We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Civic Plaza Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Civic Plaza Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

46 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Civic Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 46: English reviews
El Paso, Texas
Reviewed 30 April 2012

All other hotels in area were sold out, BUT NOT this one. Now I know why! Upon arrival, there were sleazy looking people hanging around, some blatantly holding cloth rags up to their faces and obviously taking deep breaths of whatever they were sniffing that day. The room did not have a secure feel to it, as there was no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lemado
Colorado Springs
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We arrived in Abilene around 12:30 a.m. after driving for 13-1/2 hours - so we were TIRED and just wanted to find a place to sleep! We drove around and saw little in the way of hotels in the area where we were. There were actually only two that we did see. My son read the reviews on his smartphone...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank T H
Austin, Texas
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I truly wish I had read all of the recent reviews of this property before staying here. My high school son and I visited Abilene for him to attend a visit at one of the local universities. All of the recent reviews are true - dirty bathrooms, scary folks outside, no chains on the door, one bed with no blanket,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Momof3pks
Anna, Texas
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Do not! hold your rooms with a credit card, I made reservations for our ministry team, and because of impending bad weather called to cancelled. The young man who answered stated that I would have to call back after 3pm and talk to the manager. She did not get in until 6pm and WOULD NOT cancel my reservations, saying it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank highway_heaven
Brenham, Texas
Reviewed 14 August 2011

We were here for a family celebration on august 12th, 13th left on the 14th! We reserved this hotel threw. omg i cannot believe they represent these kind of hotels. Never will reserve a room from them or this hotel again..As we arrived the area very sketchy them in the lobby was an awful smell and the people or where...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Loredova
rodewayinnabilenetx, Webmaster at Civic Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Rodeway Inn Downtown Convention Center for your recent stay in our area. I am sorry it was not the pleasant encounter which you had anticipated. I hope your family celebration was a wonderful one. Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps...

Albany, Minnesota
Reviewed 21 June 2011

Travelled to Abiline for a wedding and stayed at this facility only because it was the accomodation that was arranged for our group. I had read all of the bad reviews and was very nervous about what our stay would be like, but reasoned that since we would not have our own transportation and it couldn't be any worse than...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jfg29
rodewayinnabilenetx, Webmaster at Civic Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Rodeway Inn Downtown Convention Center for your recent stay in our area. Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is very much appreciated. In spite of what you considered negative experiences at our establishment, I hope you had a wonderful time with your family and friends. Sincerely,

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 15 May 2011

I stayed here with my two teenage daughters and after the hotel overbooked by 11 reservations, they gave us the last room! Upon entering the door was held together by duct tape and would not the lock. The bathroom had lime buildup in the shower, moldy shower curtain, dirty toilet, dirty sink and counter. My children and I refused to...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank lsoquinn
rodewayinnabilenetx, Webmaster at Civic Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Rodeway Inn Downtown Convention Center for your recent stay in our area. Thank you for taking the time to give us a review. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken: 1) Management and security were notified of the vagrants who tried to enter your room and instructed to see that our...

San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Most disgusting motel ever. Feces left in toilet upon check in, shower dirty with standing water, carpets filthy, wall paper coming off the walls with brown stuff running down the walls. In the room next to mine the guy said he had what he thought was fresh urine and blood on the bed! This was the worst experience ever and...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Roberta2007
rodewayinnabilenetx, Webmaster at Civic Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Rodeway Inn Downtown Convention Center for your recent stay in our area. Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken: 1) Housekeeping staff received additional training concerning the level of cleanliness required of them as our...

San Jose, California
Reviewed 28 March 2011

DO NOT STAY HERE! The "free full breakfast" is a “bait and switch” lie. We were refused breakfast for 3 of 5 days. We had no useable toilets and no hot water for showers for part of stay. Rooms were dirty. Some amenities were not provided; some did not work. Staff was either incredibly rude or completely indifferent. As of...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank TKelly100
rodewayinnabilenetx, Webmaster at Civic Plaza Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Rodeway Inn Downtown Convention Center for your recent stay in our area. Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken: 1) The breakfast staff received additional training in presenting a proper breakfast. 2) Housekeeping staff received additional training concerning the...

Grand Prairie, Texas
Reviewed 11 March 2011

the room was nice and clean nice employes food was ok but you have to ask for a coupon to get it free or or $1,00 off you have your choice of about 4 things that are free will stay there next time in abilene

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ir2lindac

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Abilene hotels
6.8 km away
MCM Elegante Suites
MCM Elegante Suites
#16 of 37 in Abilene
235 reviews
4.5 km away
Courtyard Abilene Northeast
4.7 km away
TownePlace Suites Abilene Northeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
Hampton Inn Abilene
Hampton Inn Abilene
#4 of 37 in Abilene
285 reviews
9.2 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Regional Medical Center
1.9 km away
Sayles Landmark
Sayles Landmark
#3 of 9 in Abilene
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms

Additional Information about Civic Plaza Hotel

Address: 505 Pine St, Abilene, TX 79601-5109
Region: United States > Texas > Abilene
Hotel Class:2 star — Civic Plaza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Civic Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knights Inn Abilene
Abilene Knights Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Civic Plaza Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“No tips to share for a good room”
 of 5 bubbles 163MaryM163, 29 Mar 2015 | Read review
“DONT ever book here”
 of 5 bubbles lal1943, 2 Oct 2012 | Read review
“Want a good room? Stay somewhere else!!!!!!!!!”
 of 5 bubbles lemado, 30 Apr 2012 | Read review
“Do not stay here!”
 of 5 bubbles Momof3pks, 31 Mar 2012 | Read review
“Run from this room fast, its scary, nasty and the area was very sketchy!”
  • STAINED BATH TUB DRAIN
 of 5 bubbles Loredova, 14 Aug 2011 | Read review
5 of 5