We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Munay Tambo Hostal

Hostelworld.comUS$43*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$60*
US$43*
Great Deal
US$60*
US$60*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Munay Tambo Hostal
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Munay Tambo Hostal
See the most recent reviews
Showing 45: English reviews
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 27 February 2016

Hotel is centrally located with some nice restaurants and cafes nearby. The main shopping street in Puno is also interesting for shopping or if you need a cambio. Anyway back to the hotel, the quality of the breakfast was very poor with very little available on the buffet and I mean selection and quantity wise. The water temperature in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NiallODonoghue
Boise, Idaho
Reviewed 8 December 2015 via mobile

I came to Munay Tambo because they were offering a buffet breakfast for 12 soles. The breakfast was underwhelming and not worth 12 soles - stale bread, fruit, and papaya juice along with absolutely terrible coffee. But worst of all is that after less than an hour of being there, the manager asked me to leave because there were a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank raw02009
surfers paradise gold coast
Reviewed 20 November 2015

Arriving here with our tour group Tucan we were welcomed with a friendly greeting and assisted to our rooms by the porters.... up the steep stairs of which there are many and with heavy bags , not great. The room was clean, comfortable and the daily breakfasts were basic yet adequate for this style of hostel/hotel

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank leomac52
Puno, Peru
Reviewed 17 November 2015

We had a good stay at the hostel. Its around the corner from the nicest street of Puno, so it's a great location. The room is basic but good, there is a hot shower(!!!) which we didn't have in many other hotels and hostels during our stay in Peru. I guess cold water showers happen everywhere in Peru every once...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Idrisch
Glasgow
Reviewed 22 September 2015

It isn't a bad place to stay. It is close to the town centre and clean and comfortable. The main complaint would be the cold water. The first night, the impression was that the cold showers were a surprise and that we should report it right away. This meant that when it was fixed, I assumed that it would be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xx1xx
bemoca, Propietario at Munay Tambo Hostal, responded to this review

We appreciate your comment , letting us see our weaknesses so we can overcome them, with the object always of provide a better service .

Caloundra, Australia
Reviewed 20 September 2015

This hotel was one of over 20 places that we stayed in during a 7-week, South American holiday. Each was booked and paid for by the tour company that we were travelling with. Therefore, I am unable to say anything about the prices of whether the hotels were good value for money. The reader will have to rely on other...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ron d
bemoca, Propietario at Munay Tambo Hostal, responded to this review

Sorry for the inconvenience caused, but unfortunately that's the kind of contract you have with your travel agent, which does not include breakfast and heater. We appreciate your criticism that allows us to improve our service.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 September 2015 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights at this hotel as part of a group tour. I had 3 showers in that time all of which were cold or tepid - each time the guy on the front desk promised to fix it each time he didn't. The rest of my group had a similar experience. Breakfast (which isn't free despite the claims...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OxfordBoy80
bemoca, Propietario at Munay Tambo Hostal, responded to this review

Sorry for the inconvenience caused, but unfortunately that's the kind of contract you have with your travel agent, which does not include breakfast and heater. We appreciate your criticism that allows us to improve our service.

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 15 August 2015 via mobile

Hotel is not heated inside, they use patio heaters in the lobby and you have to pay extra to rent an electric heater for your room!!! Don't stay there! Sure, location is good but there are plenty of other choices that do not gauge customers for heating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank discoveringmyworld
bemoca, Propietario at Munay Tambo Hostal, responded to this review

Sorry for the inconvenience caused, but unfortunately that's the kind of contract you have with your travel agent, which does not include breakfast and heater. We appreciate your criticism that allows us to improve our service.

Reviewed 11 July 2015 via mobile

I stayed there for 2 nights and would choose it again. Really friendly staff and good breakfast... everything else in walking distance! Only drawback is that they don't have a heather in the Rooms, but you can rent one for 10 soles -> do it... we were freezing the first night 😉

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pascal S
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 June 2015

The hotel was nice and clean and had good reception staff The gentleman on the reception was very helpful and spoke good English which made life easy. The rooms were of reasonable size and comfort. We stayed two night and on the first morning we had some issues with not having hot enough water. However on the second morning we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chander_62

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Other (5)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.2 km away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
0.4 km away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 67 in Puno
524 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Hotel Conde de Lemos
#16 of 67 in Puno
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Hacienda Puno
Hotel Hacienda Puno
#8 of 67 in Puno
469 reviews
0.7 km away
Cantuta Inn
Cantuta Inn
#11 of 67 in Puno
165 reviews
0.4 km away
Sol Plaza Hotel Puno
Sol Plaza Hotel Puno
#21 of 67 in Puno
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Munay Tambo Hostal

Address: Lambayeque 127, Puno, Peru
Region: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Price Range: $53 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Munay Tambo Hostal 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Munay Tambo Hostal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Munay Tambo Hostal staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“First or Second Level, No lift so lugging suitcases up stairs can be exhausting!”
80luckyc, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ensure you tell them to turn hot water on and that ye have a heater in ye're room.”
NiallODonoghue, 27 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Keep to a low floor, the steps are steep”
leomac52, 20 Nov 2015 | Read review
“Stay somewhere else”
rond686, 20 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Most rooms should be Ok as the hotel is on a side street from the main one”
Chander_62, 3 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$43* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$60
Agoda.comUS$60
PricelineUS$60
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates