We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Nagomi Ryokan Yu

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Nagomi Ryokan Yu
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

134 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 83: English reviews
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

Our daughter, 5 years old, was really excited of sleeping on a tatami and of having a lavatory similar to an onsen! The location was good, close to the supermarket, to restaurants and to the main sites of interest. The staff was nice and cheerful with our daughter.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paola M
Nagomi-Ryokan-Yuu, マネージャー at Nagomi Ryokan Yu, responded to this review

We appreciate your stay and evaluation. We are happy it seems that your party could enjoy your stay with us. There is no bad points in your statement and it encourages us very much. We simply wait for the visit of your family again with a big expectation. Thank you very much.

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2016

This was one of the smaller traditional Ryokans. The rooms and facilities are very basic as you might expect, although here there are on-suite rooms available as an alternative to the usual communal bathrooms. The bed is a basic futon with accompanying yukata, so it is “a fun Japanese experience” for one night. The hotel has two buildings, we were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dis6x
Nagomi-Ryokan-Yuu, マネージャー at Nagomi Ryokan Yu, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay and review. We are glad that we got some complements about our staff or others. Telling you a truth, we are not categorised in Ryokans. Our feature is that offering you a traditional experience at reasonable price. That is why we have some types of rooms and can give the guests more choices. We apologize...

mumbai
Reviewed 27 June 2016

Always wondered what it would be to stay in a 100 year old building in Japan and I really got to relive that experience at the Nagomi Ryokan Yu. If your looking for the experience of a luxury hotel then this may not be for you. But if you want to genuinely experience what it is to live in a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank the_moleMumbai
Nagomi-Ryokan-Yuu, マネージャー at Nagomi Ryokan Yu, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay and positive feedback. We are all grateful that you understood our feature or target in market and you are the one exactly experienced things or atmosphere we would like always our guests to do or feel. This is a precious event for us having guests like you as there is a difficulty to accept cultural...

Australia
Reviewed 24 June 2016

Having stayed at other ryokans in Kyoto I was missing the experience that I felt at other places including contact with the staff at Nagomi Ryokan Yu, which was hasty and very brief. Although it is affordable for people on a budget, it was not the most enjoyable and traditional stay. If you want to get any sleep here make...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natdidthat
Nagomi-Ryokan-Yuu, マネージャー at Nagomi Ryokan Yu, responded to this review

W thank you very much for your stay and honest comment. Please excuse us to add some explanations from our side, too. We are glad that we got your feedback about our affordable cost as this is one feature we are targeting. However, we are not Ryokans or high grade hotels, but offering the real experience of living in Japan...

Durham North Carolina
Reviewed 5 June 2016

I cannot say if Nagomi Ryokan is an authentically traditional ryokan, but it certainly seems like a nice replica of an old Japanese inn. It is not as cheap as a hostel and it has some of the hostel-like components - meaning sharing bathrooms and kitchen with other guests, minimalist rooms and amenities. But the small, wooden rooms are lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarahrus
Nagomi-Ryokan-Yuu, マネージャー at Nagomi Ryokan Yu, responded to this review

We truly thank you for your stay and great feedback. We are glad that we got this high rating from you even you have a negative point. On top, we are grateful that you could find the worth to stay with us although our price is not as cheap as other hostels or guest houses. This accelerates our motivation way...

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 May 2016

The ryokan has been very helpful with us. They speak a clear English and did their best to make our stay more enjoyable. This place is very zen, the indoor garden is so nice. There is a washing machine and dryer which is always helpful when you travel Unfortunately our neighbour were very noisy and with the thin partitions we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Orlane P
Nagomi-Ryokan-Yuu, 予約担当 at Nagomi Ryokan Yu, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your stay and evaluation. We feel happy that we could offer you proper service, it seems. We are always wishing that our guests can feel a tradition or comfortableness for their stay and we believe that yours is quite close to the one. We are very glad about this. We need to apologize for the...

Bunbury, Australia
Reviewed 24 March 2016

A traditional Japanese house that is very humble in size. The guesthouse is sufficient in providing the basics in its own authenticity. If you want to experience a traditional Japanese house before modernisation - this is a must try. Breakfast is also included with a small fee (they will ring your room when it is ready). It is served in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean T
Nagomi-Ryokan-Yuu, 予約担当 at Nagomi Ryokan Yu, responded to this review

We very thank you for your big complements. We are grateful that you precisely got our target for your stay. We are always wishing that guests can experience the genuine Japanese traditional life without any modern renovations in those days and enjoy them. This leads to the humbleness in size as you mentioned. You had just did it and it...

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 19 March 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Nagomi in late January 2016 and found it offered a pleasant ryokan experience for a reasonable price. Our rooms were small, but our futons were comfortable with big fluffy doonahs to escape the winter chill. My mother found the futons a little thin and they left her back feeling sore, but we just had to ask for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LucyATS
Nagomi-Ryokan-Yuu, 予約担当 at Nagomi Ryokan Yu, responded to this review

We thank you for your greatest evaluation. There is nothing we need to add a explanation and we are merely glad that you took everything in good way and you had a comfortable stay, we believe. Our greatest pleasure is that guests can feel a comfortableness and tradition for their stay. We guess that yours is just it and it...

Barcelona, Spain
Reviewed 16 March 2016 via mobile

Nice staff, very helpfull. Great service and very nice located in one of the nicest streets of kyoto. Its being a pleasure share those moments in your place Walking distance to central statiom and nightlife area. Bike rental very interesting to see thw city.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
Nagomi-Ryokan-Yuu, 予約担当 at Nagomi Ryokan Yu, responded to this review

We appreciate such a big complement. There is nothing we can say because your feedback represents our feature and good parts. We simply wait for your next opportunity to visit us with a big expectation. We will try our best to grow up and give you a better experience. Thank you very much again.

Abilene, Texas
Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

As an American never having stayed Japanese guesthouse , didn't know what to expect, but we had an enjoyable four nights. My only complaint is the room size as I am 6ft 3 and half the room is only 4 ft tall. No stools or chairs to sit on but that is SOP. There is a nice kitchen with microwave...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TexasEagle
Nagomi-Ryokan-Yuu, Reservation at Nagomi Ryokan Yu, responded to this review

Thank you for your stay and feedback. We are glad that we mainly got your positive comment about your stay. Regarding the downwards, we preserved the traditional structure from ages ago and it connects to its smallness. This is one of features in those days, so we are always hoping that guests can enjoy these traditional aspects, too. Concerning the...

93 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (91)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (55)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyoto hotels
Shimogyo-ku
Nagomi Oyado Sato
Nagomi Oyado Sato
#155 of 234 in Kyoto
20 reviews
Gion Ryokan Q-beh
#7 of 234 in Kyoto
100 reviews
Shimogyo-ku
Guest House Ikoi-no-ie
Guest House Ikoi-no-ie
#89 of 234 in Kyoto
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shimogyo-ku
Kaede Guesthouse
Kaede Guesthouse
#16 of 234 in Kyoto
56 reviews
Southern Kyoto
Kyoto Hostel Ryokan
Kyoto Hostel Ryokan
#38 of 234 in Kyoto
37 reviews
Gojo Guest House
#27 of 234 in Kyoto
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Shimogyo-ku

Neighbourhood Profile
Shimogyo-ku
Shimogyo-ku is centered around the busy train hub, Kyoto Station. A nexus for commerce, shopping, dining, and hotels, the Shimogyo-ku area is infused with tourists and local business travelers, making it a competitive location for ever-new commercial structures. The shops and cafes here are chic and trendy, as a result, with many recognizable chains. Commuters flood the Shimogyo-ku area twice a day, and with Kyoto Station itself being a modern mega-complex and an architectural marvel, this neighborhood is one of the most contemporary and energetic areas that the city has to offer. Buildings here look futuristic, and huge department stores, shopping arcades, and public meeting spaces provide every possible convenience. It is also nearly the only place in Kyoto where rooftop dining and socializing is available, completing its modern tone.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a Machiya, Japanese traditional wooden, Guesthouse in Kyoto. Good location for sightseeing by city bus and subways. You can feel the authentic Kyoto's culutre and life with lovely antiques. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nagomi Ryokan Yu

Address: 94 Kamiwakamiyacho, Wakamiyadori Rokujo Nishi-iru, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto 600-8313, Kyoto Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Kyoto Prefecture > Kyoto > Shimogyo-ku
Price Range: $86 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Nagomi Ryokan Yu 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Rakuten, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Nagomi Ryokan Yu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nagomi Ryokan Yu Hotel Kyoto
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nagomi Ryokan Yu staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Nagomi Ryokan Yu staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Luckily we had a room facing the garden not the street”
 of 5 bubbles AnnS0P, 9 May 2016 | Read review
“Book Early”
 of 5 bubbles seant714, 24 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Avoid any room in this hotel...”
 of 5 bubbles Barcelonaut, 11 Mar 2015 | Read review
“If you come with an adult older than 60, you might prefer 1st floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles 796pimk, 28 Dec 2014 | Read review
“Room downstairs have nice garden view but with thin structure, you will hear room upstairs moving around.”
  • our room
 of 5 bubbles BangkokNegotiator, 13 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay