We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel Toyo

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Hotel Toyo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

189 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Toyo
See the most recent reviews
Showing 121: English reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2016

Checked in quickly with friendly and helpful staff to a small, yet relatively clean room. Unfortunately on my way to the shower late at night I stumbled across a large roach on the stairs. I killed it with one of the hotel-provided slippers, only to be chastised by a male employee with earrings when I reached the bottom of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
hoteltoyo, マネージャー at Hotel Toyo, responded to this review

Thank you for your staying at Toyo this time. We are sorry about the roach which you had to kill by yourself. In summer, we see them inside our hotel even we try to get rid of them with special insecticide. We are very sorry for the inconvenience. We have to remind you again why we asked you to show...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 29 July 2016

For essentially the price of a regular dorm, you get a small private room. It's just for sleeping, but after sharing in a 10 bedroom dorm, you will probably welcome the change. Plus - because you have the key to the single room, security is no issue for your baggage. The staff here are wonderful, and the common room is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Meg2326
Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

I like the hotel since it is near the subway station and Donki (supermarket is one of the places i like to visit when I am in other countries). The interior looks old but the room is cozy and comfortable with clean shared shower room and toilets. They also have a common area with kitchen and refrigerator. They also have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank applemiffed
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

This place is about as youth hostel as a youth hostel can be. That's not a negative thing by any means, but I saw a family check in as we were leaving and I felt kind of bad for them. Toyo is definitely designed for the young, unmarried, budget backpacker. That being said, you can't beat these prices. A private...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Elise A
Philippines
Reviewed 15 July 2016

This hostel was a good place to stay in Osaka. It is near a subway and Shinimamiya station so I was able to easily navigate around. The staff were very accommodating, and the rooms and toilets were clean. It was nice staying here because unlike in dormitories, I have my own room and it was also cheap.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tina2883
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 10 July 2016

Thera are many cheap hotels in the area around the Shin Imamiya station, some even cheaper, by far the cheapest area to stay in all of Japan. With direct trains to KIX, Koyasan, Nara. Also a large supermarket, a Montbell outdoors shop, ... at Tennoji 5 minutes on foot. But this hotel is not only cheap but also excellent. They...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pierre W
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2016

This hotel is a great base in Osaka. The area itself, as others have mentioned, is not the nicest...but by no means is it really bad and you still feel safe. Right next to the JR line and subway station, it is very easy to get anywhere from the hostel. There are loads of great restaurants round the corner, a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Caz281988
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewed 29 May 2016

- Japanese style room with private room enough for solo traveller. - share private clean bathroom - Bath gel, shampoo provided. - good location - 10min walk to spa world & Tsūtenkaku Tower. - 1min walk to subway Dobutsuen-Mae station (exit 4 / 5) & 3min walk to Shin-imamiya station (exit east). - staff friendly and helpful. - Will definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lai_cy
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 29 May 2016

Entrance is a bit smelly but the staff was very friendly. Rate here was cheap compare to what you get. Small but private room, comfort enough for one person with big backpack. Laundry service is very easy and cheap here but please don't forget to bring your own dryer sheets. There are free wifi here but very slow, can't really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kobjob
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 19 May 2016

So nice! more of a hostel, than a hotel, but you get your own room, which is a really nice change. The staff are really helpful, and they have a good kitchen, etc so you can cook food, or eat there. They also have rental bicycles, for 500 yen a day, which is kinda expensive, but seems to be the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank INKYHAUS

88 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Osaka hotels
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Business Hotel Chuo
Business Hotel Chuo
#78 of 285 in Osaka
205 reviews
Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Business Hotel Mikado
Business Hotel Mikado
#84 of 285 in Osaka
179 reviews
Hotel Taiyo
#176 of 285 in Osaka
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Drop Inn Osaka
#5 of 153 in Osaka
163 reviews
Osaka Hana Hostel
#4 of 153 in Osaka
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Toyo offers great value for travelers looking for a warm, friendly, inexpensive hotel in a convenient location for Osaka sightseeing. We're located in the center of the 'Minami' area of Osaka (Minami means south in Japanese). The location is also convenient for all your sightseeing in the Kansai region, including Kyoto, Nara, Kobe and Wakayama, making use of the 4 train lines available in the area. We are only 40min from Kansai Int'l Airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Toyo

Address: 1-3-5 Taishi, Nishinari-ku, Osaka 557-0002, Osaka Prefecture
Region: Japan > Kinki > Osaka Prefecture > Osaka > Shinsaibashi / Nanba / Tennoji / South Area
Price Range: $19 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Toyo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Rakuten, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Toyo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Toyo staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Toyo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid rooms near the stairs. It's a bit noisy because the walls are thin.”
 of 5 bubbles poo_surachest, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try to get room on 2F (In japan 2F=1st floor). (I think 1F might be noisy but not sure)”
  • Room with cupboard and fan
  • Entire room clicked from door
 of 5 bubbles 913truptip, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are for 1 or 2 people”
 of 5 bubbles Caz281988, 7 Jun 2016 | Read review
“As a couple, opt for the twin room.”
 of 5 bubbles For_Elsie, 9 Apr 2016 | Read review
“no elevator, provide a pocket size heater on winter”
 of 5 bubbles jimmyl797, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay