We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ming Garden Hotel & Residences

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

413 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 332: English reviews
Start your review of Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
 Click to rate
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Location at city centre and hotel is good not Uber friendly. Been here for their dinner buffet with alot of choices. Suitable for family, businesses or solo travelers. Hotel does not care if the taxi harrass your Uber Driver during pickup

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mcsj007
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I travelled from Brunei by road and arrived quite late in the evening. I did not book for my room so this was a gamble. Approached the front desk and I must say they were very helpful to find me suitable room with my kids. Room is very clean Location is very close to city and Imago Shopping Breakfast is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joe_Fuse
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

1/ Room was generally clean and comfortable. Fully equipped with WiFi as well as local LAN connections. 2/ Food was great, definitely you just tried their in-house dining food, were delicious and price not expensive as compared to other hotel price. Must try Ming Garden Signature Burger. 3/Staffs generally polite n would be able to greet you in mother tongue...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank XavierSimTzeKeng
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 18 February 2017

Great location, right opposite Imago mall, just need to cross the road to get to. Room is clean and cosy, toilet a little cramped but it's still great. Staff are friendly. Nice hotel to stay in at a good price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Han L
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Han L., Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I can only thank you for your feedback, to know that we were able to ensure your moments with us were memorable for all the right reasons is just truly wonderful. Your review of our offerings and services is most...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Lousy service from the front desk staffs but the restaurant staffs service was excellent and fantastic. Able to handle hundred of guesst for breakfast. I even saw the captain himself wipe the wet floor with only tissues by his own hand. The room is clean, big, strong wifi. Only the towel was not dry enough, there is a smell on...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CliffWong17
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear CliffWong17, Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences. We are happy to know that you had a great stay with us and that you were pleased with your clean & spacious room, breakfast selections, and our complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi...

Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

I travelled to Kota Kinabalu with my groups. I booked for 27rooms, stayed for 2 night and did new year's dinner at their function rooms. Mr Roslan from Ming Garden is sooo helpful and understand what we need. The reservation process done smoothly. We got special price and special treatment. Everybody in my group were happy stayed in this hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YaniKY
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear YaniKY, Warmest greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, Kota Kinabalu! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences. We would like to humbly thank you for the praise and we appreciate all positive comments that you have channelled to us regarding our modern & spacious rooms,...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 18 January 2017

A good hotel with a lot of potential but lacking in quality management and leadership. The hotel is popular with tourist from China and Korea, wiith bus loads checking in/checking out almost 2-3 times a day so you can imagine how noisy and a little bit chaotic things can be in the lobby area. Rooms are poorly maintained and cleaned...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Diving-Addiction00
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Diving-Addiction00, Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences! Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences. I was very disappointed to know that a valued guest has left our hotel describing their negative experiences, please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused in regards to the...

Ajman
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights. The first look you feel it is nice hotel, but later you find negative points. The cleanliness is questionable. The pillow cases were clean, but the pillows were dirty and stained, and the bed comforter also was stained. We requested to be changed which took time to be done. The room WiFi was good, the breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Klaithem S
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Klaithem S, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback, in regards to your recent stay at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences. From reading your review I understand we were unable to meet your expectations as a 4-star hotel in regards to the level of service and personal attendance. We are sorry to have not lived...

Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

mid range hotel, rooms are clean but dated and almost every room has cigarette smell even on non smoking floors (mainly due to Chinese tourists who don't care and simply light up inside). service is slow, while the workers are polite and nice, they take a very long time to get anything done or answered which is quite annoying. location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean L
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Sean L., Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, Kota Kinabalu! Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback of your recent stay. On behalf of the entire team I would like to apologize that your experience was not all that it could have been. We try very hard to ensure guest comfort and appreciate valuable feedback...

Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

There are lots facilities inside the room, including big refrigerator, iron, hairdryer, and most important free wifi, convenient, the bed and shower is good, foods is delicious, . I like the interior design of that hotels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Azura
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Miss_Azura, Warm greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, Kota Kinabalu! I am delighted to know how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us and sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your experience. We are delighted to read that you are overall impressed with the quality of our hotel and services. We continue...

231 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (212)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.5 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
1.7 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,979 reviews
2.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,147 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
614 reviews
1.0 km away
Promenade Hotel
Promenade Hotel
#16 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences welcomes you with warm Sabahan hospitality. Situated near the junction of several thoroughfares, our strategic location along the Coastal Highway allows fast access to Kota Kinabalu's central business, commercial and places of interest. Located within minutes from the airport, main bus terminal and jetty, this hotel is indeed the ideal choice of accommodation for business and leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ming Garden Hotel & Residences

Address: Lorong Ming | Jalan Costal, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $67 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ming Garden Hotel & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Ming Garden Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for 7th floor for direct access to the pool”
 of 5 bubbles bobot2002, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor to see the view surrounding hotel Check some website before book, different website has different promo (Traveloka, Agoda, etc)”
 of 5 bubbles 134evatan, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Premier experience highly recommended”
 of 5 bubbles 205ar, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Junior suite is a better size.”
 of 5 bubbles debwhatley, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on the 10th floor, which is the club floor and it was worth the extra few dollars.”
 of 5 bubbles Richie1010, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5