We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

477 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 462: English reviews
Start your review of La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol
 Click to rate
Dfw
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you want to bring a few 6-packs and party all night playing loud music, and don't mind the smell of vomit from the previous guests, then this hotel is for you. If you want to get some sleep, then go somewhere else. Too bad because I was looking for a low priced pet friendly hotel in this location, and...

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
lq0907gm, Manager at La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol, responded to this review

Dear Lisa, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We value all guest feedback as we are continuously working to improve our guest experience. I want to apologize for the experience you had with us, we want all of our guests to be able to get a good night's rest without...

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My daughter was looking at the law school at UT and the hotels were very expensive so we decided to stay at the La Quinta as it was more reasonable. We only stayed one night and I woke up bitten by bed bugs! I'll never stay there again.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
lq0907gm, Manager at La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us . I would like to apologize for the experience you had and would also like to request you reach out to me so I can get a little more information. I see you mentioned you were bitten by bed bugs, we take these allegations very seriously and want to...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed 3 nights during a portion of the SXSW conference and it is one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed at, and certainly a bad showing for La Quinta. At $200+ a night, it felt more like a $30 highway motel and less like a hotel 2 blocks from the capitol and downtown Austin. Had a room off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank appyrae
lq0907gm, Manager at La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol, responded to this review

Dear Appyrae, I’ve received your review of La Quinta Austin - Capitol. Looks like we dropped the ball on meeting your expectations. I appreciate your feedback; this is definitely not the experience we want you to have when staying with us! Your feedback will help us improve our operation. Rest assured your comments will be shared with our team, and...

Houston , TX, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

most be the oldest hotel near the Capital and it shows , it was too old and will never be fixed carpet in hallway was dirty and it smelled the parking was not good had to pay exact for that , the starter breakfast was very poor selection , towels in bathroom where old toilet must be the first ever...

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jimmydC3800HC
lq0907gm, Manager at La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. We welcome all guest feedback both positive and negative as we continuously work to improve our guest experience. I will be sure to address your concerns with our team so we can improve on the opportunities such as the dirty hallways. As for the...

Burleson, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We chose this hotel because it was a decent price for the location. We were walking distance from most things downtown - 6th street, the convention center, the capital. The walls were thin which woke myself & my husband up, but luckily my toddler slept through the partying crowd arriving back from a night on 6th street at all hours...

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
 Report
Helpful?
Thank candacem648
lq0907gm, General Manager at La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol, responded to this review

Hello Candace, Thank you for the review. I appreciate your feedback and I am happy for the most part your stay was good enough to return to our hotel in the future. I do want to apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with the other inconsiderate guests that kept you up and I somewhat happy to hear that it didn't...

Houston, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Making reservation in the call center in New Mexico was not a pleasant experience, until 2 supervisors got involved. A simple issue with youngins not having customer service experience. 2nd supervisor made me feel as if she was doing me a favor, but fixed the problem. Hotel is old, but rooms & staff were excellent.

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
 Report
Helpful?
Thank stevegerryf
lq0907gm, General Manager at La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol, responded to this review

Hello Steve, Thank you for recently staying with us and letting us know how your experience was. I do want to apologize for the unpleasant experience you had with our call center millions of miles away from the hotel for people that booked your reservation. I will address that with our corporate office and find out what happened. As for...

Mansfield, United States
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We chose this hotel because it was walking distance to the convention center. I wouldn't want to walk it by myself. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel is older and is showing signs of wear.

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
 Report
Helpful?
Thank cindyn891
lq0907gm, General Manager at La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol, responded to this review

Hello Cindy, Thank you for staying with us recently and letting us know how your experience was. I appreciate the review and I will share this with my team. I am happy to hear the location was wonderful and that the staff was wonderful. I will share this with them and I celebrate our success of this. Thank you again...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We needed a hotel near the capital!! We booked online. Hotel is two blocks from the capital building. The sheets on one of the beds was dirty, it had lots of hair on it!! The furniture was all scratched and beat up!!

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 667ramong
lq0907gm, Manager at La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. I would like to apologize for the cleanliness of your sheets. Here at La Quinta we hold ourselves to the highest standard and in this instance we have fallen short of this standard. I will be meeting with our housekeeping team to ensure this does...

Spring, Texas
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

The hotel needs to be updated! Plus the PARKING is insane! Utter chaos...after my boys and I attended a family wedding, we came to the hotel to change clothes. There were like 10 cars in line, some parked on the street waiting to be parked...BECAUSE ALL PARKING IS DONE BY VALET only!! You can not just park, go in change...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MeshLife3
lq0907gm, General Manager at La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for staying with us recently and letting us know how your experience was. I do want to apologize you had an unpleasant experience with our valet team due to a busy check in day. Although we are only valet parking, I will work with them on this to ensure that we are getting our guests checked in...

The Colony, United States
Reviewed 14 February 2017

Close to Capitol Close to 6th Street Close to all eateries The location is amazing and I will definitely be staying here again. I was pleased with service and our pets for free. I just wish the room were a little more upgraded but i have no complaints. I was pleased overall

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nateishas
lq0907gm, General Manager at La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol, responded to this review

Hello Nateisha, Thank you for staying with us recently and giving us a wonderful review. I am happy to hear that the hotel was what you expected and more. Being close to downtown and pet friendly are compliments we always love to hear, especially, when our guest suggest to other people that this is the place to be. I will...

58 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Downtown
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol is located in the heart of downtown Austin near the Texas State Capitol Complex and the University of Texas Campus. With La Quinta as your home base, you have easy access to all popular area attractions: Sixth Street Dining and Entertainment...see more District, West End Shops and restaurants, a local brewery, the Convention Center, and Texas State History Museum. Tour the area in a "Duck," a six-wheel drive military power vehicle. View a massive population of bats at the "Bat Bridge." Ride the Austin Steam Train. Visit LBJ Wildflower Center, Austin Children's Museum, Alamo Drafthouse Cinema, LBJ Library, or cheer on your favorite University of Texas sports team. You can do it all from here! Start each day at the La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol with a Free Bright Side Breakfast arranged by our friendly staff. Enjoy free wireless high-speed Internet access in the lobby. We have a 24-hour fitness center to get you going and a refreshing swimming pool to cool you down. Capitol Metro busses stop across from our driveway. The hotel is easily accessible, just 3 blocks west of I-35, and within walking distance of all major area attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol

Address: 300 E 11th St, Austin, TX 78701-2412
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Price Range: $163 - $391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol Hotel Austin
La Quinta Austin
Austin La Quinta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from La Quinta Inn Austin Capitol staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Walking distance to the capital.”
 of 5 bubbles W3877MQkeiths, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“find somewhere else to stay”
 of 5 bubbles A7332VTvictorr, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Do not even go in the door”
 of 5 bubbles GBBoatCruiser, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
“the exterior rooms probably have the better views”
 of 5 bubbles MitchJ374, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay here!”
 of 5 bubbles Rachi21, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
5 of 5