We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Harbour View Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Harbour View Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

175 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Harbour View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 148: English reviews
liège
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Hello, this hotel has comfortable rooms and bathrooms, very clean and of course an awesome view... Unfortunately they charge you incredibly high prices for wifi connections... 25AUD / day and more than 10AUD for the first hour!!! In a period where you can buy a 3G sim card for 40AUD they should revise their policy... have a nice stay in... More 

Helpful?
Thank 9213olivier
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 9213olivier, Thank you for your review! We are surprised with your comment on our wifi charges as we provide free wifi to all room guest. I believe that your review may have been written for Harbour View Hotel in Sydney. Anyway, we look forward to welcoming you to Kuching, Malaysia soon. Regards More 

Sri Aman
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Harbour View Hotel is centrally located in Kuching. It is within walking distance to Kuching Waterfront, which is along the banks of the Sarawak River. The Kuching Waterfront is a popular tourist attraction. You can stroll along or can sit down on the benches and enjoy the scenic view of the Malay kampong across the river. The river is very... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ahmad A
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ahmad A, Thank you for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed your trip to Kuching and that we were able to be of service to you. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly should you required any assistance. We look forward to welcoming you and your guest again. Regards More 

Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I have stayed at the " The Harbour View Hotel "a number of times and have always found it to be clean ,convenient and with staff who view serving the public a privilege. The first time I was there the bathroom was not " up to scratch " my complaint to the manager brought an immediate apology and a change... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ray A
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ray A, Thank you for your review! We are glad that you have stayed with us on many occasion. However, we do apologise for any setbacks you experienced. The management will look into the matter seriously. Do contact us if you need any assistance. We will be glad to be of service to you again. Regards More 

Gombak
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Was in Kuching in March 2013 for business trip. First time in Kuching and really hoping that the hotel will be nice and comfortable. The location of the hotel is really strategic, as it is situated really in the heart of Kuching. The view from the room is over looking the river and Hilton, Riverside Majestic was just in walking... More 

Helpful?
Thank Chekodok_Pisang
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. We do apologise about the creepy crawly incident. We have called our pest treatment team to look into the matter. Rest assured that we are constantly looking into upgrading of the hotel, products and services to provide better service to all our guest. We hope that this incident will not hinder you... More 

Thorne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Stayed here with an Exodus group in Feb 2013. The room was small but adequate, but ours overlooked the road and there was a lot of traffic noise, even on the 5th floor! Good choice for breakfast, good location near waterfront, eating places and the bazaar. We ate at Brookes bistro, just around the corner. The food was outstanding.

Helpful?
1 Thank holmefarmer
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We thank you for choosing us and for your review. We do apologise about the noise from the busy streets. However, we are glad that you enjoyed your trip to Kuching and the food here. Should you return to our hotel, do request for a higher floor facing the riverfront instead. We hope to welcome you again... More 

Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Reasonable price hotel in Kuching? You may opt for Harbour View Hotel which located conveniently in front of waterfront. Very accessible to other attractions in Kuching. Rooms are clean. Elevator space quite limited. Please request for river view, awesome! Overall,if you're looking for average price hotel, this is the place to be.

Helpful?
2 Thank poobritney
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review and your compliment! We are certainly happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you had a great time in Kuching. We hope to see you again soon. Do contact us if you need any assistance or enquiry. Regards More 

Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Pros - Quiet, clean room, water pressure is good, walking distance to chinatown, waterfront and eateries. Cons - With the kind of hotel rates, they should provide daily newspaper. From the exterior looks, it is definitely not a backpacker hotel but they charge for extra coffee and tea bags (a very small item) .... I rated it below average.

Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Thomas, We thank you for your review but apologise for the shortfall. Daily newspaper is available upon request during check in for the whole duration of the stay. Our staff have been reminded to inform guest on newspaper request. We only charge a very minimal amount for 2nd refill onwards during the day and we also apologise that... More 

Skivarp, Sweden
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Harbour View is a low price alternative in Kuching perfectly situated by the basars and the riverside. Rooms are clean and all you need is available except a good Wi-fi. Wi-fi is sometimes available in the lobby but sometimes not at all and always with a low speed connection. It is thus hardly usebale as business hotel. The highlight is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lars B
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review and your compliment on our service. However, we do apologise on the shortfall. Glad to inform that we are in the midst of upgrading our wifi service. We hope to have you with us again in future. Do contact us if you have any enquiries. Regards More 

Sibu, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2013

i, for one, whenever i have time to go to Kuching, be it on vacation or on official business, will go to this hotel first. Not unless it's full, or beyond my means, only then i go for another place, with a heavy heart, of course. I love HarbourView @ HV as it is known locally.

Helpful?
Thank burung898
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, We thank you for your compliment and glad to hear that we are your number 1 prefered hotel in Kuching. We look forward to welcoming you again at "HV"! Regards More 

Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

If you are working with a budget of USD 60 per night - then this is the best hotel for that value in Kuching. It is right in the middle of town near all the best bars, cafes, local coffee shops, and shopping malls and the extra bonus is it's literally a 2 minute walk from the Kuching waterfront! I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TheLydster
Geraldine L, Manager at Harbour View Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your generous compliment! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the breath taking view from your room. We strive to provide the best service to all our guest and we hope to see you again soon. Regards! More 

86 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (80)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
0.9 km away
The LimeTree Hotel
The LimeTree Hotel
#2 of 55 in Kuching
934 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Margherita Hotel
Grand Margherita Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kuching
496 reviews
0.3 km away
Abell Hotel
Abell Hotel
#11 of 55 in Kuching
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
2.5 km away
Citadines Uplands Kuching
0.5 km away
Merdeka Palace Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Harbour View Hotel

Address: Lorong Temple, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Price Range: $39 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbour View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Harbour View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour View Kuching
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Harbour View Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Harbour View Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Please ask for the newly renovated room, higher floor with River View”
  • Deluxe Family Room
  • Access Card
  • Kuching River
 of 5 bubbles Nizamya, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for newly renovated room (which i believed will be completed soon)”
 of 5 bubbles Romzister, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a Higher Floor to enjoy the view.”
 of 5 bubbles 510kylen, 30 Sep 2016 | Read review
“You may ask the counter for help. They are very helpful.”
 of 5 bubbles m0hamadu, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Check bathroom first to make sure shower and bathtub are functioning”
 of 5 bubbles ghazali2016, 19 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay