We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Palanquinn Heritage Suites

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Palanquinn Heritage Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

70 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Palanquinn Heritage Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 61: English reviews
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 4 March 2012

From my original email enquiry through to our departure both Kelvyn & Charlie couldn't have been more helpful. Kelvyn even went out of his way to book our onward transfer & accommodation. Traveling with 2 girlfriends you're never too sure how safe you will be but we felt safe at all times. We were lucky enough to be staying in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deb C
PalanquInn, General Manager at Palanquinn Heritage Suites, responded to this review

Thanks Deb for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write a review about our property on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate it. I'm glad you enjoyed the 'The Wine Shop', personally as a local it ranks high on my weekend hangout list. Please send our best regards to Kate and Sue. Cheers, Kelvyn and Charlie

Chengdu, China
Reviewed 29 January 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights and really enjoyed this cozy b&b located in the quiet historic neighborhood. The house looks like it belonged to some officer or other aristocrat type during a time when the British still controlled everything. It has been redone with all modern comforts for a relaxed stay. Charlie and Kelvyn went out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cory G
PalanquInn, General Manager at Palanquinn Heritage Suites, responded to this review

Thanks Cory for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate it. Apologies for items being thrown away by mistake. I'm glad to inform you that going forward we have informed the maid to bring back items to the front office (for confirmation) before being removed from the...

Ballarat, Australia
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We stayed in the upstairs apartment at Palanquinn for 3 nights in November( bit slow to get my review done!) and realy enjoyed our time there. Fancy highrise hotels are a dime-a-dozen but places like the Palanquinn are special, and added to the sense of history we enjoyed about staying in Georgetown. Having the upstairs was a good choice as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank grubduck
PalanquInn, General Manager at Palanquinn Heritage Suites, responded to this review

Thanks Grubduck for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review for our B&B on Trip Advisor. Palanquinn is not situated in the Heritage Core Zone but in 'Pulau Tikus' near 'Gurney Drive'. This area is popular for its food establishment hence the better choice for travelers who are looking to experience the culinary side...

Paris, France
Reviewed 14 January 2012

We booked 2 nights there in January 2012 on Asia rooms but when we got to the hotel Mr. Charlie immediately explained us that because of a system problem, our room was already given to someone... He had taken care of everything to get us a plan B at his cost, but it just wasn't what we wanted! He booked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Courla
PalanquInn, General Manager at Palanquinn Heritage Suites, responded to this review

Thanks Courla for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review through Trip Advisor. We would like to apologize to you once again for the double-booking error. There is no excuse. It is carelessness on our part. There isn't much we can do about the noise factor because we believe it to be part of...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 17 December 2011

My stay at the Palanquinn is one of the highlights of my visit to Malaysia and Penang. Charlie and Patricia, especially the first, went out of their way to help me, explain me anything, from the price of a taxi, to where to take a bus, give my change for it, advice me wisely where to go and what to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spaussiesh
PalanquInn, General Manager at Palanquinn Heritage Suites, responded to this review

Thanks Spaussiesh for choosing to stay with us and writing a review on Trip Advisor. We do provide creamers and sugar sachets in the room. We can't provide a jar of milk/fresh milk because at Palanquinn we do not like wastage. We recycle everything and milk does have an expiration date. I'm glad to inform you that we now have...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We loved our stay here as the house was so beautiful and we felt so welcome by our hosts. We also had a lot space which meant our two young boys were able to sleep in a separate lounge to us at night which gave us a modicum of peace and quiet. Also, in the morning our breakfast was brought...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boeing734
PalanquInn, General Manager at Palanquinn Heritage Suites, responded to this review

Thanks Boeing734 for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review through Trip Advisor. I too would love to install a pool in Bangkok Lane but unfortunately I think that will be quite a challenge lol. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you would reconsider staying with us should you return. Best regards...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 29 October 2011

A beautiful restored house converted into a BB. A step into the room reminded me of my great grandmother's house. A lovely sit out, coloured floor tiles and high ceiling making the room a cosy one . Very helpful owners and staff, we faced a slight problem with the power supply but this issue was addressed immediately and the supply...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RLeo
PalanquInn, General Manager at Palanquinn Heritage Suites, responded to this review

Thanks Rleo for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review through Trip Advisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Thanks and regards, Kelvyn and Jeremy

Singapore
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We decided to stay at the Palanquinn Suites based on the good reviews on Tripadvisor and also because the Muntri Mews did not bother to reply to my enquiry. Guess the only one that lost out was Muntri Mews! We were quite happy with our choice and were looking forward to a heritage stay at this 2-room only B&B. Although...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank thewhimsicaltrekker
PalanquInn, General Manager at Palanquinn Heritage Suites, responded to this review

Thanks Svitata for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review through Trip Advisor. Allow me to address your issues point by point. With regards to the noise factor, there isn't much we can do. It comes mostly from motorcycles (with big mufflers) racing down the street. This is a common problem in Penang even...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Stayed in the new rooms at Dwell by Palanquinn, a few doors down from the original. It is in a lovely old 1927 Chinese traders house. All houses in street are still owned by the same family. Over the course of our stay, we got to meet a number of family members who were very friendly, and gave us tips...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaPinball
PalanquInn, General Manager at Palanquinn Heritage Suites, responded to this review

Thanks AustraliaPinball for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a review through Trip Advisor. Yes our location is better suited for culinary experience but Georgetown is really not far away. Our local food is typically around AU$ 1 these days although given inflation it is sure to go up. I'm glad you mentioned Bee Hooi,...

Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Palanquinn is a colonial house split into two suites (upstairs & downstairs). Fully recommend booking the upstairs suite as it has an open air bathroom with a retractable part of the roof, so you can shower under the stars. Sadly it was hazy when we were there! Lovely old building, with high ceilings. Fairly sparse but homely, and plenty of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea1811027
PalanquInn, General Manager at Palanquinn Heritage Suites, responded to this review

Hi Andrea, Thanks for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to write a thorough review through Trip Advisor. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and wish to welcome you back should you visit Penang again in the near future. Thanks and regards, Kelvyn

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.0 km away
Dwell by Palanquinn
Dwell by Palanquinn
#72 of 170 in George Town
38 reviews
0.2 km away
Havara Place
Havara Place
#56 of 170 in George Town
8 reviews
0.1 km away
RG Heritage Boutique
RG Heritage Boutique
#111 of 170 in George Town
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Suphan Gurney Homestay
Suphan Gurney Homestay
#78 of 170 in George Town
11 reviews
1.5 km away
Mango Tree Place - Townhouse 1934
0.6 km away
Apple 1 Hotel Gurney
Apple 1 Hotel Gurney
#59 of 104 in George Town
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Palanquinn is a captivating boutique Bed & Breakfast, comprising two lovely and private heritage suites, located on Bangkok Lane on the island of Penang, Malaysia. Our property is among the collection of colonial pre-war townhouses dating back to the 1920s, where two beautiful rows of heritage houses line this street, immortalized in time.At Palanquinn Heritage Suites, experience for yourself the legacy of its rich heritage and the intimacy of a comfortable and personalized milieu during your sojourn in Penang. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Palanquinn Heritage Suites

Address: 20 Lorong Bangkok, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Price Range: $83 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palanquinn Heritage Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Palanquinn Heritage Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palanquinn Heritage Suites Penang/George Town, Malaysia
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Palanquinn Heritage Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed in the Loft which was really a suite.”
 of 5 bubbles yacht_vayacondios, 31 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Terrace suite does not have bathroom doors, so suitable for a couple.”
  • Outdoor Verandah
  • Terrace Suite huge bathroom
  • Terrace Suite Bed
  • Bangkok Lane
 of 5 bubbles Jadamros, 30 Jul 2013 | Read review
“I think travellers have to really set out what they want and read these reviews. It looks like the Loft would have been a better choice for us.”
 of 5 bubbles alang336, 9 May 2013 | Read review
“Don't think too much - take the Loft Suite. You'l got the whole heritage house for you accomodation!”
 of 5 bubbles ANTONs446, 18 Feb 2013 | Read review
“If you are the family or group traveller, choose Loft suite and the one downstairs. You can have whole house to yourselves.”
 of 5 bubbles Booojo, 18 Dec 2012 | Read review
5 of 5