We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cititel Penang

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cititel Penang
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,028 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cititel Penang
See the most recent reviews
Showing 884: English reviews
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Reviewed 12 February 2013

The rooms are simply awesome...Stayed in the deluxe room and it was cozy,clean,modern and comfartable...The hotel has went through a major renovation in the rooms...But the facilities like the swimming pool and sauna are not well maintained...the swimming pool is dirty and the sauna is smelly...The staff are all very slow in everything...First day when i checked in the staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrGajain_NR
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang. Thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay with us and I deeply regret to learn of your disappointment over the service rendered during your stay. Please accept my profound apologies for the lack of service from Front Office and Housekeeping the teams. i would like to reassure you that this...

Reviewed 12 February 2013

Lobby smells musky and full of cigarette smells even though it looks like it's non-smoking. Room is simple with 2 super single beds and a small chair and glass table at the window (it's impossible to sit there as the air con vent blows directly at you). Toilet is clean but old and toiletries are pathetic. I thought I'd never...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank xiaoxxiong
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang. Thank you for taking the time to share the review of your recent stay and it is with much regret to learn of the less-than-positive experience of your stay here. All our rooms are equipped with bathroom amenities from shower gel, shampoo to shower caps and the amenities in the rooms in the...

Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Not the best hotel in Penang but if you want to pay less than $100 per night this is a pretty good deal. Basic, clean and affordable accommodation and a great location. This hotel is right next to some really great hawker food stands and George Town's most famous bars and clubs.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang, Thank you very much for taking time to share your review online. We are pleased to note that you had an enjoyable time in our Heritage City. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon. until then, my best wishes for a great 2013 ahead. with kind regards Tony...

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 9 February 2013

After many previous visits this will, unfortunately, be the last stay at this hotel. BEWARE, there is no such thing as a no smoking floor - the air-conditioning system does a perfect job of recycling the smoke to every part of the hotel. You will be greeted in a smoke-filled reception and your room will constantly fill with smoke. You...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank aussietraveller075
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang. Thank you for writing and it is with regret to learn of the less-than-positive experience of your recent stay with us. I apologise that we do not provide a totally smoke-free environment within the hotel but would like to share that I am revisiting our hotel’s Non-Smoking Policy and am also in the...

San Jose, California
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Stayed at this hotel in Feb. I found the staff well trained and very courteous and friendly - quite efficient and helpful. I was to check in on Sat but had to be out and about the whole day - so I brought my luggage to the hotel at 7am thinking I could store it at the concierge while I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greenham01
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and thank you for the compliments on the service rendered. I was most happy to share your comments with Suhaimie and our front desk team. Our hotel has just completed the final phase of our refurbishment programme late last year - thank you...

Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 6 February 2013

I am just amazed at how certain guests rant and rave about this hotel. I am not a shareholder nor a friend of the GM. I am just a frequent traveler around the world and I have stayed at a variety of hotels, usually 4 or 5 stars. Cititel Penang is a functional hotel. For the price you pay (about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank schmoozer
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang. Thank you for your writing and I truly appreciate your impartial review of our hotel. Many thanks for your continued support and please do not hesitate to contact me at gm@cititelpenang.com if I may be of further assistance with your next stay here. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back...

KL
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I booked the superior room but it given upgrated to deluxe room from the hotel. It is a very clean and tidy room which make me comfortable with it. The hotel staff also friendly and helpful. The facilities of the hotel also good and the location is good it also nearby the hot spot in penang, it convenience for someone...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hugocount
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang. Thank you for taking the time to share the review of our hotel and I am glad to note that you have had a wonderful stay with us in Penang. Your positive comments of our hotel services, facilities and location are greatly appreciated – thank you. May I wish you a wonderful start...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 4 February 2013

We reached the hotel around 1:30 pm local time, which is earlier than advertised check-in time but they allowed us to check in anyway. We booked the deluxe room through Agoda which has mentioned about having breakfast bundled but when we check-in at the hotel, they did not mention anything about the breakfast at all. Since we are pretty familiar...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kons168
TonyGoh-GM, Front Office Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang. Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Penang. I apologise for the inconvenience encountered at our car park - our car park facilities are usually sufficient for our in-house guests' usage, but locating a space to park may be a bit of a challenge when our function halls are...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2013

After one night being disappointed elsewhere in Georgetown we changed to Cititel and were very happy. Young Kelvin on reception was very helpful with booking and checking in and all staff we met seemed very good. We had a good deluxe room on the 16th floor with a decent view of both city and sea. They provided a good spread...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brynman4
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Warmest Greetings from Cititel Penang! Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay with us. I am truly appreciative of your kind words about our services and facilities and have shared them with my team here. It is always a delight to know that we have exceeded our guests' expectations during their stay with us and...

Hong Kong, China
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We stay from 1Feb to 4Feb. We have bring some green mango when we check in at the first day,and we put it in the freezer. I put on the "Make Up Room" sticker when we go out at 3Feb morning. We want to eat the green mango after we come back in the evening,but we got only one mango...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Vincent w
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang. Thank you for taking the time to share the experience of your stay with us. Please accept my profound apologies for the unpleasant experience with the service rendered during your stay. Please be rest assured that all feedback received will be reviewed for improvement and that will include re-training for the staff concerned...

986 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (556)
Viewed
View from Room (88)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (68)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (121)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Other (218)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (400)
Viewed
Amenities (52)
Viewed
Deluxe Heritage View Room (54)
Viewed
Executive Suite Seaview Room (93)
Viewed
Indoor Pool & Jacuzzi (14)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
Standard Heritage View Room (38)
Viewed
Superior Seaview Room (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
1.0 km away
Cititel Express Penang
Cititel Express Penang
#29 of 82 in George Town
225 reviews
0.4 km away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
1.3 km away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#17 of 82 in George Town
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 82 in George Town
996 reviews
1.1 km away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
1.2 km away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#22 of 82 in George Town
767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Along bustling Upper Penang Road, in the heart of George Town. Easy access to commercial and government offices, 30 minutes by car from Penang International Airport, 5 minutes drive to Penang Ferry terminal, 5-10 minutes walk to nearby tourist attractions such as street arts and UNESCO heritage trails, 15-minutes walk to Chowrasta market and Mydin Hypermarket, 20-minutes walk to Komtar/Prangin Mall/1st Avenue Mall, 20-minutes walk to Esplanade/Beach Street and the Red Garden Hawker Centre is located just opposite the hotel. 451 comfortably furnished rooms inclusive of executive rooms, broadband internet, LCD TV, long bath, bidet, electronic safe in selected categories, coffee/tea making facilities, mini fridge, satellite TV and in-house movies. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cititel Penang

Address: 66 Jalan Penang, George Town, Penang Island 10000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Price Range: $67 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cititel Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 451
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Cititel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Penang Georgetown
Cititel Penang Hotel Georgetown
Cititel Penang George Town, Malaysia
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in George Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cititel Penang staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Cititel Penang staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on floor 28, quite and non smoking room”
 of 5 bubbles sowmyaa2017, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“city view room”
 of 5 bubbles rajasekhark_13, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room on the high floor facing the sea is more relaxing”
 of 5 bubbles lmakk109, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request for sea view room”
 of 5 bubbles seaton188, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 1615 very high floor for non smokers and with good seaview”
 of 5 bubbles KiKi2148, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5