We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Quality Suites Downtown South

View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Quality Suites Downtown South
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

72 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 70: English reviews
Start your review of Quality Suites Downtown South
 Click to rate
Westfield, Indiana
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here for three days for the MotoGP. When you look at the other hotels nearby, this is a bargain. The room was clean with clean, soft, and plentiful linens. There were no pests and the fixtures were dated. There was a floor lamp by the bed side table instead of a table lamp. The light from this lamp...

Thank Jelyka
Reno, Nevada, United States
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here for 5 days for the Moto GP race at COTA. Check in went well, staff is nice and friendly. The second day we got back at 3 and our rooms hadnt been cleaned. Management sent the maids up and it was taken care of while we waited in another room. The third day we came back at 6...

Thank Aj B
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This place is the pits. Similar to Bates Hotel!! Old old old. Pulled out the bed from the couch ..disgusting with old sheets. Key cards don't work have had to have them rekeyed twice. They need to spend money to upgrade!! Bathtub looks old and needs to be replaced not to mention rusted. If I could 1 star I would...

Thank Darla H
Jamie H, General Manager at Quality Suites Downtown South, responded to this review

I am so sorry you had such an unpleasent trip to our hotel. I will use your feedback to help correct the problems you listed. I hope you will reconsider and visit us again as it is our top priority to make our guest comfortable and happy. Sorry again.

San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 7 March 2017

I was seeking a hotel with Indoor pool for the family to enjoy this past weekend. Only to discover the indoor pool was freezing, no towels around (had to call front desk) -- either way, we made the best of it. My next visit to Austin, this hotel will be 3rd pick choice.

Thank Lisa Leia G
Paris, France
Reviewed 1 December 2016

Hotel was fairly clean, beds were average, some of hotel shabby. Has breakfast but room is very small where it is served. Front desk people are helpful and friendly. Location is right off IH 35 a few miles South of downtown.

Thank desfwillis
Beverly, Mass.
Reviewed 20 October 2016

Overall, I had a good stay at this hotel. I had no major problems. The biggest problems were that the shower pressure was a bit low and the TV signal cut out a few times – that's all. I feel silly even mentioning those small things. My expectations weren't that high given the location, but my expectations were met on...

Thank soxskier
Crown Point, Indiana
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Granted this is a second tier in the Choice hotel line so my expectations weren't high. However, the floor in the bathroom had a large crack, the shower faucet got so hot it burned your hand when you turned it off after your shower, the couch was badly stained, and fitness center had nothing to wipe the equipment off with...

Thank blondie0172
Houston, Texas
Reviewed 9 October 2016

My first impression of this hotel was that it was decent. Nothing special, a little shabby, but overall clean. However, then we walked into our room (309) and almost gagged. It smelled absolutely horrible - overwhelmingly like damp/mildew. Our noses adjusted to it after being in the room for a few minutes, but every time we left the room and...

Thank erin464
Thomas O, General Manager at Quality Suites Downtown South, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry to hear about the smell issue, and I have passed this information onto my maintenance department. I hope we may have another chance in the future to make things right.

Reviewed 23 August 2016

Really, really nice desk clerk got us checked in in a few seconds. We had stayed there three or four years ago and the rooms are nice, but public areas a bit worn--cracks in tile in elevator, wallpaper torn elsewhere. However, very clean. Room was nice, with LARGE tv. Great A/C. Pool on small side, but we didn't need it....

Thank JoeSchlambe
Reviewed 3 August 2016

We booked online and check-in/check-out was fast and easy. The double queen size beds were comfortable and the room was oversized and had a mini-fridge, microwave, desk and couch. The A/C was super cold which was nice and we were able to sleep very well. The hotel itself was clean overall. The pool area is indoors and the whirlpool has...

Thank snowtiger9

38 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (12)
Room/Suite (6)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Dining (1)
Bathroom (1)
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (26)
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Room/Suite (4)
Dining (1)
Bathroom (1)
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Other (15)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Austin
Hampton Inn Austin/Airport Area South
Courtyard Austin South
#97 of 200 in Austin
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Breakfast Available
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Quality Suites Downtown South

Address: 1701 E Saint Elmo Rd, Austin, TX 78744-1007 (Formerly Comfort Suites Downtown South)
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Price Range: $137 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Suites Downtown South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Suites Downtown South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Downtown South Hotel Austin
Comfort Suites Austin
Austin Comfort Suites
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Quality Suites Downtown South staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Ruidoso Downs, New Mexico
10 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Quality Suites Downtown South staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“odd number rooms are on the side facing the parking lot”
  • bathroom
  • door to room
  • two double beds, couch and desk
soxskier, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 309 smells terrible!!”
erin464, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I would suggest and East facing room, away from the freeway as it is quite close if you are a light sleeper.”
snowtiger9, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Ice machines are located on floors 1 and 3 only.”
michaelmV8065CU, 7 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Do not stay here!”
603kl, 18 Jan 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
US$96* /night
View Deal
View all 11 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates