We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites

Booking.comUS$31*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 205: English reviews
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Reviewed 19 August 2015

We booked a standard room in advance since we were going to be in Kuching for a few days for the marathon. However, when we arrived, we realised that standard rooms face the car park and has the worse kind of window view there is! We were not able to upgrade since the hotel was full house. The hotel is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DiEntikaShardlow
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

First of all, thank you very much for your input and feedback. We are glad that you love our food especially the mutton curry. Your praises will be extended to the relevant department for the great job they had done to make your experience a pleasant one. We would also like to thank you in appreciation of your time in...

Kuala Lumpur
Reviewed 14 August 2015

We had a 2-room apartment (corner) on the 11th floor facing the Padang (field). So it has a good view with 2 sets of windows; to one side, the museum and to the other, the river, State mosque, Electra house, Petrajaya. It is also a short walk to the water front. We lile the location near cathedrals and famed schools....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emmanuel123
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

First of all, thank you very much for your input and feedback. Your praises will be extended to the relevant department for the great job they had done to make your experience a pleasant one. We have brought the water seepage, soiled carpet, and paint peeling issues to the management attention. Whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcomes...

Kuantan, Malaysia
Reviewed 13 August 2015 via mobile

When we came, there was a preparation for DS Najib coming for national day program. Therefore at night we can hear loud music and fireworks. There is shopping mall nearby called Merdeka Plaza. Lobby decoration is nice. They served drinks (guava juice I guess) - I mean you can take it on your own. Friendly staff at the receptionist. I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karipapsayur
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

First of all, we would like to thank you for staying with us. Your praises will be extended to the relevant department for the great job they had done. Secondly, we would also like to thank you in appreciation of your time in writing down your experience. The issue regarding the Internet, TV, and cutlery are brought to the management...

Reviewed 7 July 2015

It's hard to rate the Merdeka Palace. It's pretty handy for shops and the waterfront but it has definitely seen better days. The lobby is spectacular. Never seen a better one. If you don't stay here its still worth a look. Unfortunately it goes downhill a bit from there. We travelled with friends and had booked a two bed suite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm B
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property and great tips to help other travelers. Your praises will be extended to the relevant department for the great job they had done. The issues mentioned were brought to the management attention. Whilst an apology will regrettably not alter the outcomes of your experience on this occasion, we...

Reviewed 6 July 2015

I pick you hotel because I was travel around Borneo and it was very exhausting and we looked for a good, nice, and confortable hotel. For my wife and I the surprise was huge because the hotel it wasn't what we though. We booked the hotel with the early check in, because we came from a very long trip, and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Martín C
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

First of all, thank you very much for your input and feedback. We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the problems you encountered during your stay at the Hotel. We also thank you in appreciation of your time in writing down the unpleasant incident which you’ve encountered and was brought to the management attention. Your feedback was reviewed...

Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Reviewed 8 June 2015 via mobile

Location is the only plus. Room service was bad. Floor was not vacuumed and room furniture and windows not wiped off. Coffee and tea not replenished. Same with toilet bath soap and shampoo. Overall room service is poor.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SevenWonders75
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

First of all, thank you very much for your input and feedback. We would like to offer our sincerest apologies for the problems you encountered during your stay at the Hotel. We also thank you in appreciation of your time in writing down the unpleasant incident which you’ve encountered and was brought to the management attention. Whilst an apology will...

Kota Bharu, Malaysia
Reviewed 6 June 2015

the location is superb, located near the waterfront, it was walking distance to the main bazaar and also the eating place. Across the road was the merdeka plaza shopping mall, but the fun is next to the carpenter street where u can get good breakfast, lunch and even dinner. There are few pubs too at that area. However the hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank weiyengl
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property and great tips to help other travelers. We are glad that you are happy with your stay. Your praises will be extended to the relevant department for the great job they had done to make your experience a pleasant one. On the other hand, we will soon be...

Norrkoping, Sweden
Reviewed 10 May 2015

We stayed here for 2 nights, the lobby was big and luxurious. Our room was small but big enough for us, but the furnitures had seen better days. The room was a little dusty but other than that clean. The staff was friendly and breakfast was nice and had variety, sadly breakfast area was a bit too small and got...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lina a
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property and great tips to help other travelers. We are glad that you are happy with your stay. Your praises will be extended to the relevant department for the great job they had done to make your experience a pleasant one. We have also brought the dust issue to...

Ipoh, Malaysia
Reviewed 3 May 2015 via mobile

Stayed in the hotel room and also got to stay in the apartments as part of a programme. Very friendly staff especially the receptionist, pricey but it's reasonable for the service and standard they offer. It's pretty much central to everywhere, there is a mall nearby with a food court if you looking for alternative to expensive hotel food. Although...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank NanthiniBalakumaran
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property by providing us with a positive rating and great tips to help other travelers. We are glad that you are happy with your stay. Your praises will be extended to the relevant department for the great job they had done to make your experience a pleasant one. On...

A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2015 via mobile

This is a grand old hotel which has seen better days. Deluxe Room looks dated, although it was clean and amenities in working order. I was told they would be renovating or refurbishing the hotel soon. Good, because it needs it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
mphskuching, Marketing & Communications Manager at Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property. Also thank you for sharing the news regarding the renovation/refurbishment that will start soon. We are looking forward to provide our guests with better rooms in near future. Input and the feedback from all of our guests are vitally important to us and we always want guest expectations...

141 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (140)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.5 km away
Harbour View Hotel
Harbour View Hotel
#19 of 55 in Kuching
181 reviews
1.0 km away
Ariva Gateway Kuching
Ariva Gateway Kuching
#26 of 55 in Kuching
251 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Grand Continental Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
980 reviews
1.0 km away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kuching
547 reviews
2.6 km away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With an advantageous strategic location, only 15 minutes from the airport, the regal Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites gives guests privilege across to some of Kuching city's historical jewels such as the Sarawak Museum and one of Kuching's landmarks, Padang Merdeka. Nearby are the Textile Museum, Chinese History Museum and Islamic Museum. The Hotel is just a short walk to the newly-built shopping mall, Plaza Merdeka, and is a 5-minute walk to the Waterfront and Main Bazaar. Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites is home to 213 rooms inclusive of apartment suites. The Hotel offers comprehensive facilities including Wi-Fi access, health centre, gym, swimming pool and sauna, all of which ensures a pleasurable stay for guests. The Hotel has six international standard food and beverage outlets: Ristorante Beccari, the award-winning Italian restaurant; Aurora Court, the all-day dining restaurant; Victoria Arms, the English pub; Yn Cellar; La Habana Cigar Divan; and its cafe bistro, Seattle Coffee & Tea. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites

Address: Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites Jalan Tun Abang Haji Openg, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Price Range: $39 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Merdeka Palace Kuching
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kuching
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Gadong, Brunei Darussalam
Taipei, Taiwan

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Apartments great for families, try to get a refurbished one.”
B2541OBsues, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose rooms facing Plaza and avoid Parking view rooms”
deepaksaxena88, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Choose suite”
Amyyfathmie, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Try 16th floor and choose the corner suites which are larger and have a better view od the Sarawak River.”
zackJB09, 18 May 2016 | Read review
“be careful with the kitchen and smoking rooms. Odours are pretty frequent.”
DaniVarela89, 3 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$31* /night
View Deal
CancelonUS$35
Asia TravelUS$31
Hotels.comUS$31
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates