We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Courtyard Austin-University Area

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Courtyard Austin-University Area
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Austin-University Area
See the most recent reviews
Showing 128: English reviews
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 22 October 2015 via mobile

Stayed one night at this property and had three (3) rooms booked. One of the rooms had major AC issues. Overall the staff was nice but the prices in the cafe area were just absurd. $11 for a breakfast sandwich. I rather stay in a Springhill and at least get a free breakfast. I was in room 816 and you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tmstewar2
Werner M, General Manager at Courtyard Austin-University Area, responded to this review

Dear Tmstewar2, Thank you for staying with us and for proving us with some feedback of your experience. We will go and look at the AC unit and do the needed repairs in room 815. We are glad to see that you found the staff to be nice. In regards to the Bistro prices, we are looking into this and...

Chino Hills, California
Reviewed 22 October 2015

I just spent two nights there and was disappointed by the experience. The hotel is worn down. Elevators and corridors are dirty and full of dents. Rooms are ok, but the lack of double window and its location along the 35 makes it for very noisy room. In addition my room was located not far from the elevator and that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank f_jolles
Werner M, General Manager at Courtyard Austin-University Area, responded to this review

Dear f_sapich, Thank you for your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your experience was disappointing. I have involved my team and we have looked at all of the opportunities you have listed, we will work towards resolutions to ensure that we make improvements in the areas. We hope to see back in the near future. Kind Regards

Reviewed 22 October 2015

Great little hotel. Stayed 6 nights on my last business trip. Breakfast in the morning is excellent ($10). They have free coffee in the lobby, though it isn't fantastic. They also have cookies and popcorn at random times during the day. They also have a free Nacho bar on Monday nights during Monday night football (not sure what they do...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DrChai
Werner M, General Manager at Courtyard Austin-University Area, responded to this review

Dear Dr_Chai, Thank you for your feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your stay back in January. We have completed our remodel since then. We hope that you can find some time to come see the new product and experience the new layout of the rooms and lobby. Kind regards

California
Reviewed 21 October 2015

We've stayed at this hotel many times, before and after remodel. The new lobby and new rooms are very nice, but the hotel operations are sloppy. Each trip, each day, there is something wrong. Often minor, but it adds up. Last time ice makers on the first 3 floors I tried were broken. Eventually the front desk manager was kind...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank David C
Werner M, General Manager at Courtyard Austin-University Area, responded to this review

Dear David C, Thank you very much for the feedback. I have taken your feedback and shared it with the operations team and we have gone back and looked at everything you have encountered. There is no reason why these small things should happen. We hope to see you back in the future. Kind Regards

Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewed 20 October 2015

They did a good job with the Re-model! You can tell the hotel is older but they did a really good job with the re-model! Good value, too! The staff was Excellent! Very eager to assist! I needed a channel guide, called the front desk and within 5 minutes it was at my door! Hard to find that kind of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Reford B
Werner M, General Manager at Courtyard Austin-University Area, responded to this review

Dear Redford B, Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you like the new renovation. We hope to see back in the very near future! Kind Regards

Port Aransas, Texas
Reviewed 5 October 2015

Newly remodeled and looks nice. Lobby is very nice. My room was updated and clean. New TV, good wifi in room. Location is convenient to I-35. I was on top floor, never a long wait for elevator. Check-in was quick and front desk staff were courteous. The neighborhood itself was a little sketchy so you'll want to drive somewhere to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank outtahereaggie
Werner M, General Manager at Courtyard Austin-University Area, responded to this review

Dear outtahereaggie, Thank you for staying with us for sharing your feedback. We are glad to hear that you found your room to be clean and updated and that our location was convenient for you. We are fortunate to be located in an upcoming neighborhood and we are looking forward to some of the big changes that are going to...

Plano, Texas
Reviewed 27 September 2015 via mobile

This looks like every other courtyard which is good I guess. New tv' sand free wifi. They have a bistro downstairs that serves breakfast,with Starbucks and alcohol in the evening. The location is a few miles from campus. If you want to be in the middle of things stay downtown. Cheaper to stay here and use uber to get around...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PlanoTravler
Werner M, General Manager at Courtyard Austin-University Area, responded to this review

Dear PlanoTravler, Thank you very much for your review and for staying with us. We are happy to hear that found a plus in our hotel above the normal Courtyard. We are looking forward to your next visit to Austin!! Regards

Riverside, California
Reviewed 17 September 2015 via mobile

As a Platinum Marriott member, let me start by saying the erosion of service at Marriott in general has me moving to Hilton for most of my weekly travel. Once again my decision is affirmed. 2 cold showers later at this hotel due to no hot water, a "bistro" where a tuna scoop was used to ladle my soup and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Denise1686
Werner M, General Manager at Courtyard Austin-University Area, responded to this review

Dear Denis1686, Thank you for your feedback in regards to your stay with us. I am disappointed to hear that your stay was terrible and that we were unable to provide you with level of service that you would expect from Marriott. We do have action steps in place to deal with the issues you have encountered and we have...

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 10 September 2015

I have been a Marriott member for the last 14 years and platinum for the last 5 years. This is the first time that I have been treated so poorly. On August 25th I found roaches in my room. I took pictures to show the receptionist that there were roaches in my room. The only response I received was that...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Juan C
Werner M, General Manager at Courtyard Austin-University Area, responded to this review

Dear Juan C, I am the General Manger at the property and I would like to connect with you personally. I am terribly sorry about your experience with us. Please let me know a good time to call you at werner.mostert@cymaustin.com I am looking forward to speaking to you. Regards

Midland, Texas
Reviewed 9 September 2015

I stayed 2 nights. The hotel was comfortable enough. My room was only half way cleaned after the first night. It looked like the maid probably got distracted and didn't finish. Other then that, no complaints.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Laura C
Werner M, General Manager at Courtyard Austin-University Area, responded to this review

Dear Laura C, Thank you for staying with us during your most recent trip to Austin. I am so sorry about the room cleaning issue. We will look into as to what happened. We hope to see you back soon for another stay! Kind Regards

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
0.1 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Austin-University Area
0.7 km away
Holiday Inn Austin Midtown
0.3 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Austin - Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Residence Inn Austin-University Area
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Austin Central
2.3 km away
Hyatt Place Austin-North Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
GreenPartner Learn More
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Microwave
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This newly renovated Courtyard by Marriott is just a few miles north of downtown Austin, 6th Street, and the Texas State Capitol, Courtyard Austin University Area offers newly-renovated guestrooms, lobby and an onsite Bistro and outdoor pool. Our University of Texas Austin hotel is just 3 miles from the campus off Exit 238A of I-35. Modern guestrooms feature Marriott luxury bedding, flat-screen TVs and free Wi-Fi. Guests will enjoy a delicious selection of breakfast and dinner options at our Bistro. We offer a comfortable outdoor pool and fitness center that is available 24-hours. With over 1,600 sq. Ft. Of event space, business meetings are easy at Courtyard Austin University Area. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Courtyard Austin-University Area

Address: 5660 N Interstate 35, Austin, TX 78751-1717
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Price Range: $152 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Austin-University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Courtyard Austin-University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Austin - University Area Hotel Austin
Courtyard Austin Central
Austin Marriott
Austin Courtyard
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Courtyard Austin-University Area staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“do not reserve a one bedroom suite unless you want to hear the elevator run up and down, and breakfast is sub-par and it is not free”
 of 5 bubbles ZooJake, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best rooms are probably as far away as possible from the busy highway and not too close to the elevator.”
 of 5 bubbles George_Corine, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get a room on the opposite side of the highway for a quieter stay.”
 of 5 bubbles TravlinCarolinaGal, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Request top views facing the city, makes for pleasant mornings.”
 of 5 bubbles adampF6286OT, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Not sure how to, but find a way to not face (directly or indirectly) the highway.”
 of 5 bubbles JeremyG33, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5