We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Grand Paragon

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Grand Paragon
Hotel Grand Paragon
Panoramas (55)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

446 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Grand Paragon
See the most recent reviews
Showing 409: English reviews
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 December 2015 via mobile

Been a regular at this hotel for many years. However, this time was a disappointment. The breakfast buffet was the same for 3 days and there were not even meat curry/stir fry. The fried noodles had not much meat/seafood in it. Very basic buffet. They used to have a server to come to your table to serve you tea and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shuzhenk
Elainatann, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Grand Paragon, responded to this review

Dear Shuzhenk, Thank you so much for your support and being such loyal guest of ours. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us. Your comments with regards to the breakfast menu varieties and quality will be reviewed and shared with our F&B team. However, we wish to inform that we still have our server...

Singapore
Reviewed 10 December 2015

I requested early check-up when booking but when I reached there, they told me need to pay extra for Early Check-In. No communication from their side to me via booking.com and please, the room is already ready so why wanna charge us more? The toilet water is really dirty and the bathtub looks like it went thru patching and mending....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kennethtancw
Elainatann, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Grand Paragon, responded to this review

Dear Kennethtancw, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Grand Paragon Hotel, Johor Bahru. We are most concerned to note of your encounter and we truly regret the negative impression reflected. We appreciate your patience in addressing these issues and we assure you that your feedback will be noted for future improvement. The hotel’s enhancement plan...

Reviewed 10 December 2015 via mobile

Very bad experience. First Check in at early morning 2am, greeted by the receptions staff Myrza with no smile, book specifically for king bed and we told him we will not book the hotel if there is a choice of king or twin coz the booking we book states "King" only. He was not happy and showing us attitude after...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mike L
Elainatann, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Grand Paragon, responded to this review

Dear Mkrc97, Thank you for choosing Grand Paragon Hotel, Johor Bahru. We are most concerned to note of your encounter and we understand how this experience has affected your impression of us. Rest assured that we have followed up your feedback with the team especially in the areas that requires immediate improvement. As for your comment on the wake up...

Saint Cloud, Florida
Reviewed 10 December 2015

The hotel was alright and the staff friendly to a point. However this was rated at 5 stars so i was expecting something a little bit more and it was't there. I do travel a lot and stay in a lot of different hotels. But saying that the room was ok, clean. breakfast was ok. Good location for the mall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mkrc97
Elainatann, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Grand Paragon, responded to this review

Dear Mkrc97, Thank you for choosing Grand Paragon Hotel, Johor Bahru. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us. Thank you for your positive feedback on our hotel friendly team members, room cleanliness and good location despite of the charges imposed as this is part of the hotel policy. We hope to have your understanding...

Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Reviewed 8 December 2015 via mobile

There was a function hosted at the ballroom which I attended. No doorman visible. Surprisingly the security guy seem to the most nicest guy. Despite having tasks at hand, he never failed to smile and greet. The Reception staff were nice but only to a certain extend. Their grooming certainly is definitely not the proper hotel standard - light brown...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harvi5575
Elainatann, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Grand Paragon, responded to this review

Dear Balpreet, Thank you for your sharing your thoughts with us. We appreciate the time you have taken to share your experience with us. Rest assure that we have followed up your feedback with the team highlighting the areas that require immediate improvement particularly the service standard as to ensure that there will not be a similar reoccurrence On the...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 4 December 2015

This is our second time to stay at this hotel in JB, last time was the washroom water pipe have a problem (Water is not clean!!) This time is another issue which we really can't stand on it. The room we checking should be a clean and present as new room. However when we go inside the room, the floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shin0613
Elainatann, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Grand Paragon, responded to this review

Dear Shin0613 Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Grand Paragon Hotel, Johor Bahru. We are most concerned to note of your encounter and truly regret the negative impression reflected. Your thoughts are important to us and rest assured that we value all guests comment. Please contact us personally at elaina@grandparagonhotel.com.my in order for us to...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 25 November 2015 via mobile

Upon checkin in..since i m early which i had indicated prior to it tht i need an early check in i was asked to pay 30 ringgit... so i endup waitin... the food in the restaurant super ex... so hv to wait n gonna go out n search for better n reasonable food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zzaabb Y
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 25 November 2015

Location is near KSL mall. In front of the hotel have plenty of restaurants and variety of food to choose form. Would recommend if you are a food lover. Rooms are average but if you are looking for a good food experience i would surely recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GABRIELTAN87
Reviewed 23 November 2015

I reached Grand Paragon at 2.00pm on Nov 21, 2015 and the receptionist ask me to pay an additional RM20 if I want to check in and if not have to wait until 3pm. This is the first time I came upon such a stupid request after travelling and staying in hotels over the past 3 decades. Upon seeing other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chan K
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 21 November 2015

Was there for company's annual dinner. Had a room on level 18 with city view. you can see Singapore across the straits. Hotel location is nearby KSL mall. Was disappointed they have smoking areas in the cafe with no signage and partition to separate the area with non smoking area. Lobby and room are dated but clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank imsukis

740 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (395)
Viewed
Room/Suite (117)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (50)
Viewed
View from Room (25)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (126)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (345)
Viewed
Amenities (22)
Viewed
Deluxe Room (28)
Viewed
Executive Deluxe (27)
Viewed
Family Suite (59)
Viewed
Other (84)
Viewed
Junior Suite (38)
Viewed
Pool (11)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Standard Room (26)
Viewed
The Hotel (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
1.7 km away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
0.7 km away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
0.9 km away
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
#9 of 105 in Johor Bahru
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 105 in Johor Bahru
1,210 reviews
5.8 km away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 105 in Johor Bahru
707 reviews
2.2 km away
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
The Puteri Pacific Johor Bahru
#15 of 105 in Johor Bahru
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Hotel Grand Paragon

Address: 18 Jalan Harimau | Taman Century, Johor Bahru 80250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Price Range: $58 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Grand Paragon 4*
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Fastbooking and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Grand Paragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Johor Bahru
#11 Luxury Hotel in Johor Bahru
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Grand Paragon staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore
7 months ago
6 months ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Grand Paragon staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you need adjacent room only available on twin bedroom, not the deluxe king room.”
 of 5 bubbles , 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms are not soundproof, pray for a quiet neighbour.”
 of 5 bubbles leedina, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“I stayed in 1921, a non-smoking room. Had good views, but smelt like cigarette smoke the whole time.”
 of 5 bubbles euli, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms have been renovated. I don't think ours was.”
 of 5 bubbles JavaSue, 17 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor”
  • Room carpet
 of 5 bubbles NeoPhoton, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5