We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Aiken

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Aiken
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

138 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Hotel Aiken
See the most recent reviews
Showing 138: English reviews
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel for the weekend while visiting family members. The staff is wonderful, the young lady at the front desk-Brittany was very helpful and went out of her way to accommodate my daughter and I and point us in the direction of child friendly eating establishments in the area. Anything I had an...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kitsunefire
Hampton
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Once again, my frineds and I visited the beautiful town of Aiken and stayed at the Hotel Aiken. The staff is the best. This one of a kind hotel was built over 100 years ago and still has the oldest elevator in SC, and the only one in the building. The staff has to operate it for you so if...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank deerrivers
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Fancy website, and if you look at it on Google Street view it looks pretty good, but I think "faded glory" sums it up. We are in "the courtyard" which is just a strip of standard American motel rooms in the parking lot. There's nothing *wrong* with it; it's just not what it cracks itself up to be. Once you...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JamesHappyWalker
Mayfield Heights, Ohio
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Had a great stay at Hotel Aiken (built in the 1800s) in downtown Historic Aiken South Carolina. It located about 2 hours south of Charlotte Nc and 1 hour east of Augusta Georgia. There are 3 bars including an outdoor bar and a wonderful quaint pub. They have bands and other events planned. Restaurants and shops are all within walking...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathleen B
HotelAikenMgnt, General Manager at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback, we here at Hotel Aiken are going through some positive changes and will continue to do so. Hopefully we will be complete with all the construction and remodeling soon. Again thank you for staying with us and hopefully will see you soon.

Savannah, Georgia
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We have been up here several times; it is an easy motorcycle ride, the hotel is centrally located & parking is easy. Hope Brittany is on duty - she goes out of her way to help you out. Today as we checked out she took the time to show us a room she thought we would like more than the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Katie A
Athens, Georgia
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel for my high school reunion which was held in one of their banquet spaces. The staff was wonderful; very polite and welcoming. The location is very convenient. I definitely enjoyed my stay at Hotel Aiken. However, the hotel desperately needs to be updated.....they still have the old 90s style tube televisions. This is a historic...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tom A
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Yes - the location of this historic hotel is great for shopping and restaurants - but the facility itself leaves a lot to be desired! The lobby had a bad odor but the girl at the desk was pleasant and welcoming. The carpet was past needing to be replaced and was filthy dirty! The room didn't look very much like...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cheechinsc
HotelAikenMgnt, General Manager at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review

We are very sorry for your experience here at Hotel Aiken. We are currently gearing up for a renovation here and would like for you to consider giving us another try in the future. We appreciate your feedback and will correct these problems immediately. Thank you for helping us make improvements here at Hotel Aiken. Bryan C. Mitchell

Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Recently three soccer officials stayed at the Hotel Aiken for two nights in this downtown location. First the positives; 1. The hotel is centrally located within walking distance of many local taverns and restaurants. 2. The hotel is an easy walk to many downtown shops and many lovely parks. 3. The streets are cobblestone which brings about a southern charm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Boris S
HotelAikenMgnt, Manager at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review

Dear Guest(s), Thank you for your recent stay at Hotel Aiken! We appreciate your compliments to the front desk staff and our on-site bars. We have addressed the issues you mentioned regarding breakfast and are sorry to hear you were inconvenienced. We have a lot of room updates coming up in the next year in our historic and exterior entry...

aiken
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Historic hotel in downtown Aiken South Carolina. Great location for shopping and golf. Dinner options in the area were plentiful and the staff was very aware of the menus and hot spots. The architechture of this property is exquisite and I am told it is over a century old. Cant wait to return

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank freddieAiken
HotelAikenMgnt, Manager at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Hotel Aiken! We appreciate your compliments to the staff and about the hotel. We look forward to have you as a guest in the future! Sincerely, Hotel Aiken Management

Hampton
Reviewed 25 February 2013

If you are looking for an old historic hotel with fun, breakfast, walking distance to shopping, dining and reasonable prices, this is the place. My friends and I get together a few times a year and enjoy staying in different kinds of places. We liked this one since it is in a very old hotel but they do have a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank deerrivers
HotelAikenMgnt, Manager at Hotel Aiken, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your compliments to the hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and in Aiken. It is nice to hear from a guest who enjoys our quaintness! We hope you will choose Hotel Aiken as your home for future visits to Aiken. Sincerely, Hotel Aiken Management

68 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (57)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aiken hotels
8.3 km away
Country Inn & Suites Aiken
2.8 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Aiken
4.8 km away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#9 of 20 in Aiken
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Aiken
6.1 km away
Hampton Inn Aiken
Hampton Inn Aiken
#3 of 20 in Aiken
268 reviews
4.3 km away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#8 of 20 in Aiken
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Hotel Aiken is the perfect place to "play & stay" in downtown Aiken! Originally built in 1898 the main building of the Hotel Aiken has gone through many changes and a series of major and continuous renovations since 2001, with the accent on retaining the historical feel of this landmark building whilst providing all the modern amenities one would expect from a contemporary Hotel, such as free use of hard-wired HSIA in all rooms. We also offer more moderate accommodations in our courtyard building, where the rooms are basic, standard motel rooms. We have three on site bars, which makes Hotel Aiken one of downtown Aiken’s most popular watering holes. We have live entertainment on Wednesday-Saturday nights until 2AM and are open seven days a week. Hotel Aiken is centrally located and considered "party central" almost every day of the week. Please keep this in mind when making your reservations at our hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Aiken

Address: 235 Richland Avenue West, Aiken, SC 29801
Region: United States > South Carolina > Aiken
Price Range: $76 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Aiken 2*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Aiken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Aiken staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 201 is away from the bar noise and has a great view of the city.”
 of 5 bubbles MartyY221, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for what you want - they will do everything they can to accommodate!”
 of 5 bubbles bamafoody, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Don't go there.”
  • Peeling wallpaper near the ceiling
  • Peeling wallpaper and mold
 of 5 bubbles 483alvind, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“no way ..were told they are all different”
 of 5 bubbles V8707PIanneh, 17 May 2016 | Read review
“The main building is quaint and apparently quieter than the annex. I would ask if they have any rooms that have been remodeled.”
 of 5 bubbles _ncemily27526, 15 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5