We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Antelope Lodge

2310 W Highway 90, Alpine, TX 79830-4106
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Antelope Lodge is a 1950's motor court hotel in Alpine, Texas. We are currently restoring the Lodge with vintage furnishings and updating everything from linens to furniture. If you want an authentic motor court experience, then we are it. Cabins are dotted throughout the two acre grounds and there is a central courtyard where guests BBQ and enjoy the fires on cool desert evenings.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Parking
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Non-Smoking Hotel
Room features
Kitchenette
Non-Smoking Rooms
Air Conditioning
Microwave
Refrigerator in room
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quirky Hotels
Quaint
HOTEL CLASS
Location
Full view
Getting there
Midland International Airport226 km
See all nearby hotels
Nearby restaurants
See all nearby restaurants
Nearby attractions
See all nearby attractions
Reviews & more
7Reviews
18Photos
0Q+A
3Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 2
  • 2
  • 1
  • 2
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Show reviews that mention
The Antelope Lodge is an old motor lodge from the 1950s. Bedrooms with kitchenettes are in twin cabins dotted around the property. Rooms have window AC, comfortable beds, clean fresh linen, metal table and chairs, and quirky charm. This is not a modern chain-hotel. It's rustic, o
Read more
The room looks nothing like the posted photos, in my opinion. I didn't find this rustic, it just seemed to me like it was put together with cheap materials. I will say that I found the bed comfortable and the room stayed warm. But cold concrete flooring with no rugs is miserab
Read more
Response from AntelodgeLodge, Owner at Antelope Lodge
Responded Oct. 21, 2018
We really regret that you had such a negative experience with us! The pictures are definitely the rustic 1950's Antelope Lodge and the price hopefully reflects our offering as well. We appreciate the feedback and will quickly address some of these items. We purchased the Lodge about 10 months ago and have been renovating it ever since, but there are still rough edges and we have a lot of work to do moving forward. This will never be like a national chain hotel by design since we are actually trying to preserve the nostalgic appeal, which many guests seek out. So far we have built all new custom beds, new mattresses, new linens, pillows, towels, vintage furniture, new faucets and shower heads, and repaired many items in the rooms not to mention throughout the property. We still have a lot of restoration work to do and have worked hard to insure guests are aware of this before they book since we definitely do not want to mislead anyone. Our website goes into detail on many of these points as well, since we know not everyone is looking for West Texas rustic or vintage experience when traveling. If you love classic old cars for instance, then you'll get and dig this place, but if you normally stay at national hotel chains when traveling, then this is not comparable.
Read more
I took some poor advise and made a reservation here. I had low expectations, and was still disappointed. I love "rustic", but this place is just old, outdated, and poorly maintained. My cabin was in need of painting, updating the few amenities, faucets dripped, uncomfortable cha
Read more
Response from AntelodgeLodge, Owner at Antelope Lodge
Responded Oct. 19, 2018
Hi Kenneth. Sorry you had a bad experience with us! It sounds like we definitely dropped the ball and did not take the initiative to improve your stay. I am personally addressing this with the staff, especially on the TV not working, because they are brand new flat screens, so it was probably just an incorrect setting that we should have been able to fix. We bought the Lodge about 10 months ago and have added all new handmade beds, new mattresses, linens, pillows, faucets, shower heads, vintage tables, metal chairs, new flat screen TV's, etc., but we sincerely have a long ways to go to do the full restoration. We are definitely rustic and best suited for folks that want a true West Texas vintage experience in a classic 1950's motor court motel. If you are looking for the national hotel experience, then we are not the best option, so I couldn't agree more. If however you want to take a step back in time at the dawn of road trips out west, then we are the real deal.
Read more
The Antelope Lodge is a throwback to travelers in the 50s. The rooms are one room with a bed, kitchenette, dining table, TV on the wall, AC in the window and a separate small bathroom. Some of the building are duplexes and some are singles. Our building was a duplex and it was fi
Read more
We made reservations months in advance and looked forward to our visit. Once we arrived we found that the Deluxe Queen Suite was really a small twin bed room. Unfortunately my mate needed a shower with bars as she was handicapped and needed support when in the shower or tub (wh
Read more
Response from AntelodgeLodge, Owner at Antelope Lodge
Responded Apr. 30, 2018
Hi BarkingBill, The Lodge is under renovations so we definitely apologize for the inconvenience and of course we really appreciate your understanding. We have a local craftsman, who just started building custom beds, so within the next three months we'll have all new handmade beds, which will be exciting. In addition to the beds we are planning to create more custom designed furniture and start remodeling the kitchens this summer along with improvements throughout this historic motor court hotel. Best, Antelope Lodge
Read more
Previous
12
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteFamily and Play Areas
Hot shower.
Photo provided by managementAntelope Lodge
Photo provided by managementAntelope Lodge
Photo provided by managementAntelope Lodge
Photo provided by managementAntelope Lodge
"Get a lodge near the front"
"They are all the same"
"Maybe get a single cabin if possible...mine was a double unit bldg. but fun and quiet."
PRICE RANGE
US$88 - US$123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
antelope hotel alpineantelope motel alpine
LOCATION
United StatesTexasAlpine
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing