We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

HelicoNia Hotel

18 Lorong Kinta, George Town, Penang Island 10400 Malaysia
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (203)
Panoramas (4)
Room & Suite (139)


#34 of 127 hotels in George Town
The hotel enjoys the wonderful location in the heart of the Georgetown, Penang .Only within minutes’ walk to Komtar,shopping centre, hawker street food, convenient store, ATM, pharmacy, massage centre and many historical site.HelicoNia Hotel got the name from Heliconia Flower, is a beautiful flower with mutli- colour bracts and varied flower structure. This unique and colourful hotel is a 5 storey building contain up to 45 rooms feature 6 type of room category from Deluxe Queen,Deluxe Twin , Deluxe Queen with Window, Deluxe Twin With Window, Studio Room with Balcony and Family Suite. HelicoNia Hotel complimented with limited private parking for hotel guest, high speed internet, 24 hours Front Office, 24 hours Security guard, and lift with key card system access to ensure the guest privacy. Come and explore the beautiful and multicultural capital of Penang Island with us.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Private balcony
Cable / satellite TV
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Private bathrooms
Complimentary toiletries
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Malay
260Reviews11Q+A43Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 53
  • 155
  • 42
  • 9
  • 1
Time of year
Traveller type
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
mozzie88 wrote a review Oct. 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia26 contributions2 helpful votes
Booked this hotel because of its location. Room is very small but clean. No fridge and no coffee making facilities in room hence need to go to the 1st floor to get hot or cold water from the water dispenser. Need to pay RM 4 for extra pillow as in the room there are only 2 pillows given. Shouldn't charge as this is the very basic that a hotel should provide.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Response from HelicoNia Team, Guest Services / Front Office at HelicoNia Hotel
Responded Nov. 4, 2020
Dear Sir / Madam, Greetings from HelicoNia Hotel, we hope you have a great day. We're glad that you booked our hotel due to location convenience and seems you are satisfied with our cleanliness. It is an honour for us to serve you. HelicoNia Hotel is running a very basic accommodation as we locate in the "sea" of FOOD HEAVEN!! Our rate is the basic & costs oriented way where included 2 pcs of pillows. So, anything that extras from that will apply charges. Hope to see you soon ;)
Read more
bernardleeym wrote a review Jul. 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia2 contributions1 helpful vote
Was only here for one night but wouldn’t mind to stay here if my trip is a longer one. A basic hotel off the Mcallister street where food and convenience galore. Stayed on the 3rd floor. While the room is small ( I travelled solo ) but it is enough for me as I only need a clean and comfortable place to lay head to rest and have a good shower. Bed and pillow are clean and comfy. Sheets and towels are clean. Water pressure is good with heater facility. Basic toiletries provided : shower gel, shampoo, toothbrush and shower cap. Security is good too where u can only access your floor with your access card. Ironing board upon request and water dispenser at the lobby. P/s : my room is without window.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
Response from HelicoNia Team, General Manager at HelicoNia Hotel
Responded Jul. 30, 2020
Hi Mr. Bernard, how are you? Thank you very much for the generous review & rating. It is awesome. Till HelicoNia meet u again, we wish you the best prosperities in everything. Please do share us with your kopi & teh buddies. From: Manager on Duty.
Read more
Leong Shuk Yee wrote a review Feb. 2020
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia2 contributions1 helpful vote
Quite clean & new hotel. Stayed in Deluxe Twin with Window room and the bed is really comfortable. Amenities are provided. Bathroom quite small but it is still okay as everything is still looking in good condition & new. Parking lot with limited space provided. There is a night market food stall nearby the hotel. Surely will stay here again for my next visit.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
1 Helpful vote
Response from HelicoNia Team, General Manager at HelicoNia Hotel
Responded Feb. 25, 2020
Hi Suky, Enjoy the stay, right? We know. Thank you very much for the review. Actually the hotel already 7 years old. We always strike to maintain the cleanliness and her up-keeping, so every guest feel.... Wowww!!! We look forward to your return. Good luck. HelicoNia Team
Read more
ChrisJohn wrote a review Nov. 2019
1 contribution
Heliconia have 24 hours reception , not like other only till 10pm or 11pm . Got car park but limited lucky for me no issue , oh also got a guard at the car park all the time , feel safe even i come back late night after drink. Water pressure is good for both Hot & Cold shower , like it . Reception Malay girl is very friendly, answer all my question . Location is good , short walking to New Lane food stall , 7-11 just down the corner , ATM , bus stand , all within walking . Room is Clean , no ants ( most worry lot of ants ) Wifi stable, speed okok All room non smoking , i get a good view room 308 , which you can see Komtar during the night with light ( if is not raining ). End up i extend 2 more nights , found out the walk in price is cheaper than online, 70/80 per night only .
Read more
Date of stay: November 2019
Room Tip: Good View 308 rooms
See more room tips
Response from HeliconiaHotel, Public Relations Manager at HelicoNia Hotel
Responded Nov. 12, 2019
Dear chrisjohn4896, Thank you for kind & details review .We are pleased that you were able to enjoy your experience at HelicoNia Hotel Penang. We looking forward to welcome you back again soon Warm regards, HelicoNia Hotel Penang
Read more
Catherine wrote a review Oct. 2019
Singapore, Singapore28 contributions9 helpful votes
Was regular customer to this hotel since 2014, the hotel facility and staff performance was degrading year after year but still acceptable until the this incident. They always mentioned their parking is limited but no improvement since 2014, I stayed in this hotel during some peak period such as chinese new year, school holiday etc but still consider lucky and no issue on carpark. This round I booked 5D4N, at the night before I check out, I was told no more car park, and worse, no solution from the staff. I walked around and found some of the car was actually loosely parked. We actually found a space and ask for permission if we can park. Staff A : this is reserved for my boss, my boss will visit midnight and park. He will scold me if people park. (Can I park at the side so he still can park when reach?) No! Cannot. It's 1230 midnight when this conversation take place. End up I have to park at another outdoor car park and pay RM 15 for car park fees on the day I check out!!!! Staff B did not response to "boss car park space " issue, he promised to pass the massage to manager in charge and give me a reply when I checkout. Staff C : staff that I meet during check out. He said he did not receive any instruction from anyone to handle this case, although he aware got two complains (my case and another guest) from their internal WhatsApp group. He listen to all my feedback and told me he will pass this feedback to his manager in charge. The manager will personally contact me, in 2 days time. Today is day 3, no response at all. According to him that one is not "boss car park" but serve as emergency exit, if anyone park there have to leave car key at reception area just in case have to move the car for emergency purpose (this sounds fair, but no one talk about this yesterday). Further to this, the boss is not local. Sounds ridiculous when Staff A tells that Boss is visiting the hotel EVERYNIGHT, and need to park there. Staff A & B never provide any alternative solution, they just tell me : car park full. Guest they won't mind lose a guest, since they are nicely located at tourism hotspot area. With this kind of price, definitely u can get another hotel with on par service or even much More better. One more to note, they are switching from provide water bottle into provide water dispensers. Good Move. But, only one dispenser available and it's on 1st floor. So u have to go to 1st floor even u are staying on 5th floor. Sound insulation was so so, the talking sound is very clear if someone is chit chatting at corridor. Worse case, your neighbour is hiperactive and screaming, then good luck. Safety box? Sorry not working. The facilities is getting worse from year to year. But this car park case and your staff attitude are the main reason, this is my last visit to your hotel, even though I starts staying this hotel whenever I back to Penang since year 2014. Conclusion: I will not recommend this hotel, and I will inform my friends about this scenario.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2019Trip type: Travelled with family
Response from HeliconiaHotel, Public Relations Manager at HelicoNia Hotel
Responded Oct. 30, 2019
Dear Catherinelck, Thank you for your review.We are very sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us. We have noted your comments in relation to the car park and the service you were provided .We belief the boss car park space they mention is actually an emergency exit ,that why although the car park is full, there still an empty space just in case anything emergency happen . As for the staff miscommunication and misleading , we will send the staff back to training to refresh them about servicing. HelicoNia Hotel do appreciate all our valued guest and we always keep improving to provide better service . Safety box issue we have send our maintenance team to rectify the issue and found out is unable to open due to weak battery ,although we have battery checking every 2 months but we will keep monitoring this issue . As for the drinking water in the room , we have install 2 unit of Coway Hot & Cold Water Dispenser located at Chill Out Area but we also take noted on your comment about the water dispenser location and are working to ensure we improve on these aspects, Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience and we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back.Please do email to manager@heliconiahotelpenang.com , we will be glad to assist you on your future reservation . Warm regards, HelicoNia Hotel Penang Management
Read more
US$21 - US$41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
MalaysiaPenangPenang IslandGeorge Town
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about HelicoNia Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to HelicoNia Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Penang House of Music (0.4 km), Hin Bus Depot (0.4 km), and Tech Dome Penang (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at HelicoNia Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at HelicoNia Hotel?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
Is parking available at HelicoNia Hotel?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to HelicoNia Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include HYGGE Dining & Bar, Tribute Retro Cafe, and Kraffmen.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at HelicoNia Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, and Malay.
Are there any historical sites close to HelicoNia Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Armenian Street (1.0 km), George Town (1.1 km), and Cheong Fatt Tze - The Blue Mansion (1.0 km).
Does HelicoNia Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is HelicoNia Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.