We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

592 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 572: English reviews
Start your review of Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel may seems old from outside, but it is great inside, clean, well maintained. All the staff are very friendly. As for the breakfast, there are varieties to choose from. Can order from the room service, it is provided 24 hours (ordered them at midnight during my stay). The location is nice, very near to KSL City (within walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Muhamad Fazizi A
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, We truly appreciate the chance to offer you our services, and we are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your continued patronage is a vital part of our growth and for that, we are most grateful. We are looking forward to your next visit soon. Kind regards.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great spread of breakfast. Staff are all friendly and helpful. Next to Holiday Inn plaza and mins walk to KSL city. Avoid eating at the hot pot place across the road - disgusting! Have a slice of cake at the cafe in the hotel lobby. So worth the money~

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shine L
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your positive comments. I am so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you soon in the near future. Kind regards.

Lightwater Uk
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This appears to be a tired hotel, next to a rundown mall, however the customer experience is a pleasant surprise. The staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms large and comfortable. We had to change room after electrical issues, and we were given an upgraded room overlooking the pool. Both rooms had comfortable beds, clean bathrooms and quality toiletries. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank garygeorge3
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, We are really glad to know that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel, and we would like to thank you for letting us know it with your review. Meanwhile, we will continue to improve on our services to meet guest’s expectations. We are looking forward to your next visit soon. Kind regards.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

the room was spacious, if fixed us...2 adults n 2 kids...one king bed for 4 of us was alright. e kids love e bath tub....room come w a small sofa seat... holiday inn plazas was just next to it. u can hv limited food choices there..McDonalds, KFC.... but lots of massage parlour, hair dresser... 10min walk to KSL shopping mall....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Banana L
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, We would like to thank you for sharing your stay-experience in our hotel with fellow travellers. It’s good to see that you and your family have enjoyed your time with us and we hope to have the pleasure of serving you soon in the near future. Kind regards.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed at Mutiara at the recommendation of a friend. On the way there in a cab, the exterior of the hotel looked really dated and we had some doubts. However, upon entering the lobby, we were taken away by the modern decorations, clean environment and very very cold aircon - which was welcoming given the tropics heat. The rooms were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank foongl447
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, We truly appreciate the chance to offer you our services, and we are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your continued patronage is a vital part of our growth and for that, we are most grateful. We are looking forward to your next visit soon. Kind regards.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for a short one night stay as it is closed to a Thai Massage centre, shopping centre, Holiday Plaza and eateries near by. The room is spacious and clean. The king-sized bed is comfortable too and the toilet is equipped with a hose. Breakfast menu is good and food tasty. We also had High Tea buffet here. It...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leela V
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for your recent visit to Mutiara Johor Bahru. It was truly a pleasure to serve you and we are glad that the accommodation and service were to your liking. Once again, we appreciate your patronage and we shall look forward to your next visit soon. Kind regards.

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 3d2n end of February. Overall satisfied. Location, strategically located. You can find a lot of things within walking distance. Concierge service was great. Building is a bit old, but thumbs up because it's well maintained and mixed with modern touch. Room is really comfy and spacious. Parking for hotel guest is free. Breakfast was ok. With the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BartGerro
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, We appreciate your time and effort in sharing your experience in our hotel with us and fellow travellers. It’s good to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope to see you soon. Kind regards.

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were upgraded to the executive floor facing the railway behind the hotel. It is a nice spacious room. The hotel looks a bit tired as it has been there for years. The hospitality was good but the pathway to pool area are gloomy and obsolete. Location wise, surprisingly Jalan Dato Sulaiman has become spa heaven in Johor Bahru.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaiful_Noh
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, It was a pleasure to have you with us at Mutiara Johor Bahru. Your positive comments are appreciated. Meanwhile, we will continue to improve on our services to meet guest’s expectations and we sincerely look forward to your next visit soon. Kind regards.

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Booked a 2D1N getaway because wanted to do hair treatment and buy things @ Holiday Plaza (which is just beside it, very convenient). Hotel exterior and rooms abit old-looking, but lobby looks quite new/modern (i guess they recently might have renovated/changed) Check in and out was fuss-free. Gotten room at level 5, facing the road area. The room's noise cancellation...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dodidodidoh
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, We truly appreciate the chance to offer you our services, and we are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Meanwhile, we have taken note of your comments; kindly be advised that room amenities will be accorded to room guests upon request. Your continued patronage is a vital part of our growth and for that, we...

Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Room is spacious, comfortable, hospitality is average, breakfast is good with various choices, prices are reasonable for the services. The downside is cafe's smoking area which located near the hallway to lifts which causing non-smoking guests uncomfortable. The bar and lounge is good, family-friendly, and comfortable for friends gathering.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 656ivanav
HPKhoo, General Manager at Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel, responded to this review

Dear guest, It was a pleasure to have you as a guest at Mutiara Johor Bahru. Your positive comments are appreciated; meanwhile, we will continue to improve on our services to meet guest’s expectations. We sincerely look forward to your next visit soon. Kind regards.

816 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (384)
Viewed
Room/Suite (110)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (36)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (27)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (102)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (416)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Deluxe King Room (38)
Viewed
Family Suite (85)
Viewed
Junior Club Suite (46)
Viewed
Mutiara Club Room (41)
Viewed
Mutiara Suite (53)
Viewed
Pool (17)
Viewed
Dining (62)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Johor Bahru hotels
2.6 km away
Doubletree By Hilton Hotel Johor Bahru
0.4 km away
Holiday Villa Johor Bahru City Centre
3.3 km away
Thistle Johor Bahru
Thistle Johor Bahru
#11 of 107 in Johor Bahru
1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 km away
Hotel Jen Puteri Harbour, Johor
6.1 km away
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
Renaissance Johor Bahru Hotel
#4 of 107 in Johor Bahru
727 reviews
3.4 km away
Belllo Hotel JB Central
Belllo Hotel JB Central
#8 of 107 in Johor Bahru
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel

Address: KB No. 779 Jalan Dato Sulaiman, Johor Bahru 80990, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Johor > Johor Bahru District > Johor Bahru
Price Range: $67 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 336
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mutiara Hotel Johor Bahru
Mutiara Johor Bahru
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Johor Bahru
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question
Singapore, Singapore
Penang, Malaysia
2 months ago
Singapore, Singapore

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Mutiara Johor Bahru Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“For non-smokers, request for non-smoking room.. there are special floor for non-smokers..”
 of 5 bubbles , 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“For quiet rooms ask for a pool view.”
 of 5 bubbles garygeorge3, 14 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room facing railway track!”
 of 5 bubbles foongl447, 10 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get the higher floors for a good night rest”
 of 5 bubbles farzanashariqm, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you stay on the 4th Floor facing the main road you can keep an eye on your vehicle too. However, higher floors are best for privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles jelioke, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5