We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel

14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 80: English reviews
Start your review of The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for a night, nice location in david, not the best hostel but ok for 1 night in david, cost us 23$ for a private shared bathroom, not all the staff knew english but the one who did was really helpfull. Nice option to stay in david.

Thank מעיין כ
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

If you do not go there expecting whst you wont find, its the perfect place. Its not super fancy, but the people working there are super nice and will help you with everything. Besides, they have info about every country, region around Panamà.

Thank Aureli B
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for your kind review. It was a pleasure meeting you!

Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

This hostel feels like staying in a cosy home, it's one of the lowest prices hostels in David and is well located on the she of town away from the noise but just 5 mins walk to supermarket and restaurants. The American owner is very friendly and helpful, and the private room was very comfortable with air con available for...

Thank LucyQA
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind remarks! We really appreciate them!

Rogersville, Canada
Reviewed 2 July 2016

It was cost effective. Cute Si was.... cute. The Manager was a wee bit on the "chilly side. Found her unprofessional when addressing her staff, She openly pursued a heated discussion with the one gentleman staff member. which Made us extremely uncomfortable..and because of that we will not stay there again. We paid $5 for Air Con. for after 8p.m....

Thank _secollens
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

To clarify this reviewer’s incorrect assumption: the discussion she overheard was not with a staff member, it was with a Panamanian guest who was about to escape and leave the hostel without paying his $250 bill because (we think) he gambled away all his money in a casino. Guilty as charged that things got a little “heated” at that moment,...

Old Saybrook, Connecticut
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed the week of Santa Semana back in late March for a few nights and had a wonderful time. We arrived late our first night having crossed the border from Costa Rica after my traveling companion left his passport at the border and we were greeted by Gustavo who helped us into the 6 person dorm which was hot...

Thank aebrodeur
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind words! We always appreciate it when you take the time to write about your good experiences and when you mention our employees and the great job they do. Yes, the Cangelones de Gualaca are a great place to go, right outside of the city, such an easy day trip and you'll get some spectacular pictures!

Reviewed 12 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed here in May 2016 as budget travellers in the dorm. What a great little place, the owner is extremely hospitable & makes you feel right at home. The rooms are basic but clean & the kitchen is great to cook you're own meals in. For $9 you also get a light breakfast included. I would recommend The purple...

Thank Europe556
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review and recommendation. We really appreciate it when you guys take the time to write positive reviews about our place. Happy travels! Andrea

Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewed 7 April 2016

Normally i say "you pay what you get" but not here. Compared to other places i stayed at this is overpriced and i have stayed i a good few places in central america now and Panama. They also charge 2 USD more if booked ahead on hostelworld. Pillow and mattress cover was far from clean. The place needs a new...

Thank onrouteforward
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

If the reviewer would have gone to our website directly, she would have seen the information about our special low price deal for walk-ins or direct reservations. Instead, she chose to reserve on one of the commission based online reservation services. Sure, they’re going to cost more, after all, they can’t be expected to provide their services for free. So...

Reviewed 3 March 2016 via mobile

The purple house is a cheap place to stay in David. It provides coffee, tea, oatmeal and a banana for breakfast. One funny detail: their website plugs the benefits of serving oatmeal for breakfast (with a link to prove it). Then they serve the sugary flavored  processed packets.

Thank Verolola1
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for mentioning our free breakfast. As far as we know, we are the only hostel in Panama who came up with the idea to offer oatmeal instead of toast and pancakes. It's funny because we always have non-flavored no sugar oatmeal available, but people rarely ask for it. Thanks and happy travels!

Paris, France
Reviewed 28 February 2016

Hotel is quite ok. Bedrooms are a bit small and only fan no A/C. Staff is quite friendly. For one night it's ok.I recommend it only if you need a place to stay during a short stay and you don't really care about the environnement. The terace is nice to take your breakfast.

Thank Amandine S
ComeToPanama, Manager at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi, and thank you Amandine for your kind comments. Just to clarify: we aren't a hotel, we are a backpacker hostel and all of our private rooms have the option of air-conditioning. Our dorms do not, but they are wired to go, just waiting for our guests to be willing to pay $3.00 extra for it (which they haven't since...

Lillooet, Canada
Reviewed 25 January 2016

If you enjoy dorm rooms then my review is not for you. We don't like shared dorm rooms and sadly that was all we could get. The room we had (c) was rediculously hot. I mean like the bowels of hell hot. The bunks are rickety, noisy and covered in a terrible plastic sheet, so you sweat like someone has...

Thank wayrobinson
ComeToPanama, Owner at The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Where to start? Well, first of all, we really want to thank this reviewer for honestly stating his position regarding dorm rooms. In fact, we all had a chuckle during check-in, because it was very obvious that this gentleman and his wife were not “dorm” people. But what he failed to mention is that the night they were here was...

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (5)
Bathroom (1)
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (10)
Room/Suite (3)
Bathroom (1)
Other (6)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these David hotels
0.9 km away
Hotel Ciudad de David
2.1 km away
Aranjuez Hotel & Suites
1.1 km away
Hotel Alcala
Hotel Alcala
#4 of 13 in David
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Hotel Puerta del Sol
Hotel Puerta del Sol
#7 of 13 in David
114 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel Residencial Cervantes
1.6 km away
Bambu Hostel
Bambu Hostel
#1 of 14 in David
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to the Purple House International Backpacker Hostel! We encourage you to visit us here in the wonderful city of David, Panama, a convenient jumping off point to many of the most popular tourist areas in Panama. Use David City (and The Purple House) as your home- base as you explore the regions! We have all the amenities that most travelers need and want, in a very safe convenient neighborhood of the city.The Purple House is a fun hostel and a great place to meet other travelers. It's homey, friendly staff, and it's very clean and comfortable because it is owned by experienced travelers who know what other travelers are looking for! Our theme is purple, and most guests are surprised to see just how many things we have managed to find in the color purple! We offer:Private rooms from 1-4 people with air-conditioning and TV, Dorm rooms from 6-10 people,Internet access including WIFI,Free Coffee and Tea all day.Fully equipped kitchen.Common Area with cable TV, stereo, DVD,Book Exchange (guests only!)Reference guide books, 24 Hour Check-in/Security.Unique Refreshing SPLASH PAD in our Outdoor Sun Garden,Laundry service.International phone calls,Eco-friendly and socially and community conscious atmosphere.A deep and abiding love for all things PURPLE! ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel

Address: Calle C Sur y Avenida Sexta Oeste | San Mateo, David 0426, Panama
Region: Panama > Chiriqui Province > David
Price Range: $12 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel Panama/David
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Purple House International Backpackers Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get a private room”
wayrobinson, 25 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay here if you are planning on sleeping.”
complete_chocoholic, 30 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Show up and ask.”
yup66, 23 Mar 2015 | Read review
“Try to get a private room, this is a popular hostel.”
lovecr_9, 26 Feb 2015 | Read review
“We had a room with an A/C option which we decided to use b/c of our little girls and because it was pretty hot that night.”
telemarkg, 9 Jul 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates