We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cititel Penang

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Cititel Penang
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,028 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Cititel Penang
See the most recent reviews
Showing 884: English reviews
Mid North Coast
Reviewed 29 August 2012

My friend and I recently stayed at this hotel and whilst it was generally good, there was certainly room for improvement. We had an ocean view recently renovated room which was excellent. The only down side was that if you had the curtains open to look at the view, the room heated up and the air con took over 24...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank alongboarder
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang and thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your recent stay with us. Thank you for your positive comments about our room but regret the down-side of the air-conditioning, for which i apologise. I have spoken to my Maintenance and Housekeeping Managers to ensure that this issue does not...

putrajaya
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Lovely sea view from 18th floor room.. free parking. The staff are very friendly and helpful and provide and awonderful service in all departments. We enjoyed the closeness to great shopping venues (commercial and local handcrafts). We will be staying here again on our next visit whenever that may be, hopefully next year. With many eating place within walking distance....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank zasani
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang! My team and I are extremely delighted to note that you and your family had a great stay with us. Thank you for your gracious comments about our team members and we are glad that we had made your stay a fulfilling one too. I do hope that you will be visiting again...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Me and my family went to this hotel in April 2012. While checking in they said that they won't charge for a spare mattress for my baby while I wanted to pay the deposit I saw that they have added 50$ more just for a mattress!!! and when I say mattress that we agreed on they sent a foam!!! It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Perthiantraveller
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I regret to learn of your experience and please accept my apologies for the disappointment and inconvenience. Please let me explain: the extra bed and sofa bed (for children below 12) are all chargeable at RM50 each whilst we provide complimentary baby...

singapore
Reviewed 24 August 2012

My husband and I enjoyed our 2 nights stay earlier this month. We booked a standard room with breakfast and were given a 7th floor - which had a lovely seaview. The check in was handled very efficiently by a young chinese lady (sounded local)who was very friendly and offered useful advice on the different shopping malls I could visit,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank julie j
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang . Thank you for sharing the review on your recent stay at Cititel Penang and I trust that you had a good trip home. I am elated to know that you have had a fulfilling stay with us and I have shared your kind comments with my team with much pride. Thank you...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Once again i was proven right when i decided to book this hotel for 2 nights during the hari raya holidays. I took the high floors i.e. 17th floor for the great view of the city skyline. The price was reasonable considering it was the peak period. I booked it online. When i got to the hotel, i found the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank smaj837
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang.. Thank you so much for writing in to share your thoughts – I am most delighted to note that you have had a most enjoyable stay here and my sincere appreciation for your kind and gracious comments about our hotel team members and the service rendered. I have taken note of the parking...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 18 August 2012

For those travellers that are expecting this hotel to be similar to Cititel KL, your are in for a surprise. This hotel is a few notch below its KL hotel cousin. The check-in proccess was smooth. Mine was handled by a Japanese staff which was very polite and helpful. This hotel caters a lot for Japanese traveller that came to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank sharemw
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang. Thank you for taking the time to share the review of your recent stay and I appreciate your comments on the areas for improvement. Our hotel is presently embarking on a refurbishment programme and you may perhaps wish to try our Superior or Deluxe rooms on your future visits, which have been newly...

Kuching, Malaysia
Reviewed 16 August 2012

It was my solo trip to Penang and it wasn’t my first time there. Had a 3 nights stay at Cititel Penang on 02 August 2012, Room 0616 – a standard room. I was greated by Mr. Fonas (I think it’s his name, printed in the Payment Receipt) during my arrival. It was a typical check-in experience. I think Mr....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lexxiusna
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Ms Tan Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your recent stay with us and I hope that you had a good trip home. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconveniences and the disappointment encountered during your stay with us - I appreciate your taking the time to list...

Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Staying in the Cititel Penang from 14th - 19th August on a company trip. 1st impression of hotel was very good. Service was great with lots of friendly staff who are most accomodating. Started off great but little details that I experienced during my stay started to tilt the scales in a less favorable manner: 1) On the 1st night,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank firedove84
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Donavan Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang. Thank you for taking the time to write and I truly appreciate your kind comments about our team members. I truly apologise for our lack of attention to the details in your room; I have reminded my Housekeeping team on this with an assurance that this does not recur. I have also spoken...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 12 August 2012

PLUS POINTS: > Service - Receptionists and cleaners were quite friendly, and were more than willing to provide personal recommendations on good places to eat at > Free WIFI is provided, but it is limited to one device per room booked. > Bathtub provided > Cheap > Minor points - its a tall building so you will never be lost...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cowfart
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang. I appreciate the kind feedback on your recent stay and thank you for your gracious comments about our front desk staff and the plus points you mentioned. I deeply regret the waiting time on the repair for the air-condition; our Maintenance Team is aware of this shortfall and will ensure that this does...

Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 11 August 2012

On checking in to the hotel in the evening, I was given a double bed ... I do not need double bed!! The room was booked a month earlier ... anyway, the room is quite clean and comfortable. Bathroom is clean, but the cotton bud packet was already opened!!! Iron and ironing board is quickly sent to the room, and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mimug
TonyGoh-GM, General Manager at Cititel Penang, responded to this review

Dear Guest Selamat Sejahtera from Cititel Penang. Thank you for taking the time to write – and for your kind comments on our restaurant service staff. Please accept my apologies for our lack of attention to the details in your room; I have reminded my Housekeeping team on this and to ensure that this does not recur. I have also...

986 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (556)
Viewed
View from Room (88)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (68)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (121)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Other (218)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (400)
Viewed
Amenities (52)
Viewed
Deluxe Heritage View Room (54)
Viewed
Executive Suite Seaview Room (93)
Viewed
Indoor Pool & Jacuzzi (14)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
Standard Heritage View Room (38)
Viewed
Superior Seaview Room (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these George Town hotels
0.4 km away
Bayview Hotel Georgetown Penang
1.3 km away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#17 of 82 in George Town
621 reviews
1.1 km away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Hotel NEO+ Penang
Hotel NEO+ Penang
#24 of 82 in George Town
994 reviews
1.2 km away
GLOW Penang
GLOW Penang
#22 of 82 in George Town
765 reviews
1.0 km away
Cititel Express Penang
Cititel Express Penang
#29 of 82 in George Town
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Along bustling Upper Penang Road, in the heart of George Town. Easy access to commercial and government offices, 30 minutes by car from Penang International Airport, 5 minutes drive to Penang Ferry terminal, 5-10 minutes walk to nearby tourist attractions such as street arts and UNESCO heritage trails, 15-minutes walk to Chowrasta market and Mydin Hypermarket, 20-minutes walk to Komtar/Prangin Mall/1st Avenue Mall, 20-minutes walk to Esplanade/Beach Street and the Red Garden Hawker Centre is located just opposite the hotel. 451 comfortably furnished rooms inclusive of executive rooms, broadband internet, LCD TV, long bath, bidet, electronic safe in selected categories, coffee/tea making facilities, mini fridge, satellite TV and in-house movies. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Cititel Penang

Address: 66 Jalan Penang, George Town, Penang Island 10000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Price Range: $63 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cititel Penang 4*
Number of rooms: 451
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Cititel Penang reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cititel Penang Georgetown
Cititel Penang Hotel Georgetown
Cititel Penang George Town, Malaysia
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in George Town
#8 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cititel Penang staff and other travellers.
13 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (13)

Questions? Get answers from Cititel Penang staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were on floor 28, quite and non smoking room”
 of 5 bubbles sowmyaa2017, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“city view room”
 of 5 bubbles rajasekhark_13, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room on the high floor facing the sea is more relaxing”
 of 5 bubbles lmakk109, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Request for sea view room”
 of 5 bubbles seaton188, 31 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 1615 very high floor for non smokers and with good seaview”
 of 5 bubbles KiKi2148, 28 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5