We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Ming Garden Hotel & Residences

Hotels.comUS$50*
View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$71*
US$50*
US$59*
US$71*
US$50*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

424 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ming Garden Hotel & Residences
See the most recent reviews
Showing 341: English reviews
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Asked for a bowl send to the room. Bowl came with sharp edges I mean broken edges on one side. Called them again asking to change the bowl. They answered just use that bowl. That's the last bowl they have. I can guarantee it's a lie!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Darren T
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Darren T, Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, Kota Kinabalu! Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback of your recent stay. On behalf of the entire team I would like to apologize that your experience was not all that it could have been. We try very hard to ensure guest comfort and appreciate valuable feedback...

Reviewed 16 September 2016 via mobile

We had booked and paid full for 3 units of promenade service apartment. When we had checking to the hotel. Discovered the hotel was so filthy and nasty. So we had no choice have to move to Ming hotel without any refund from promenade service apartment. Ming hotel has good service. Hotel is nice.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michelle l
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Michelle, It was a pleasure having you with us and thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our facilities, as well as the services provided by our dedicated team members. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look forward to...

Reviewed 13 September 2016 via mobile

I decided to book this hotel due to the availability of 1 bedroom suite with kitchen to cater for our young child's early sleeping. However, the description on Expedia is inaccurate, the 1 bedroom suite layout is not a single separate bedroom unit but a wooden furniture screen between the bed and sitting area. The hotel is over 6 years...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephen o
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Stephen o, Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback, in regards to your recent stay at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences. From reading your review I understand we were unable to meet your expectations as a 4-star hotel in regards to the level of service and personal attendance. We are sorry to have not lived...

Reviewed 13 September 2016

Love the room, it is clean, spacious, if i compare to the other hotel nearby. 5 to 10 mins drive to Imago Shopping Mall. It is advisable to take a cab or Grab instead of walking to the nearby Imago Mall as the turning to the hotel area was not save to walk alone as per informed by local as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy K
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Amy K, Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residemces, KK! Thank you for taking the time to review you recent stay with us. We really appreciate your positive feedback. We are delighted to note that you found the service and facilities to your satisfaction as this is what we strive to achieve at all times. We appreciate you taking...

Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Reviewed 11 September 2016

I just stayed one night in this hotel, but I can say it has very nice rooms and the installations are good. Probably one of the best hotels you can find in KK. Everything is quite near to it. I would certainly repeat going again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carlosgs007
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear carlosgs007, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Ming Garden Hotel & Residences. We are happy to know that you had a relatively great stay with us and that you were pleased with your room, our facilities, and location of the hotel. Such praise certainly do make our day...

Reviewed 8 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 3D2N. We stayed in room 401. Room was clean and comfortable. Hotel staff was very accommodating and respectful at all time. Hotel offers free shuttle service to key points in the city. There is Nearby Shopping mall -ImaGo Breakfast was not so good.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jorje Miguel F
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Jorje Miguel F, It was a pleasure having you with us and thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our facilities, as well as the services provided by our dedicated team members. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we look...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

The hotel is well located near the Imago shopping mall and only 15 minutes from the airport. Check in was ok, although I had to wait an hour for my room to be ready, the concierge was kind enough ro offer me a complimentary fruit juice. To be fair, I tried early check in at 12noon. The room was clean...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Armand0101
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear Armand0101, Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences! We are delighted to read your review regarding your stay with us, it gives us great pleasure to know you enjoyed your stay with generally positive reviews of our services provided by our team of dedicated members. I was therefore concerned to understand that on this occasion we did not quite...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2016

My wife and I stayed in a Premier room at this hotel. As Premier guests, we checked-in on the 10th floor which was very relaxing as we were treated with welcome drinks and a stress-free check-in process. The staff at the Premier Lounge were polite and welcoming. The Premier Lounge throughout our stay stay was very relaxing and relatively quiet....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A R
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear A R, Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences! Thank you very much for your kind and quite thorough review. It is our goal to provide value for money accommodations and services without sacrificing guests’ comfort. We value our tour associate, Victoria, very much and we are extremely happy that you enjoyed her warmth and experiences in providing you...

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 30 August 2016 via mobile

Ground staffs is good. Varieties of food for breakfast... Funny is that no shuttle to Imago which is just opposite??? Down town, yes, they do provide. Location wise is pretty convenient towards town but no other food joints in vicinity... Was advised not to walk out since surrounded only by construction sites which may be a lil dangerous especially in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kwnick83
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear kwnick83, Warmest greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, Kota Kinabalu! Thank you for your time in writing a detailed feedback about your experience. We regret to know that your stay with us wasn't up to your expectations. We sincerely apologize for the mentioned inconvenience, we strive hard everyday to give our guests 100% satisfaction and we ensure that...

Woodinville, Washington
Reviewed 29 August 2016

We stayed in a two bedroom apartment for a night. Some points about our stay: 1. Room was clean. Beds were comfortable and showers were awesome. 2. Room sofa had stains. 3. Hallway smelt funny and kids held their noses while walking. 4. Breakfast was ok. As a vegetarian, I did not have much to eat. There were TOO many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RachanaMundra
MGHR_Management, Public Relations Manager at Ming Garden Hotel & Residences, responded to this review

Dear RachanaMundra, Greetings from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences! It was a pleasure welcoming you to Kota Kinabalu and we are glad to hear of your appreciation of our central location and the clean, spacious, and comfortable room that was appointed to your kind self. Your feedback will be shared and discussed during our daily operation meeting most especially your...

239 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (220)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (60)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (87)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (13)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
1.0 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
1.1 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
2,003 reviews
1.8 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#3 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 km away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
629 reviews
0.5 km away
Promenade Hotel
Promenade Hotel
#16 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
564 reviews
2.2 km away
Hotel Eden54
Hotel Eden54
#2 of 91 in Kota Kinabalu
1,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences welcomes you with warm Sabahan hospitality. Situated near the junction of several thoroughfares, our strategic location along the Coastal Highway allows fast access to Kota Kinabalu's central business, commercial and places of interest. Located within minutes from the airport, main bus terminal and jetty, this hotel is indeed the ideal choice of accommodation for business and leisure. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ming Garden Hotel & Residences

Address: Lorong Ming | Jalan Costal, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: $75 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ming Garden Hotel & Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 600
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ming Garden Hotel & Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ming Garden Hotel & Residences Kota Kinabalu, Sabah
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#10 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Ming Garden Hotel & Residences staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“As a room that face Imago Mall.”
Kennyahm, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Best Place for relax alone”
, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“ask for 7th floor for direct access to the pool”
bobot2002, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Higher floor to see the view surrounding hotel Check some website before book, different website has different promo (Traveloka, Agoda, etc)”
134evatan, 5 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Premier experience highly recommended”
205ar, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$50* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$59
TripAdvisorUS$50
Asia TravelUS$71
View all 10 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates