We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

PODs The Backpackers Home

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
PODs The Backpackers Home
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

296 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 227: English reviews
Terre Haute, United States
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

PODs is the best hostel I have stayed at in Kuala Lumpur, and for sure...it is the best value you will find near KL Sentral. There is good wifi, and hot showers. Breakfast is included with you stay. They also have a common area downstairs with couches, tables, TV, and a small cafe.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This hotel is very convenient as it is close to the train station. The rooms are very clean and welcoming but my room did not have a window. The bar downstairs is very nice, we can do a lot of nice meeting there. I would recommend this place for budget travelers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Médéric P
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I literally stayed there for 6 hours and within that time, while I was sleeping, my locker key was stolen and my belongings with them. Consulting the staff at 5am, they looked clueless. There is a back door that seems to always be open and all someone needs to do is follow another person into the dorm. They said they'd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ross D
Wah_Harun, Manager at PODs The Backpackers Home, responded to this review

Hi Ross D, first of all I'm sorry that you lost your money however I would like to provide more explanation about the actual situation. You came to check in at around 12:30 midnight and you came down at around 5am to report about your missing money. You suspected that someone came in from the emergency door (which is always...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed only for one night in a single room and I liked it a lot. Nice staff offering local food, small but very clean and nice room, super fast internet (compared to other hostels) and nice big showers. Hope you come around again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ramona T
Wah_Harun, Manager at PODs The Backpackers Home, responded to this review

Hi Ramona T, thank you for your positive feedback and we're very happy to inform you that we've now installed one dedicated router for each floor to improve our Internet connection better. And also we're building a nice big and better shower. Hope to see you back to experience a much better stay at PODs.

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We did not stay here. We only went for a beer and cup of tea downstairs. Cool and relaxed atmosphere. Was a good place to socialise. Good location with sentral monorail 2 mins away. Reasonable prices too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rory G
Wah_Harun, Manager at PODs The Backpackers Home, responded to this review

Hey Rory G, thank you for your nice review. We really appreciate it and we will continue to make our place a very good place for both our hostel and cafe customers.

Saint Columb Major, null, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 November 2016

The private room is a little bigger than a single mattress laid on the floor. Glass door meant no privacy in the room. Slamming doors until 2 am. Rude staff, shouting at customers who overstay their welcome or stand too long by the reception during the check out. One good point is a location to the metro station and all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaggieMay0612
Wah_Harun, Manager at PODs The Backpackers Home, responded to this review

Hi MaggieMay0612, our private room concept is called pods and hence it is designed to be a mattress placed on top of a built in platform. I'm sorry that you had a bad experience with the staff. However he was just nicely asking you if you needed any help since you were standing in front of the reception waiting for...

Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewed 29 October 2016

I stayed on my last night in Malaysia because the location was convenient for getting to the airport (it is ~3 min walk to the metro/bus station that goes pretty much everywhere in the city and to the airport). The hostel itself is quite dirty-- the bathrooms were never clean, with toilet paper everywhere in the toilet rooms and feces...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine J
Wah_Harun, Manager at PODs The Backpackers Home, responded to this review

Hi Catherine J, I'm not sure what you meant with 20 older men in the dorm. Our maximum capacity of the dorm is 16 people in a mixed dorm. I'm happy however to tell you that we are a hostel that accepts anybody regardless of age (13 or above), gender, race. Our 16-bed mixed dorm always has a mixed of...

Reviewed 14 October 2016 via mobile

Awesome for backpackers. I hope can be here again. Good quality. Clean room and the facilities are quite nice too. Hope will be here again soon. Thank you very much for the friendly service. May God bless us all. ;)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Raja N
Wah_Harun, Manager at PODs The Backpackers Home, responded to this review

Hi Raja N, we really appreciate your kind and positive review and we're happy that you enjoyed your stay here. God bless you too! :)

Reviewed 8 October 2016

Friendly cool staff. Open 24/7. Relaxing place. Free breakfast. Computer internet usage. Cable television. Very central to the main central train station and a huge air conditioned modern super spacious plaza nearby. (Also LGBT friendly establishment)

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom R
Wah_Harun, Manager at PODs The Backpackers Home, responded to this review

Hey Tom R, thank you very much for your positive review about us. We're glad that you loved your stay at PODs and it's always our goal to make it feel like home. Keep on travelling and love is love! :)

Mae Sot, Thailand
Reviewed 3 October 2016

It is a very well located hostel with helpful and cordial staff. I stayed in the girls dorm and didnt have any problems, they have lockers and hand you a towel 2 essentials of hostel traveling. I used to work in a hostel and frankly is a good standard hostel with normal hostel problems where a lot of people share...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beacarrilloc

142 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
2:15
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (52)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuala Lumpur hotels
0.3 km away
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
Aloft Kuala Lumpur Sentral
#14 of 333 in Kuala Lumpur
2,732 reviews
0.1 km away
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
Metro Hotel KL Sentral
#80 of 333 in Kuala Lumpur
351 reviews
0.0 km away
My Hotel @ KL Sentral
My Hotel @ KL Sentral
#111 of 333 in Kuala Lumpur
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Hotel Sentral
Hotel Sentral
#104 of 333 in Kuala Lumpur
1,296 reviews
0.1 km away
NU Hotel Sentral
NU Hotel Sentral
#92 of 333 in Kuala Lumpur
66 reviews
0.5 km away
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
Hilton Kuala Lumpur
#15 of 333 in Kuala Lumpur
3,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located just opposite KL Sentral the hub for transportation in and out of Kuala Lumpur PODs The Backpackers Home offers affordable accommodation without compromising on atmosphere and cleanliness. Rest. Assured. Our common room is equipped with internet access, wifi, door security tags, a library as well as a wide selection of local traditional games. PODs offer trips and links to the roads less travelled, a choice to stay at a Perma- culture farm or an orang asli hut. For the more adventurous, Friends Of PODs have many exciting trips and hikes into the Malaysian rain forest and quietly hidden crystal clear waterfalls. You may join our free R2B2 wheelie rides and experience Malaysia through the eyes of the locals. As the people from PODs are mostly from the art scene, do not be surprised if we break out into song and dance every first Friday of the month. ... more   less 

Additional Information about PODs The Backpackers Home

Address: Jalan Thambipillay | Brickfields, Kuala Lumpur 50470, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Wilayah Persekutuan > Kuala Lumpur
Price Range: $19 - $24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — PODs The Backpackers Home 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your PODs The Backpackers Home reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from PODs The Backpackers Home staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from PODs The Backpackers Home staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“take flip flops to avoid stepping on the poop in the concrete shower cubicle.”
 of 5 bubbles MaggieMay0612, 5 Nov 2016 | Read review
“dorm room on the top floor for sure”
 of 5 bubbles , 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“4th floor has high ceiling, less hot. don't choose the corner bottom beds. That's bed 2, 8, 10 and 16. They are far from the ceiling fan”
 of 5 bubbles ariel_dapito, 17 Jul 2016 | Read review
“For the best room options, book or call in advance.”
 of 5 bubbles raymondg271, 15 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Better to stay in a hotel rather than hostel or accomodation for backpackers when you are in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.”
  • PODs The Backpackers Home
  • PODs The Backpackers Home
  • PODs The Backpackers Home
  • PODs The Backpackers Home
  • PODs The Backpackers Home
 of 5 bubbles johannr128, 23 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay