. The camping is well maintained, the showers have hot water but the ablutions are primitive and there is no hot water for dish washing....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dewittedirk
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed at the Sunbird Livingstonia Beach many times over the past few years. For business travelers in Lilongwe, this hotel in Senga Bay is about 1.5 hours from the capital. I always hire a driver to drive me to/from Senga Bay for a lovely weekend getaway from Lilongwe. Senga Bay is one of my favorite places in Malawi. Although...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank salsez
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here just two nights but what a pleasure it was. I put up in one of the rondavels so my room was quiet and peaceful. This hotel has seen better days but the staff more than make up for the gaps. The room had all I needed (including lovely stencils of local birds on the walls), staff at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lily W
Harare, Zimbabwe
Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms were fairly ok but I think that the place is overly priced as much as its a beach hotel. The conference facilities were fine also their food was quite nice even the beach views are quite something, one to die for kkkk However the wifi is a little bit of a problem in the rooms the service wasnt...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Thembie2016
Maryland
Reviewed 15 March 2017

This hotel is alright for the price. There are a few things that could be better maintained, but if you wanted a five-star hotel you should have stayed in America. The beach is private, so its usually not crowded. For the more open-minded or thrifty traveler interested in mingling with the locals, I highly recommend Mufrasa Backpacker Lodge.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kelly N
Miami, Florida
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Only visited for lunch and Lake Malawi activities (5000 per person for boat ride, minimum of 3 or you could pay 15000 and do the ride alone). I found the front desk (for activities) and restaurant staff to be helpful and friendly. On a Sunday I had a patio lunch buffet for 10000 MWK which was pretty decent. However, one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DMBTraveler
Management response:

Thank you very much for your comments on your day visit to Sunbird Livingstonia Beach. We are happy that you found the campsite and the beach area to be nice and that hotel staff are great. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and I have shared with them. Be assured, we will continue fumigating the surroundings to get lid of...

Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

I went to this place with a friend and her four kids. It was an Okay place. We drove about 1h30mins from Lilongwe. The road heading there was pretty narrow but not too congested. Watch out for the goats, chicken, cows on the road. The beach itself was nice and clean. There were speedboats for hire. The food was okay....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NuranIdr
Management response:

Thank you very much for your comments on Sunbird Livingstonia Beach and we are happy that you found it to be a descent place and the food was good. Indeed the road to the beach is narrow and one has to be on the watch for animals on the road. We hope it was part of the experience! Thank you,...

Lilongwe, Malawi
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

My wife, son and I have spend time at the location before for day use of the beach and pool and also camping and I'd say for that it is good value for money. The rooms on the other had are not. My parents were visiting and we decided to show them the lake in comfort, boy were we wrong....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gregounours
Sunbird-Malawi, Nedson Chikuta - General Manager at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I was sorry to learn of your concerns with your recent stay and at the outset would like to offer my sincere apologies for the disappointment you have expressed regarding reservation handling, pricing, condition of rooms, air-conditioning not working due to capacity of standby generator, mosquitoes and poor service. Please be assured, I have reviewed your comments with...

Reviewed 31 December 2016

I have been to many places and from my unbiased professional view: If you do love your body, I would recommend not eating the food, so terrible; buffet full of flies, more than an hour of waiting and meat gone bad still served on the table, staff looks like they don't even have an idea what they are doing. Lack...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Owens J
Sunbird-Malawi, Nedson Chikuta - General Manager at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach, responded to this review

Dear Owens, I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the disappointment you have expressed regarding the service you received at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach on your recent visit. Be assured, I have reviewed your comments with my team with a lot of interest and appropriate action taken to ensure continuous improvements in areas you have mentioned. Sunbird has a...

Lilongwe, Malawi
Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

Sunbird Livingstonia has always been one of my favourite places but today I must say I was rather disappointed with the service and quality of the food. After ordering a meal our waiter decided to hand us over to another waiter without informing us. Not only was this new waiter "Bertha" rude but acted as if she wasn't willing to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wekha
Sunbird-Malawi, Nedson Chikuta - General Manager at Sunbird Livingstonia Beach, responded to this review

Dear Wekha, Firstly, may I apologise for the disappointment you have expressed regarding the service and quality of food on your recent visit to Sunbird Livingstonia Beach. Please be assured, the issues raised have been investigated and appropriate action taken to prevent any guests being similarly inconvenienced in the future. We train and remind all our staff to be helpful...

144 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (134)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Other (51)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Salima
0.0 km away
Blue Waters by Serendib
0.0 km away
President Walmont Hotel
President Walmont Hotel
#3 of 12 in Lilongwe
75 reviews
0.0 km away
Bridgeview Hotel & Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.7 km away
Blue Zebra Island Lodge
Blue Zebra Island Lodge
#1 of 1 in Maleri Island
87 reviews
0.0 km away
Kumbali Country Lodge
Kumbali Country Lodge
#1 of 46 in Lilongwe
120 reviews
0.0 km away
Safari Beach Lodge
Safari Beach Lodge
#3 of 25 in Salima
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Near Sunbird Livingstonia Beach

Top-rated Restaurants Nearby

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Internet
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Sunbird Livingstonia Beach

Address: Senga Bay, Salima, Malawi (Formerly Le Meridien Livingstonia Beach)
Region: Malawi > Central Region > Salima
Price Range: $189 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunbird Livingstonia Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Jovago.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunbird Livingstonia Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunbird Livingstonia Beach Hotel Salima
Sunbird Livingstonia Beach Salima
Sunbird Livingstonia Beach Malawi/Salima
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Sunbird Livingstonia Beach staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Sunbird Livingstonia Beach staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a chalet overlooking the water”
salsez, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get a room with a lake view”
, 11 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 220 is the jackpot.”
VictoriaN116, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Don't heavily rely on using you Visa/Master cards as the machines due to connectivity”
jamesoW1628HO, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the large deluxe rooms overlooking the Lake.”
LRa0, 19 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$141* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$141
Booking.com
Hotels.com
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates