We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

382 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point
See the most recent reviews
Showing 375: English reviews
Philippines
Reviewed 1 March 2016 via mobile

Thunderbird Resorts & Casinos is a very quite place w/ a great views and fresh air good for relaxation located in Poro Point, San Fernando, La Union. They have 5 types of rooms and the price range from 8,900php-30,000php per night. Come and visit Thunderbird Resorts & Casinos and experience Santorini, Greece in Philippines.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Thepoortraveler M
tbrphilippines, General Manager at Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point, responded to this review

Dear Thepoortraveler M, Thank you so much for appreciating our resort and taking time to write about it! This will definitely serve as an inspiration to all of us to continue striving to be the best we can be. Again, thank you and we hope to welcome you again here very soon! Warm regards, Marvin Lanuza Hotel General Manager

Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 23 February 2016

I was expecting something more luxurious for the price I paid when my friends and I booked a room at Thunderbird Resort-Poro Point. For a "luxury" resort, I found it disappointing. The staff were amiable with ready smiles and greetings. The front desk took a little while to check us in but it was not much of an issue as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MissKellyG
tbrphilippines, General Manager at Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point, responded to this review

Dear MissKellyG, Thank you for choosing to stay in our resort with your friends and thank you too for appreciating our rooms and our place. However, I'd like to apologize for the inconveniences that you have experienced most especially with regards to the restaurant. If it's any consolation, please know that we are revamping our a la carte menu and...

Makati, Philippines
Reviewed 20 February 2016

It took us 5-6 hours to get there. We left Makati around 6:30am and it wasn't so traffic because it was Saturday. When we got there they assisted us with our luggages and my boss went to the counter to get our keys. It was a long trip that's why we ate our lunch first before we went to our...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jocel_Joy
tbrphilippines, General Manager at Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point, responded to this review

Dear Jocel_Joy, First off, I'd like to thank you for choosing our resort to be the venue of your meeting and for staying with us. Second, I'd like to thank you as well for appreciating our resort and its services, most especially your commendation of Joel. Know that this will not only be read by Joel, but all our staff...

Reviewed 14 February 2016 via mobile

the place is good. but the price? it's too ridiculously expensive i highly wiil not recommend it. the amenities are good but you can never win in their casino... i think it's rigged to make the player lose all their money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ritchie b
tbrphilippines, General Manager at Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point, responded to this review

Dear ritchie b, Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to write about your experience. Know that reviews are very valuable to us because it does not only show us our strengths, but more importantly, our weaknesses as well. Thank you also for appreciating our place and our amenities and we'll look into our rate matrix to...

Reviewed 9 February 2016

Eleven of us including my 7 year old nephew hired a villa (house) in Thunderbird. We booked for 2 nights and arrived after 4pm on the first day. Upon arrival at the resort they provided cold drinks in a glass. One glass was given to my nephew who unfortunately dropped it as it slipped in his hands. The glass was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Imee B
tbrphilippines, General Manager at Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point, responded to this review

Dear Imee B, I'd like to thank you for staying with us and for writing a review of our property. As I always say, feedback is very important to us so that we can see our resort from the perspective of our guests. However, it is unfortunate to know and I understand that you were very unsatisfied with our services....

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 7 February 2016 via mobile

On the way from Vigan to Manila we decided to have a rest and found two bedrooms available on the internet. We decided to have a look at this well regarded Greek island/Santorini inspired 'resort' and had coffee & cakes at their restaurant. I inquired about the vacant rooms but was told there's none & haven't 'updated' their system 9I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jayashkal
tbrphilippines, General Manager at Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point, responded to this review

Dear Jayashkal, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for writing down a detailed description of your experience. Feedback such as yours are very important to us as we get to know our strengths as well as our areas for improvement. I am happy to know that you have appreciated a lot about our resort and I have...

Davao City, Philippines
Reviewed 3 February 2016 via mobile

We had a great weekend last Jan 30 in the resort. We celebrated the 3rd bday of my niece... We booked in de luxe room ocean view. The room is spacious with 2 queen size bed and couch.. we are all in all 6 adults and 3 children. The kids enjoyed the pool. The scenery is perfect. Best place for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zendy A
tbrphilippines, General Manager at Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point, responded to this review

Dear Zendy A, Thank you for choosing to stay with us and thank you for your kind words. I am more than happy to know that you and your family enjoyed your staycation in our resort. I really do hope to welcome you again soon here at Thunderbird Resorts & Casinos - Poro Point! Warm regards, Marvin Lanuza Hotel General...

Makati, Philippines
Reviewed 2 February 2016

Stayed here for a Convention.. With all leisurely activities and facilities around the area. Business meeting didn't bother me at all as we can easily go out for a quick relaxation under the sun. Good food served at their restaurant as well. And very nice treatment from all their staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JenAlbano
tbrphilippines, General Manager at Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point, responded to this review

Dear JenAlbano, Thank you for taking time to write about your experience with us and our heartfelt gratitude for appreciating of our resort. We hope to see you again soon here at Thunderbird Resorts & Casinos - Poro Point! Warm regards, Marvin Lanuza Hotel General Manager

Metro Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 17 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed overnight at Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point in La Union for a breakfast meeting and we were not disappointed. The barbecue dinner buffet was priced just right with a good selection of grilled fish, pork belly and liempo, beef and hungarian sausage, and numerous side dishes and deserts. The Filipino buffet breakfast was very good. Our colleagues from La...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Leonardo Kirk G
tbrphilippines, General Manager at Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point, responded to this review

Dear Leonardo Kirk G, Thank you for staying with us and for taking time to write about your experience in our resort. It has been our pleasure to have served you and we're glad that you've appreciated our resort. We hope to see you again soon here at Thunderbird Resorts & Casinos - Poro Point! Warm regards, Marvin Lanuza Hotel...

Metro Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile

This rates are somewhat pricey but its okay. Because of the beautiful surroundings, although the beach is not good for swimming its still enough for just a stroll. I recommend this place for families who are seeking pure relaxation!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yvettedimla99
tbrphilippines, General Manager at Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point, responded to this review

Dear yvettedimla99, Thank you very much for taking time to write about our resort. It truly warms the heart knowing that our guest/s appreciate what we've worked hard for. We hope to serve you again soon! Warm regards, Marvin Lanuza Hotel General Manager

832 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (597)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (121)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (98)
Viewed
Room/Suite (47)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (258)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (223)
Viewed
Amenities (8)
Viewed
Beach (9)
Viewed
Deluxe (43)
Viewed
One (29)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)
Viewed
Two (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Fernando La Union
6.7 km away
Kahuna Beach Resort and Spa
1.8 km away
Aureo La Union
Aureo La Union
#2 of 4 in San Fernando La Union
19 reviews
9.5 km away
Awesome Hotel
Awesome Hotel
#1 of 5 in San Juan
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
55.0 km away
Villa Soledad Beach Resort
64.3 km away
El Puerto Marina Beach Resort & Spa
2.7 km away
La Union Blue Marlin Resort
La Union Blue Marlin Resort
#1 of 9 in San Fernando La Union
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Casino and Gambling
  • Golf Course
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hospitality and Leisure ... more   less 

Additional Information about Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point

Address: Pennsylvania Avenue | VOA Compound, San Fernando La Union, Luzon 2500, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Ilocos Region > La Union Province > San Fernando La Union
Price Range: $193 - $848 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point 5*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Poro Point Hotel San Fernando La Union
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Thunderbird Resorts Poro Point staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Choose a room that has a view of the sea”
MMLA64, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor for the PWD and senior citizens”
shengchi, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher floor for the view.”
babypacheco327, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Select Deluxe rooms on the left wing (if facing entrance), they have the best view of the resort and the sea”
366whitem, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“South wing second floor (which is first floor for westerners) overlooking ocean”
34gordonh, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5