We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Berjaya Penang Hotel

Save
Share
1-Stop Midlands Park Jalan Burmah, George Town, Penang Island 10350 Malaysia
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Official Hotel
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 12 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (309)
360
Panoramas (34)
Room & Suite (226)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 20-07-14 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 20-07-14 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#54 of 127 hotels in George Town
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Home to discerning business and leisure travellers, the Berjaya Penang Hotel is conveniently located as part of the lively ‘1-Stop Midlands Park’ business and entertainment centre. With enchanting cultures, heritage and tantalizing food all around, the Penang Island also heralds in a golden opportunity to make business a true pleasure.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Valet parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Airport transportation
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Car hire
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Convenience store
Currency exchange
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shops
ATM on site
Doorperson
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Soundproof rooms
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bidet
Bathrobes
Interconnected rooms available
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Walk-in shower
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Smoking rooms available
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
City View
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Indonesian, Malay
517Reviews4Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 99
  • 162
  • 162
  • 47
  • 47
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Hida wrote a review Jan. 2021
5 contributions
We arrived early (2.00+ pm) & waited untill 4 pm to check in (usually check in 3.00 pm) The staff didn't give clear explanation what happening untill we asking what's going on. Not very satisfied with the sevice. The hotel room is ok but the incidence already spoil our mood.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Kamachi Kalimuthu, General Manager at Berjaya Penang Hotel
Responded Jan. 6, 2021
Dear Hudayati, We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are valuable to us to continue improving our standards. We are truly sorry to hear you that the checking in process was late due to the rooms was not ready in time. For your information, we have experienced a very high occupancy with sudden picked up and it was back to back situation. Nevertheless, we have taken note on your comments and will re look how to overcome this situation in future. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. We value your patronage and hope that your future stay with us will be more positively memorable. May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Berjaya Penang Hotel as your preferred hotel in Penang. We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in future Kind Regards, Kala Kalimuthu Front Office Manager Berjaya Penang Hotel, Malaysia.
Read more
nazrul wrote a review Sep. 2020
Miri, Malaysia647 contributions94 helpful votes
Location is good. Not far from the main attractions in Penang (anyway Penang is small). Room is decent. Furnishings are old but that is ok. All are functional. Staffs are friendly. Hotel is clean. Reasonably priced too.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kamachi Kalimuthu, General Manager at Berjaya Penang Hotel
Responded Oct. 6, 2020
Dear nazrul6898, We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback . We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are valuable to us to continue improving our standards. We are delighted to learn that your recent stay with us was generally to your satisfaction. We appreciate your acknowledging our staff and we will definitely pass your comments on our staff’s friendliness, level of service and also their response to your needs to our team. We pride ourselves with seeing to our guest’s comfort and goal is to ensure we provide exceptional service to all guests. We value your patronage and hope that your future stay with us will be more positively memorable. May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Berjaya Penang Hotel as your preferred hotel in Penang. We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in future. Kind Regards, Kala Kalimuthu Front Office Manager Berjaya Penang Hotel, Penang Malaysia
Read more
JMK wrote a review Jul. 2020
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Except for unavailable elevator from parking to lobby, there isnt any issue. The room is clean and well maintained the staffs are frinedly and helpful. I would recommend this hotel either for business trip or leisure. Keep it up.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Kamachi Kalimuthu, General Manager at Berjaya Penang Hotel
Responded Aug. 4, 2020
Dear Dr JKAMK, We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are valuable to us to continue improving our standards. We appreciate your acknowledging our staff and we will definitely pass your comments on our staff’s friendliness, level of service and also their response to your needs to our team. Glad to know too that you are generally happy with your recent stay with us. We pride ourselves with seeing to our guest’s comfort and goal is to ensure we provide exceptional service to all guests. Regards to the elevator, only one entrance was allocated due to RMCO for proper monitoring. However, for emergency use, we do arrange to use service lift, whereby we have put up a proper signage with arrows from car park to service lift. We value your patronage and hope that your future stay with us will be more positively memorable. May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Berjaya Penang Hotel as your preferred hotel in Penang. We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in future Kind Regards, Kala Kalimuthu Front Office Manager Berjaya Penang Hotel, Malaysia.
Read more
Wan wrote a review Jul. 2020
1 contribution
Good room and food. Friendly staff. Room very clean. Food very delicious. Facilities are very good. Very good price. Very good location. Swimming pool are big.Suitable for family and business. Worth for vacation.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Kamachi Kalimuthu, General Manager at Berjaya Penang Hotel
Responded Aug. 4, 2020
Dear Wan Travelling, We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are valuable to us to continue improving our standards. We appreciate your acknowledging our staff and we will definitely pass your comments on our staff’s friendliness, level of service and also their response to your needs to our team. Glad to know too that you are generally happy with your recent stay here. We pride ourselves with seeing to our guest’s comfort and goal is to ensure we provide exceptional service to all guests. We value your patronage and hope that your future stay with us will be more positively memorable. May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Berjaya Penang Hotel as your preferred hotel in Penang. We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in future Kind Regards, Kala Kalimuthu Front Office Manager Berjaya Penang Hotel, Malaysia.
Read more
Eva T wrote a review Feb. 2020
East Java, Indonesia21 contributions9 helpful votes
We stayed here because of the hotel's proximity to the Penang Adventist Hospital which is just across the street. The hotel feels old and tired. They updated the carpet and some bathroom appliances but that is not helping a lot. The room was clean but the mattress of the king sized bed was really bad. Laying down I could feel the wires! The padding is worn-out. The mattress needs to be replaced. The temperature of the air-conditioning could not be adjusted. It was simply cold. The key card which is normally needed to start the electricity in room was not working. When we entered the room the air conditioning was already on and we found that we always had to switch off all the lights by hand when leaving the room - as well as the air conditioner - because the extraction of the key card did not do it. The breakfast buffet had a good variety of food. For lunch and dinner there are a lot of restaurants in the area and two shopping centers with more upscale venues nearby. A number of staff have worked here many years. Most are really friendly and helpful.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from KalaKalimuthu, Front Office Manager at Berjaya Penang Hotel
Responded Feb. 14, 2020
Dear Eva T, We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us on Tripadvisor. We do appreciate hearing from our guests as their comments are valuable to us to continue improving our standards. We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed our location and that it allowed you to conveniently reach to Penang Adventist Hospital, shopping malls and nearby restaurants. Glad to know too that you were impressed with varieties of selection of breakfast served and it is value for money. Noted on your comments that the hotel is older, it is well maintained by our staff as we have preventive maintenance works to meet our guests comfort and it is ongoing. We have also taken note of your feedback's to the bad condition of the mattress and uncontrollable air condition temperature . We assure you that necessary measures are being taken to rectify this to ensure that service standards are improved in future. Your comments have been directed to departments concern to be looked into. We value your patronage and hope that your future stay with us will be more positively memorable. May we take this opportunity to thank you for choosing Berjaya Penang Hotel as your preferred hotel in Penang. We hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in future Kind Regards, Kala Kalimuthu Front Office Manager Berjaya Penang Hotel, Malaysia.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$39 - US$56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
berjaya hotel georgetown
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Georgetown City Hotel
LOCATION
MalaysiaPenangPenang IslandGeorge Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
320
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Berjaya Penang Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Berjaya Penang Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Colonial Penang Museum (0.5 km), Church of Immaculate Conception (0.3 km), and Eva's Homemade Soft Nougat (0.1 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Berjaya Penang Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Berjaya Penang Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a bidet.
What food & drink options are available at Berjaya Penang Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Berjaya Penang Hotel?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Berjaya Penang Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Gravity, Rooftop Bar, G Kelawai, Penang, Bella Italia, and Huey&Wah.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Berjaya Penang Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and a fitness centre during their stay.
Does Berjaya Penang Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Berjaya Penang Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Are any cleaning services offered at Berjaya Penang Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Berjaya Penang Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Berjaya Penang Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Indonesian, and Malay.