We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

McCall House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
McCall House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

243 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 243: English reviews
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Although the house is well maintained and centrally located, the noise from the adjoining road was very loud. The room was clean and sufficient for a one night stay. No staff was in the house after 5:00pm making it somewhat soul less. The breakfast was awful. Cold lemon pancakes, horribly presented pieces of fruit, ordinary eggs were served by an...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joel k
McCallHouse, Manager at McCall House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and letting us know your concerns. We strive to make every guest feel welcome and comfortable. We would appreciate the opportunity to serve you again so you can have a totally different experience as most of our guests have had as referenced in other reviews.

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We had the luck of getting a room with with very short notice. What a nice place. We had been driving from Crater lake and where celebrating my wife's 50th birthday. Could not have a better day and a better stay. What a gem this place is. Very beautiful with friendly staff and charming rooms. Breakfast was great. We did...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lars J
McCallHouse, Manager at McCall House, responded to this review

We certainly enjoyed you staying with us and look forward to you visiting us again!

Johns Island, South Carolina
Reviewed 27 August 2016 via mobile

We spent three nights in this charming historic house, central enough to walk to everything, including of course the Shakespeare festival events. Breakfast was a labor of love and the whole house was lively and interesting. Service was top tier, with everyone seemingly part of the family. Not surprisingly, reservations are already piling up for 2017. Worth the effort.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ossoman
McCallHouse, Manager at McCall House, responded to this review

Thank you so much! We are sop happy you had a great experience and know we will see you in 2017!

Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

This is a perfectly restored and updated Victorian dating from 1883. And it's walking distance from the Shakespeare Festival venues and all of downtown Ashland. We felt very lucky to book this for just one night, but hope to come back again and stay longer. The McCall House is well-run, comfortably friendly, and serves a delicious breakfast. Although it is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol f
McCallHouse, Manager at McCall House, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely review. We certainly enjoyed having you stay with us and hope to see you soon!

Oregon
Reviewed 25 July 2016

I have stayed in several different B&Bs in Ashland, but only when the McCall House is completely booked! This is my favorite B&B of all. The house is clean, comfortable and beauifully decorated. The garden was lovely and relaxing. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast delicious. Besides of all of the wonderful amenities of this B&B is the fact...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cpreef
McCallHouse, Manager at McCall House, responded to this review

We enjoyed having you here and were able to enjoy the splendor of The McCall House. We hope to see you in 2017!

Poynette, Wisconsin
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed one night snd were very impressed by the beauty of the B&B, bed comfort, helpfulness of staff and great breakfast. Easy walk to downtown snd Shakespeare Festival. Highly recommend. Not appropriate for people who have difficulty with stairs. No tv if that is important to you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fred T
Vancouver, Washington
Reviewed 14 July 2016

We have stayed at McCall House more than a dozen times and usually in the Phyllis Courtney room on the main floor. We have loved the room obviously and enjoyed the claw foot bathtub - however, the bathroom has just been remodeled with the tub gone and a huge shower is now in place! We love it. The bathroom seems...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Judith V
Fremont, California
Reviewed 13 July 2016

We have been attending plays for a week for the last ten years. McCall House is ou favorite place to stay. A block and a half from the plays, lovely breakfasts, and wonderful staff, McCall House is part of the pleasure of being in Ashland.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spropas
California
Reviewed 13 June 2016

The staff was friendly and helpful. Large comfortable room (we stayed in the President Hayes Guestroom). Delicious cooked breakfasts were different each of the three mornings we were there. The property is on a quiet residential street a short one block walk to downtown shops, theatres and restaurants. The room air conditioning system was welcome as it was hot outside....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ConstantTravelers
Dallas, Texas, United States
Reviewed 22 May 2016 via mobile

This is our 4th visit to the McCall House and it is one of the best we have ever stayed. The house was built in 1883 and restored beautifully by it's current owners. The Innkeeper Daniel Perry is professional, personal and makes one feel right at home. The chef makes amazing breakfasts and the entire staff are wonderful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ezzat C

128 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (94)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (4)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ashland hotels
4.4 km away
Ashland Hills Hotel & Suites
0.3 km away
Ashland Springs Hotel
Ashland Springs Hotel
#6 of 19 in Ashland
622 reviews
0.2 km away
Plaza Inn & Suites at Ashland Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
BEST WESTERN Windsor Inn
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
BEST WESTERN Bard's Inn
#3 of 19 in Ashland
702 reviews
0.8 km away
Stratford Inn
Stratford Inn
#4 of 19 in Ashland
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our beautifully restored 1883 Italianate mansion offers luxurious accommodations one block from theaters. Comfortable elegance abounds in our double parlor and ten guest rooms furnished with period antiques and fine linens. ... more   less 

Additional Information about McCall House

Address: 153 Oak Street, Ashland, OR 97520
Region: United States > Oregon > Ashland
Price Range: $152 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — McCall House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your McCall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from McCall House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from McCall House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles joelk344, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Any room is god. You cannot go wrong.”
 of 5 bubbles LarsJ399, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Phyllis Courtney room now has huge shower and is on the main floor.”
 of 5 bubbles judithv149, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“No elevator; long stairways to second floor”
 of 5 bubbles ConstantTravelers, 13 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Rooms upstairs have amazing light and nice views.”
 of 5 bubbles AndrewLloyd87, 11 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay