We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Skeleton Beach backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

113 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 102: English reviews
Start your review of Skeleton Beach backpackers
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

We were a group of 6, and stayed in a 7 beds dorm (the first door you pass on the way to the reception). The beds were very comfortable, and white clean sheets. The room also had its own bathroom! Since we were 6 people we also used the showers on the common area, who was also very nice. It's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sina G
Maseru, Lesotho
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in April 2017, I had such a warm welcome. The backpackers room is very clean and quiet. The place is 5min walk to the lagoon. There is a playground for kids, restaurant and braai facilities. I highly recommend it to anyone traveling to Walvis bay.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank koloben
Graaff-Reinet, South Africa
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our room was comfortable and clean. We could have space in the fridge and the kitchen facilities were available for guests to use. The atmosphere was relaxed and people of different nationalities and ages seemed to feel welcome. This is an unpretentious establishment with all kinds of accommodation to suit different needs from rooms with bathrooms to dormitories to space...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank elizabethbB3896DU
Erika V, Owner at Skeleton Beach backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us. I think you managed to sum us up in a nutshell, Budget accommodation catering for different needs. Offering a relaxed and homely atmosphere.

Berlin, Germany
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our dorm room was really nice, it even had a terrace. The community area is comfy. Friendly stuff and tasty breakfast. There is also a good laundry service for only 100N$. The hostel is very close to the ocean. Wifi was ok.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 137klara
Erika V, Owner at Skeleton Beach backpackers, responded to this review

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully you will be visiting again soon! We really appreciate the feedback.

Munich
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed there for two nights in a double room with breakfast. In generell it was a very uncomfortable atmosphere. The tv was running all day long pretty loud and the breakfast was very poor. Towells selled axful after one day of using and it in seond night we couldnt sleep because it was so loud all night long....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lindakM1897KF
Erika V, Owner at Skeleton Beach backpackers, responded to this review

Im really sorry you didnt enjoy your stay and it is definately a good idea for you not to come back because if I look at the no of return guests I do get i believe the problem lies with you and your expectations. The TV is put on and off by guests so you could have changed the volume...

Bela Bela, South Africa
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was the first time I stayed in a backpackers and didn't expect much, but this was a great first experience, the staff was friendly and helpful and the facilities was also well maintained and clean.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cvaneeden10
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Top accomodation for a budget visit of Swakopmund. The staff is.very kind and helpful and make you feel at home at the moment you enter the door. The position is excellent, 50m.from beach and 15 minutes walk from the city center through a nice promenade in the ocean side. Some services provided: breakfast (need improvement in my opinion), WiFi, common.spaces,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AndreaVolpi
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Clean and enjoyable dorms and great prices. Great atmosphere. Maybe a bit far from city center, but still in a walking distance. It was difficult for the staff to call a taxi, which should be pretty simple. Breakfast was left on a table where birds came and ate from it. Guy in reception very pushy for selling tour which he...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mai-Britt V
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 21 March 2017 via mobile

The room was ok, it was hot and unfortunately the window didn't offer much air circulation, also the staff wasn't friendly or helpful. The beds in the room were very comfortable and the room was clean. The location of the hostel is nice and you're close to shops and restaurants.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronisha B
Amsterdam
Reviewed 17 March 2017

Very nice staff, very pleasant town and worth the money. Breakfast isn't very high standing, but it is very nice and a good way to start your day nonetheless. Pipes wouldn't drain at times, but not often.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 573lucasj
Erika V, Owner at Skeleton Beach backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for your effort in reviewing us, I appreciate the constructive feedback. We enjoyed your cheery spirit around the backpacker and had a few great laughs.

22 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Swakopmund hotels
2.3 km away
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
Beach Hotel Swakopmund
#5 of 19 in Swakopmund
242 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Deutsches Haus
Hotel Deutsches Haus
#8 of 19 in Swakopmund
240 reviews
1.0 km away
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
Swakopmund Sands Hotel
#9 of 19 in Swakopmund
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
BON Hotel Swakopmund
BON Hotel Swakopmund
#10 of 19 in Swakopmund
48 reviews
0.3 km away
Sandcastle Apartments
Sandcastle Apartments
#3 of 35 in Swakopmund
149 reviews
0.0 km away
Gecko Ridge Guesthouse
Gecko Ridge Guesthouse
#5 of 35 in Swakopmund
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are well situated within a 15 minute walk along the beach to town. We have camping (garden setting), dormitories + double rooms with communal kitchen and lounge with DSTV. We offer free WIFI. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Skeleton Beach backpackers

Address: 14 Moses Garoeb | Vineta, Swakopmund 9000, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Erongo Region > Swakopmund
Price Range: $31 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Skeleton Beach backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Skeleton Beach backpackers staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Skeleton Beach backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I was camping so anywhere in the garden was a good spot.”
iamrbee, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I think all the rooms are great for the price!”
tinamilano123, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms closest to lounge are really convenient.”
rebelrouserb, 6 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If you can just camp out on the yard!”
apennings93, 25 Jan 2016 | Read review
“The rooms inside the building its nicer and the beds in the dormitory are perfect.”
b_kashan, 9 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5