We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Travellers' Choice award winner
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Panoramas (21)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Eastern & Oriental Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,806: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 31 January 2016

We took my mother for high tea for her birthday. The food and experience were fantastic. There was a good variety of both savoury and sweet treats. So much so, that none of us could finish ours off. The scones and home made jam were exactly what we were looking for. I must admit I took a liking to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David S
EasternandOriental1, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for visiting The 1885 for our English Afternoon Tea and we appreciate your time taken in sharing your positive experience on Trip Advisor. It is great to know that you had a fantastic experience and we certainly look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again, maybe even for staying at the Eastern & Oriental...

Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 31 January 2016

I have just had 5 days staying in a suite in the Heritage wing. The suite was superb...roomy, lovely view out to sea and old colonial ambience. However we were quite dismayed by the service in all areas. Despite checking in at 6 pm we were left waiting for some time till I had to ask to be shown to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Margfife
EasternandOriental1, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for choosing to stay with us and for contributing a review on Trip Advisor. Whilst we note that you enjoyed your accommodation in the Heritage Wing with a lovely view, we would like to offer our sincere apologies on the shortcomings you had experienced. Your feedback is important to us as it serves to be...

Seattle
Reviewed 30 January 2016

E&O is a classic from a by gone age returned to it's magic. You have to stay in the historic wing (as opposed to the new industrialized type of modernity favoured by biz travellers) and get a room looking to the sea. The food, the staff, the surroundings and the aura of history are all here. Penang is lovely and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Craig L
EasternandOriental1, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you indeed for staying with us in January. We are most pleased to read that you had a wonderful stay and thank you for posting a review on Trip Advisor. It will be a pleasure to have you with us again in the near future. Kind regards, The Management

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 30 January 2016 via mobile

We spent a couple of nights at the famous E&O, prior to stopping with friends, on Penang Island. We stopped in the Victory Wing, which was renovated completely just two or three years ago, so doesn't have that tired feel that some nice hotels sometimes have -it feels old charm, but fresh. The rooms are a very good size -more...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jabatan
EasternandOriental1, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience of the Eastern & Oriental Hotel on Trip Advisor. We are delighted to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your accommodation in the Victory Annexe, the hotel facilities and your dining experience. Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we look forward to your...

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 January 2016 via mobile

Arriving at the E and O Hotel for our recent 3 night stay we were disappointed not to be greeted as we alighted from our taxi by anyone to take our bags, sadly the guys in Pith Helmets who greeted us on previous occasions appear to have gone. We struggled into reception and someone did come and take our bags...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JCT1962
EasternandOriental1, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for choosing to stay with us again and for contributing a review on Trip Advisor. Whilst we note that overall you had an enjoyable stay, we would like to offer our sincere apologies on the shortcomings you had experienced. Your feedback is important to us as it serves to be part of our continuous effort...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 28 January 2016 via mobile

With a TERRIBLE band, mediocre drinks, a boring selection of alcohol and terribly cheesey Chinese New Year decor the Bar let's the rest of the hotel down completely. We had two extremely mediocre cocktails... Not worth the visit if you're going just for the bar. A real let down compared to the rest of the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sorayaputra
London
Reviewed 28 January 2016 via mobile

This hotel is away from the main hustle and bustle of Georgetown but also within easy walking distance. As such it had a lovely calm feel to it and was great to come back to after a long days exploring. The hotel decor is a beautiful colonial style with loads of nice little touches. The room we had was large...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wilftrunks
EasternandOriental1, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you indeed for staying with us for 5 nights and we greatly appreciate the time taken to share your experience on Trip Advisor. Whilst we note that you had a lovely stay, including your suite, the comfortable bed, buffet breakfast and the hotel’s ideal location, please accept our sincere apologies on some of the shortcomings you...

Lancashire, England
Reviewed 27 January 2016

I've stayed at the E&O on 5 or 6 occasions over recent years and this is my 3rd review. When I first visited it was consistenly in the top 2 TA rated in Georgetown but has steadily fallen down the rankings and is now outside the top 10. I have remained loyal to them and have tolerated the patchy service...

 Report
Helpful?
7Thank UKcritic
EasternandOriental1, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, First of all, we would like to thank you for being a loyal guest of the Eastern & Oriental Hotel and returning to stay with us once again in January. Subsequent to your feedback, we have conducted a thorough investigation and have taken action on our team that did not follow our standards. We indeed take your...

Uk
Reviewed 27 January 2016

Arrived on the island and decided to take the bus from the Airport rather than a car sent from the hotel it was great, Bus terminated in George Town twenty minutes to the hotel lovely walk. Hotel staff are great rooms spotless wonderful stay thank you

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geoff D
EasternandOriental1, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your recent stay with us. It is great to know that you had a wonderful experience and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the near future. Kind regards, The Management

Hong Kong
Reviewed 27 January 2016

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. After booking was made, I contacted the hotel directly requesting for a room closest to the lift and a plastic chair to be used in the shower for my elderly mother. The request was replied promptly and everything arranged accordingly already upon arrival. The colonial style hotel was spotlessly clean and staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank cutiedoggy13
EasternandOriental1, Group Director of Sales & Marketing at Eastern & Oriental Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you indeed for staying with us and the time taken to share your experience and observation on Trip Advisor. Whilst we are glad that there were some positive comments including your spacious suite, the breakfast and the hotel’s ideal location, we would like to offer our sincere apologies on the shortcomings you had experienced in some...

3,765 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3250)
Viewed
Room/Suite (546)
Viewed
View from Room (207)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (645)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (276)
Viewed
Dining (197)
Viewed
Bathroom (212)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
1:51
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (1159)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (492)
Viewed
Amenities (53)
Viewed
Heritage Wing Pool (18)
Viewed
Heritage Wing Premier Suite (54)
Viewed
Heritage Wing Writers Suite (51)
Viewed
Dining (100)
Viewed
The Hotel (87)
Viewed
Victory Annexe Corner Suite (71)
Viewed
Victory Annexe Pool (16)
Viewed
Victory Annexe Studio Suite (42)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.5 km away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 82 in George Town
758 reviews
3.2 km away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#11 of 82 in George Town
338 reviews
3.2 km away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#17 of 82 in George Town
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 82 in George Town
452 reviews
11.1 km away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
11.6 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
3,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Eastern & Oriental Hotel is the embodiment of both a special time and a special place. For well over a century, this remarkable hotel - known simply as 'The E&O' to generations of travellers - has stood as a testament to the grand elegance of the British colonial era. In many ways, it has also come to represent Penang itself; its story inextricably woven into the island's history, its traditions an indelible part of many a traveller's treasured memory, its name synonymous with the magical island once known as The Pearl Of the Orient. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Eastern & Oriental Hotel

Address: 10 Farquhar Street, George Town, Penang Island 10200, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Price Range: $182 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Eastern & Oriental Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Eastern & Oriental Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eastern And Oriental Hotel
Eastern Oriental Georgetown
Eastern & Oriental Hotel Penang/George Town, Malaysia
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in George Town
#2 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#2 Family Hotel in George Town
#3 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Eastern & Oriental Hotel staff and other travellers.
50 questions
Ask a question
Stafford, United Kingdom
Singapore, Singapore

See all questions (50)

Questions? Get answers from Eastern & Oriental Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our studio suite in the Victory Annexe was gorgeous with a great sea view”
 of 5 bubbles ericab, 22 Feb 2017 | Read review
“quiet on the upper floors of the Victory Annexe”
 of 5 bubbles Den-Lyn-Welshies, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Annexe Rooms well decorated and maintained with British Colonial experience.”
  • Sun rise from Hotel Room
  • Rays of Sunrise from Hotel Room
  • Dawn Break view from Hotel Room
 of 5 bubbles ViViO_F, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Get a room with a view of the water!”
 of 5 bubbles davidhN4222MP, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request a sea view”
  • View from the original wing of the E&O
 of 5 bubbles JoeCoolest, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5