We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Ranee Boutique Suites

Travellers' Choice award winner
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
The Ranee Boutique Suites
The Ranee Boutique Suites
Panoramas (9)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

342 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Ranee Boutique Suites
See the most recent reviews
Showing 309: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked into one of the Ranee suites for the weekend. It's more of a mid-range boutique rather than a luxury hotel. The room was spacious and more or less clean with the exception of the bathroom, which had a strong and very unpleasant smell of drains. Breakfast was average. The service was good except an experience we had when...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank zuleikadobson
Braintree, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Nice rooms, all very clean and modern. service was excellent and efficient. the staff were helpful and the location was amazing. It is situated in the centre of the city right next to the river. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HWNicholls
Rugeley, England
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Hotel is quite small 24 rooms and located on the river. Check in & out was efficient. Reception very comfortable but unusual due to it being full of old cases, bicycles etc. Staff very friendly & helpful carrying cases up stairs. We stayed for one night on 2 separate occasions in 2 different rooms. The rooms are individually designed and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jackie J
Surrey
Reviewed 31 October 2016 via mobile

Nice spacious rooms and bathrooms . We had the superior suite in the second floor. Staff very friendly and helpful . Breakfast not very generous and music at breakfast a bit to loud. The decor of the small hotel is interesting and pleasant . Overall a good experience also as the position of the hotel is excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luckyonelol
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 29 October 2016

We stayed at the eclectic Raanee Botique Suites in Kuching. It is a small old house on the main road across from the river. It has been upgraded very well, with lots of interesting things. We had asked for a room with a view, were given a suite which was big, unfortunately no view and we had to climb quite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ammu610
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

Was recommended by a friend and am very happy with the recommendation. Excellent boutique hotel with spacious room and good surrounding area of shopping and eating. My morning walks along the river opposite the hotel was great too. (See photos) Will be back again soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ahleongsan
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Reviewed 10 October 2016

I stayed in Rm 101 in a Standard Suite. In a snap, the bed was very comfortable, the room was very clean and shower pressure was very good. It was extremely well located if you enjoy a walk around the heart of the city. I booked the hotel for its ambience and I was not disappointed. I really enjoyed the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank KittyReowReow
theranee, General Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guests Greetings from the Ranee! Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us although we do apologise if we had not met with your expectations in some ways. With regard to breakfast, we change our menu every day due to many requests...

Reviewed 1 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely looking room with great bathroom, shower and big double ended bath. Sadly the air conditioning made a really loud clunking set of noises on the first night that kept my wife awake. This was fixed the next day whilst we were out hashing. We returned after 4 hours running in the rain at 1930 quite cold. We were disappointed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim S
theranee, General Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this review

Dear Jim Greetings from the Ranee! We are concerned to hear that your stay with us had not met with your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the unexpected problems that you had encountered. These issues had since then been rectified. Thank you for your feedback. Warmest Wishes Mary Chan

Papendrecht, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

We came here as start of our honeymoon and were welcomed in room 208 super sized modern and very clean! The hotel it self is ideal for a Kuching experience, and their food is excellent. And a nice thing is that they are located closed to the water line and in the evening little stands will be open and it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Saval t
theranee, Front Office Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this review

Dear Saval Greetings from the Ranee! Thank you for choosing to spend a few days of your honeymoon with us. We look forward to your re-visit to Kuching in the not too distant future. Warmest Wishes Mary Chan

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We booked one of the larger suites just to be sure we had a nice place. It overlooked the water, had a private balcony, and was enormous. We would go back again and stay in any room available. It was very clean. And, the breakfast was out of this world amazing. There was a mix of Western or local options...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tricia C
theranee, General Manager at The Ranee Boutique Suites, responded to this review

Hi Tricia Greetings from the Ranee! Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad that we had lived up to your expectations in every respect. Kuching laksa is unique to Kuching and is a very popular breakfast choice amongst our locals. So do come back to Kuching soon for another taste of our laksa. Warmest...

465 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (159)
Viewed
Room/Suite (37)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (33)
Viewed
Other (52)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (266)
Viewed
Amenities (21)
Viewed
Deluxe Family Suite (46)
Viewed
Deluxe Suite (42)
Viewed
Elizabeth Suite (46)
Viewed
Executive Suite (44)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Standard Room (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (40)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
1.2 km away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
935 reviews
1.0 km away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,361 reviews
0.2 km away
The Waterfront Hotel
The Waterfront Hotel
#5 of 55 in Kuching
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Pullman Kuching
Pullman Kuching
#8 of 55 in Kuching
1,832 reviews
2.9 km away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
0.7 km away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Ranee is an exclusive 24-room boutique hotel strategically located in the heart of Kuching's picturesque Old Town (14km from Kuching International Airport). Stylishly rebuilt from two traditional 19th century shophouses and ingeniously adapted to modern standards of plush comfort, The Ranee is unique in that every spacious room/suite is different - designed to express its own individuality, charm and character. Step into The Ranee and you will be enchanted by the magic of old and new - a fusion style inspired by Sarawak's rich colonial heritage and mysterious ethnic cultures. In catering to the discerning traveller, The Ranee boasts an all-day dining/bar serving local and international cuisine, a cafe offering freshly baked delicacies, an in-house tour desk, and even a business meeting room. The Ranee is capable of hosting intimate cocktail receptions for functions up to 60pax (product launches, team building, informal business gatherings, private dinner parties, etc). At The Ranee we'll take you on a journey that celebrates the charm and romance of a bygone era. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Ranee Boutique Suites

Address: No 6 & 7 Main, Kuching 93000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Price Range: $84 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ranee Boutique Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Ranee Boutique Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ranee Boutique Suites staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
Singapore

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Ranee Boutique Suites staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ranee suites are double level with extra high ceilings but you need to pay double what you pay for the regular room”
 of 5 bubbles zuleikadobson, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms not suitable for older people as you have to climb stairs”
 of 5 bubbles Ammu610, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Splurge on the higher end suites if you can afford it!”
 of 5 bubbles KittyReowReow, 10 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Best views are at the front of the hotel. Could be slightly noisy though but traffic in the old quarter is fairly light.”
 of 5 bubbles Kriskross18, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Margaret Suite, last floor has a nice balcony overlooking the river.”
 of 5 bubbles SabrinaL75, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay