We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ming Garden Hotel & Residences

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

411 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 331: English reviews
Start your review of Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
 Click to rate
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

1/ Room was generally clean and comfortable. Fully equipped with WiFi as well as local LAN connections. 2/ Food was great, definitely you just tried their in-house dining food, were delicious and price not expensive as compared to other hotel price. Must try Ming Garden Signature Burger. 3/Staffs generally polite n would be able to greet you in mother tongue...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank XavierSimTzeKeng
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Great location, right opposite Imago mall, just need to cross the road to get to. Room is clean and cosy, toilet a little cramped but it's still great. Staff are friendly. Nice hotel to stay in at a good price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Han L
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lousy service from the front desk staffs but the restaurant staffs service was excellent and fantastic. Able to handle hundred of guesst for breakfast. I even saw the captain himself wipe the wet floor with only tissues by his own hand. The room is clean, big, strong wifi. Only the towel was not dry enough, there is a smell on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CliffWong17
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in the 2 bedroom apartment. Room was clean however it looks very tired. Stains on the carpet. Please do something with your service apartment lobby area, it's dying. There is a shopping mall opposite this hotel however it looks so near yet so far. You need to walk estimated 300metres from the lobby to the main road then...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirtzen
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

I travelled to Kota Kinabalu with my groups. I booked for 27rooms, stayed for 2 night and did new year's dinner at their function rooms. Mr Roslan from Ming Garden is sooo helpful and understand what we need. The reservation process done smoothly. We got special price and special treatment. Everybody in my group were happy stayed in this hotel....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YaniKY
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 18 January 2017

A good hotel with a lot of potential but lacking in quality management and leadership. The hotel is popular with tourist from China and Korea, wiith bus loads checking in/checking out almost 2-3 times a day so you can imagine how noisy and a little bit chaotic things can be in the lobby area. Rooms are poorly maintained and cleaned...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Diving-Addiction00
Ajman
Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed 4 nights. The first look you feel it is nice hotel, but later you find negative points. The cleanliness is questionable. The pillow cases were clean, but the pillows were dirty and stained, and the bed comforter also was stained. We requested to be changed which took time to be done. The room WiFi was good, the breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Klaithem S
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Klaithem S, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback, in regards to your recent stay at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences. From reading your review I understand we were unable to meet your expectations as a 4-star hotel in regards to the level of service and personal attendance. We are sorry to have not lived...

Reviewed 11 January 2017 via mobile

mid range hotel, rooms are clean but dated and almost every room has cigarette smell even on non smoking floors (mainly due to Chinese tourists who don't care and simply light up inside). service is slow, while the workers are polite and nice, they take a very long time to get anything done or answered which is quite annoying. location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean L
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Sean L., Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, Kota Kinabalu! Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback of your recent stay. On behalf of the entire team I would like to apologize that your experience was not all that it could have been. We try very hard to ensure guest comfort and appreciate valuable feedback...

Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

There are lots facilities inside the room, including big refrigerator, iron, hairdryer, and most important free wifi, convenient, the bed and shower is good, foods is delicious, . I like the interior design of that hotels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miss_Azura
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Miss_Azura, Warm greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, Kota Kinabalu! I am delighted to know how much you enjoyed your recent stay with us and sincerely appreciate you taking the time to post a review of your experience. We are delighted to read that you are overall impressed with the quality of our hotel and services. We continue...

Reviewed 19 December 2016

Stayed here twice in October/November. First time in a suite - spacious and fairly well appointed. Bed linen - acceptable - didn't smell the freshest, with some small holes in the linen. Breakfast - best avoided - not the highest of quality. Hotel bombarded by coach tours - large coach tours. Corridors are shabby and scuffed, can be noisy at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mcgmjp
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Mcgmjp, Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, Kota Kinabalu! First of all we would like to thank you for being a loyal patron of our hotel, it is indeed an honor to have serve you twice in a year. We, at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, Kota Kinabalu ensures that all valued guests received uninterrupted and impeccable service...

231 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (212)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (85)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.5 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
1.7 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,954 reviews
2.7 km away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#4 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,270 reviews
1.0 km away
Promenade Hotel
Promenade Hotel
#15 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
547 reviews
2.5 km away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences welcomes you with warm Sabahan hospitality. Situated near the junction of several thoroughfares, our strategic location along the Coastal Highway allows fast access to Kota Kinabalu's central business, commercial and places of interest. Located within minutes from the airport, main bus terminal and jetty, this hotel is indeed the ideal choice of accommodation for business and leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ming Garden Hotel & Residences

Address: Lorong Ming | Jalan Costal, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $68 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ming Garden Hotel & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ming Garden Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for 7th floor for direct access to the pool”
 of 5 bubbles bobot2002, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor to see the view surrounding hotel Check some website before book, different website has different promo (Traveloka, Agoda, etc)”
 of 5 bubbles 134evatan, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Premier experience highly recommended”
 of 5 bubbles 205ar, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Junior suite is a better size.”
 of 5 bubbles debwhatley, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
“We stayed on the 10th floor, which is the club floor and it was worth the extra few dollars.”
 of 5 bubbles Richie1010, 27 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5