We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Clove Hall

Travellers' Choice award winner
19/06/2017 20/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
Clove Hall
Clove Hall
Panoramas (10)
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

330 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 321: English reviews
Start your review of Clove Hall
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

On arrival at Clove Hall we were warmly welcomed by Jo the owner and her staff and we instantly knew that we had made an excellent choice. The character of the property is really something unique. We stayed in the Saffron Suite which was very spacious it had a four poster king size bed with mosquito netting, LCD television, air...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MABGinTime
Jakarta
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Welcoming host(s) and staff. Tranquil location, lovely garden and pool area. Lovely old restored building. Ambience of a "time gone bye". easy access into "downtown", located in a nice quiet suburb. Just simply perfect.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ecossegeo
Tangalle, Sri Lanka
Reviewed 17 April 2017

We wanted a small break and escape the busy period of Sinhala New Year in Sri Lanka. Because two years ago we enjoyed so much George Town and Clove Hall, we decided to have again holidays in Penang. When the gate opened and we saw the beautiful colonial house and the ever smiling Jo in the doorway it was like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rafharold
Australia
Reviewed 16 April 2017

Clove Hall is gorgeous and feels like a little oasis in Georgetown. The garden and pool are beautiful, although the pool filter is very noisy and a bit distracting. Bedrooms are spacious but beds are very hard and our room was far from spotless (dusty and dead mosquitoes and other insects on the bed, floor, etc). Breakfast was ok. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AS_Williams23
Jo L, Owner at Clove Hall, responded to this review

As ‘Hoteliers’ it is always disappointing to learn on TA after guests have left of an issue that could very easily and happily have been dealt with and a solution offered during their stay. As we have mentioned previously with regard to the beds -all our beds are of a high quality 'Hotel Standard' however if any guests find the...

hampshire
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Beautiful house in a location reasonably close to the main tourist area. Takes about 20 minutes to walk in to the main area. Rooms are nicely decorated and clean. However there is no fridge and no tea/coffee facilitates in the room so u have to call down for the staff to make it. The staff are really friendly but the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shrekfeet
Jo L, Owner at Clove Hall, responded to this review

Sadly It seems to be the prerogative of some guests posting reviews on TA to berate, criticise or humiliate ‘Hoteliers’ personally in the public domain. Anything I write here as the principle named subject of the review will undoubtedly and inevitably be regarded as defensive. However as the owner of Clove Hall my aim at all times is to be...

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 2 April 2017

There is no doubt that the house and garden at Clove Hall are beautiful, offering a peaceful, relaxing oasis in steamy Penang. The staff are really excellent, the pool is nice and the antique decorations in the spacious rooms and suites very appealing. However, I couldn't help but feel a bit disappointed with the stay overall. The rooms just don't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 164ulysses
Jo L, Owner at Clove Hall, responded to this review

We are pleased to read you enjoyed the house, gardens and pool and found our staff to be excellent. We aim to provide all our guests with a personal service to ensure a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. With regard to the beds -all our beds are of a high quality 'Hotel Standard' however if any guests find the...

Windsor
Reviewed 29 March 2017

This is a beautiful boutique hotel just on the outskirts of Georgetown, a mere 5 mins by taxi at a cost of about £3.00 so it's very quiet and relaxing, just what you need after a busy day sight seeing. It's like staying in an old colonial mansion house, very beautiful and personal and the staff do everything they can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JJSWindsor
Los Angeles, California
Reviewed 26 March 2017

From airport pick up to afternoon tea, Jo and her lovely staff provide a personal connection with Penang and local culture. The property is a lovingly restored mansion with large, air-conditioned rooms, and comfy beds. The best part, however, is the beautiful yard and pool where you can have breakfast, tea, or drinks after a day of sightseeing.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

With most of my reviews,i will have some gripe or other. Not here. Surpassed my expectations. From the Lovely Hosts, Jo and Jim,The Excellent staff,Beautiful House and Gardens,Pool,Breakfast,Our room. Location? Perfect! Very peacful yet a stroll to restaurants amd Coffee shops. Heart of Georgetown a few mins away by car. We'll be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Capta1n57
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2017

We could not have been more delighted with our stay at Clove Hall. The hotel is beautiful, peaceful and relaxing, with gorgeous fittings and furnishings. Bedrooms were extremely elegant, cool and comfortable and the pool was lovely. Breakfasts were ample and delicious, and served by friendly staff with permanently beaming smiles. Jim and Jo, the proprietors, were endlessly accommodating and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lizwharfe

512 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (268)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (84)
Viewed
Room/Suite (52)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (49)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (244)
Viewed
Cinnamon (47)
Viewed
Clove (45)
Viewed
Pool (14)
Viewed
Saffron (50)
Viewed
The Hotel (88)
19/06/2017 20/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
1.6 km away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 84 in George Town
800 reviews
1.3 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 84 in George Town
3,451 reviews
0.6 km away
Museum Hotel
Museum Hotel
#10 of 84 in George Town
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#3 of 84 in George Town
532 reviews
1.1 km away
Muntri Grove Hotel
Muntri Grove Hotel
#7 of 84 in George Town
271 reviews
1.1 km away
Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Privately owned,restored black and white Edwardian Anglo-Malay bungalow. On the site of a former plantation and set in half an acre of tropical garden with a swimming pool. This house offers classy colonial bed and breakfast,with just six suites.Located in a quiet residential street but well within walking distance to Georgetown. Clove Hall offers a unique experience, privacy, personalised service and modern comforts.Car and driver can be arranged for transfers. Tours can also be arranged. Many restaurants serving local food are within ten minutes walk of the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clove Hall

Address: 11 Jalan Clove Hall, George Town, Penang Island 10050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Price Range: $170 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clove Hall 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Clove Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clove Hall Hotel Georgetown
Clove Hall Penang/George Town, Malaysia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clove Hall staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Riverview, Canada

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Clove Hall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Saffron Suite has a balcony overlooking pool.”
MABGinTime, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the main hall all are lovely.”
ecossegeo, 24 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The hotel only has about 6 rooms and I am sure they are all lovely.”
JJSWindsor, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Star anise sweet is a two-level room with a downstairs lounge and upstairs bedroom; recommend.”
, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The larger suites (I believe 2 of them) accommodate a small family”
BecharaYen, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Hotels.com
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Agoda.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates