RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto

RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto

1 Taimatsu-Cho, Shiokojisagaru, Higashihorikawadori, Shimogyo-Ku, Kyoto 600-8237 Kyoto Prefecture
Traveller (1173)
Panorama of the Family Room at the RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
360
Panoramas (32)
プレミアムスイートツイン-プレミアムフロア Premium Suite Twin-Premium Floor(9F)
Room & Suite (874)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#75 of 339 hotels in Kyoto
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Renovated in September 2016, our hotel provides all the necessary comforts while maintaining the traditions of a brand that has proudly hosted royalty. With all new facilities, including complimentary Wi-Fi, six restaurants, a luxurious bar, a heated indoor pool, and a modern fitness gym, we gladly extend our welcome to families, businessmen, and tourists alike. Located near the hub of transportation, Kyoto Station, we are convenient for those traveling from Kansai International Airport or any major city within Japan as well as just a short walk from World Heritage sites, the Kyoto Aquarium, and the Kyoto Railway Museum. In addition, we provide complimentary shuttle service to the station and 117 free parking spots, making us a perfect base for exploring the ancient capital during your travels.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Free shuttle or taxi services
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Electric vehicle charging station
Paid private parking on-site
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kid-friendly buffet
Vending machine
Shuttle bus service
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Spa
Massage
Salon
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Chapel / shrine
Concierge
Currency exchange
Gift shop
Newspaper
Shops
Doorperson
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air purifier
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Interconnected rooms available
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Room service
Safe
Telephone
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Business
Languages Spoken
English, Chinese, Japanese, Korean

Location

1 Taimatsu-Cho, Shiokojisagaru, Higashihorikawadori, Shimogyo-Ku, Kyoto 600-8237 Kyoto Prefecture
Name/address in local language
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 93 out of 100
93
Itami Airport
36.4 km
See all flights
Kobe Airport
62.3 km
See all flights
4.0
4.0 of 5 bubbles1,971 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto garners mixed reactions, with its proximity to Kyoto Station and complimentary shuttle service being highlights for guests. However, some visitors have called out the hotel for its basic and sometimes outdated rooms, despite noting their cleanliness. The dining options are a plus, yet crowding at breakfast and a perceived lack in value, due to high costs and limited amenities, have been points of contention among reviewers. Overall, the polite staff is a redeeming feature, although guests suggest improvements could be made.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Bland
Rooms
Basic
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Meticulous
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Satisfactory

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveller reviews for more details and information.
1,971Review43Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 596
  • 861
  • 357
  • 101
  • 56
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Adip R wrote a review Nov 2023
Pune, India1,602 contribution149 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is a fantastic option for tourists in Kyoto. While it's conveniently situated not far from Kyoto Station, it enjoys a serene and tranquil location that offers respite from the city's bustle. It's just a 15-minute walk from the station, and for added convenience, the hotel provides a shuttle service.
The rooms are spacious and come equipped with all the necessary amenities to ensure a comfortable stay. The hotel staff is exceptionally attentive, and one standout member, Nguyen Thithuy at the reception, consistently went above and beyond with a warm and welcoming smile, making guests feel right at home.
The on-site restaurants provide top-notch service, ensuring that dining is an enjoyable experience. This hotel comes highly recommended for tourists looking to make the most of their stay in Kyoto.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Higher floor rooms offer better view.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Akil O wrote a review Feb 2023
Southampton, United Kingdom53 contributions11 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The staff are very polite when checking in.
They have a airport shuttle from Kyoto station if required too. We used it when checking out. The hotel is only a 8min walk from Kyoto.

The room we got was a twin. It was ok, clean and bigger rooms than other hotels. The hotel is very clean.

The breakfast has a good spread but after eating the same thing for 9 days you get fed up. It never changes however I believe they are refreshing this option.

They have a mineral water machine onceach floor so you can refill your bottle if required. We had issues trying to get an iron when calling housekeeping they kept putting the phone down on us or didn't talk when we spoke English or tried to translate in Japanese. Eventually we got one.

The housekeeping is very good and fast. Overall my stay was ok.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
marshayden wrote a review May 2023
Melbourne, Australia492 contributions66 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Rihga Royal Hotel Kyoto as part of a tour group. The hotel is conveniently situated walking distance from Kyoto Station and various inexpensive restaurants in the Station. Our room was a twin room and the smallest room we stayed in during our tour. It was awkward to open our suitcases and leave them open in the room and there was not a wardrobe but rather open hanging space. The room and bathroom were both spotlessly clean. The bathroom didn't have a clothes line over the bath to hang hand washing on. The beds were comfortable. The breakfast buffet was quite good but it was difficult to find egg dishes.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
keen T wrote a review Mar 2020
Shinjuku, Japan3 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stay here for 3 nights booked through hotels.com included ABF The reason we book this hotel cause it close to Kyoto station with free shutter bus. The price consider high with all additional charge for the using hotel facilities such as swimming pool and gym. Our room located quite far from the elevator with very long long corridor. Breakfast almost the same dishes everyday. We had been asked for the charging of the bottles of drinking water in room even there were a hotel logo at the bottles. The hotel staffs told us that there is no complimentary drinking water in room. We was really disappointed that the big hotel like this has no provide complimentary drinking water. For the entire trip in Japan, this was the first hotel that we been charged for the bottles of drinking water in room.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Explorer810241, マネージャー at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Responded Apr 6, 2020
Dear Keent2019 - san, Thank you very much for staying at our hotel. Also, thank you for choosing our hotel from many hotels. However, I apologize for any inconvenience caused by having you pointed out. We will continue to devote our efforts to improving based on your opinions so that we can offer you a better stay. We look forward to the your next visit to Japan, and thank you for receiving valuable opinions. Thank you. With best regards, Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Derik A wrote a review Sep 2023
Toronto, Canada72 contributions119 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The exterior of the hotel is quite uninviting. Once inside you find a large well lit lobby, although it is very outdated and needs renovation to bring it up to date.
The location of this hotel is not very convenient to stores or restaurants, but it is a 15 minute walk to Kyoto's Porto station where every type of store can be found. There is a free shuttle to and from the hotel.

The staff speak very little English and seem to be doing you a favour when they speak to you. Even a request for a City Map was unsuccessful.
The brightest spot in the hotel was the concierge, Hiromi Kato who spoke perfect English and who went over and above to help. She was the best ever!

We were shown to our room which overlooked railway tracks - not too impressed!
Our room was pretty basic with an 80's style bathroom which was really badly designed. When the bathroom door was open, two people couldn't be inside at the same time. One good thing was the 'fog free' mirror.
There was no make up mirror and the shower was in the bathtub with an old fashioned shower curtain.
The water pressure was horrendous, and fluctuated as did the temperature.
The worst showers ever. On one occasion the water went from ice cold to boiling hot in the matter of a minute.

If you want to find an English TV channel, [there is only one], or how to work the A/C - all instructions are in Japanese.

The water bottle system is also archaic. You are given a water bottle with instructions to fill it in another room down the corridor. Once you arrive at the designated room, you discover that the bottle is too tall to fit under the refill spout.

There is no coffee shop or gym and there is a charge to use the swimming pool.

Overall very unimpressed.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2023
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
shivansh b wrote a review Apr 2024
2 contributions1 helpful vote
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Let me start with saying that there’s nothing Royal about Rihga. We were welcomed by the uncourteous staff at the hotel reception who asked us to carry our bags ourselves to the room. Rooms are very cramped. House keeping is only done till 12 PM after which you will have to make a special request which is also entertained till 2 PM. Post 2 PM room will not be cleaned. Duvet slides inside the cover and you keep fixing that all night. Breakfast timing is 10 AM but they put a close sign after 9.30 AM and nothing is refreshed after that. They shut the counters and pick up the food at exact 10 AM including the coffee machines. All in all it feels like an army base where you are always on your toes. It felt like the hotel did a favour by letting us stay in their property. This hotel is the only bad experience in my entire 10 day japan tour. The only good thing is the proximity to kyoto station however there are other hotel options nearby.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
温泉すし三昧 wrote a review May 2020
東京都3 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent 3 nights with my family but never coming back again !
Overall services were terrible, awful, worst in my life ... the porter didn’t help to carry our luggages to the room checking in, and to put them into my car after checking out either. The bellboy was just looking at us nearby.
Our reservation of the stay was actually split by two and erroneously two different room types were reserved. At the check in, we were asked if we want to move rooms over the stay in accordance with my reservation or do downgrade to stay at the same room - first time to be offered room downgrade. I asked the reception “rooms are fully booked, that’s why you are requesting so, right ?” she said “no, but...”. It was mid-March 2020, imagine. Took almost 30 min for check in.
We didn’t feel any hospitality by the staff over the stay at all and therefore, were totally disappointed at the staffs attitudes.
I had a chance to speak with the hotel manager over the phone at home after check out and complained with all the above incidents but he said “show me the proof”. He never apologized till the end - the manager’s reaction represents the hotel’s philosophy.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from 福井 良, 支配人 at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Responded Aug 28, 2020
Dear Nomad804817 san, We sincerely thank you for staying with us,and thank you for your taking time to share your feedback.While I wish you had a better experience,it is feedback like this that we learn form and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. We deeply apologize that our services were not done to your satisfaction.We will take the point that you have brought to our attention into careful consideration and will be sure to inform the responsible departments. We will continue to work hard to provide each and every one of our valued guests with the most pleasant stay as possible. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust , I can assure that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many our guest have enjoyed. Sincerely, Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Simon M wrote a review Apr 2023
Clitheroe, United Kingdom670 contributions384 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a large hotel with terrible management
The room was very spacious by Japanese standards
However the facilities were very poor
Breakfast was a complete and utter shambles, on both days we had to wait ~ 30 minutes to get into the restaurant. When in it was a scrum to get coffee. Trying to get food was also difficult as some many sections were empty. There was not enough staff to fill the plates fast enough
Read more
Date of stay: April 2023
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Get to breakfast very early
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AhasverSaoPaulo wrote a review Feb 2023
Sao Paulo682 contributions174 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Venerable hotel close to Kyoto station (free shuttle bus) and a two minutes walk from Hongwanji temple.
We had a spacious Japanese style tatami room with a big bathroom and a separate toilet (as is the standard in Japan).
Despite the proximity to the station the room was really quiet.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
pj813 wrote a review Jul 2023
Chicago169 contributions110 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were very pleased with our hotel stay. We contacted several hotels in Kyoto, and this one was the only hotel that has a swimming pool that allows children. The rooms are a good size and breakfast buffet is nice. Staff were very helpful. Location is about 8 minute walk from Kyoto Station but there is a shuttle that comes every 15 minutes. Location is very convenient. Overall we had a very nice stay
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: 9th floor was very good
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Stuart T
Oxford, United Kingdom486 contributions130 helpful votes
Hi Becky. Yes, for sure! The rooms are large enough for that. Enjoy your trip. Stuart
tiggitytsh asked a question Nov 2022
Chicago, Illinois43 contributions40 helpful votes
I saw a review here that said there's a charge to use the pool. Does anyone know how much??
Answer from Naomi T
Kelowna, Canada2 contributions1 helpful vote
550yen/person over 3 years. Open from 13:30-20:30(reserved by 18:30) 12years and under needs supervision by an adult
Michelle L wrote a tip Apr 2024
South Carolina50 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very close to Kyoto Station, convenience stores (Lawsons and Family Mart), and multiple restaurants."
Read full review
farmacia wrote a tip Mar 2024
Parma, Italy193 contributions247 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Nothing"
Read full review
Tim D wrote a tip Mar 2024
Joondalup, Australia10 contributions2 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"The rooms are very hot (in March when we visited). Breakfast is very crowded. No shower caps but otherwise good products."
Read full review
Subren wrote a tip Jan 2024
45 contributions12 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure to use the free shuttle provided when you arrive in Kyoto Station"
Read full review
Sunbris wrote a tip Dec 2023
Brisbane, Australia37 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Since this is an Expedia VIP access hotel, remember to mention your Expedia Rewards member status at check-in to collect exclusive perks. "
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Kyoto area.
PRICE RANGE
C$82 - C$167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rihga royal kyoto, kyoto rihga royal hotel
LOCATION
JapanKinkiKyoto PrefectureKyotoShimogyo-ku / Kyoto Station
NUMBER OF ROOMS
489
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto - UPDATED 2024 Prices, Reviews & Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Which popular attractions are close to RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto?
Nearby attractions include Kyoto Aquarium (0.5 km), Aeon Mall Kyoto (0.4 km), and Kyoto Ramen koji (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto?
Top room amenities include a minibar, air conditioning, and a flat screen TV.
What food & drink options are available at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto?
Yes, free parking, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tajimaya Aeon Mall Kyoto, Katsukura, Kyoto Station Bldg The Cube, and Kurasu.
Are there opportunities to exercise at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto?
Yes, guests have access to a pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Chinese, Japanese, and Korean.
Are there any historical sites close to RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fushimi Inari-taisha Shrine (2.8 km), Kiyomizu-dera Temple (3.1 km), and Sanjusangendo Temple (1.8 km).
All Kyoto HotelsKyoto Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in KyotoHotels near RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsVacation RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesRental Cars