We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

240 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 234: English reviews
Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed two nights at this great centrally located accommodation. It was quiet, comfortable and included a grab and go breakfast of muffin, muesli bars, coffee/tea/hot choc and oats. Kitchen facilities were good and room was spacious. Everything we needed was there. Easy walk to the city and along the Lake was lovely. Lots of food trucks and restaurants nearby.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fmckay
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for your fabulous review! We are thrilled to read you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us at Extended Stay America -Austin - Downtown - Town Lake. Thank you for your wonderful comments about our convenient location, spacious suites with an added convenience of a kitchenette, and the ease and variety of our grab-and-go breakfast. Our goal is to...

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location, but not the cleanest place in town. I arrived on Friday and the same gum wrapper was on the floor next to the entrance to the elevator until Tuesday morning. There were two jumbo bags of dirty linens sitting in the hallway where you exited from the elevator entry for three days. No room service at all during...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HarryTease
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us. We apologize for the less than perfect stay and the cleanliness issues you faced during your visit. This does not meet our standards, and steps have already been taken to address and correct our performance. It’s our goal to match our great location with exceptional customer care, and we will continue to work hard...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Located half way between the crazy fun of 6th street and the trendy, hip South Congress area, this Extended Stay worked great for us. As long as you know this hotel chain provides clean, comfortable, basic, budget accommodation you won't be disappointed. But you may be pleasantly surprised with how walk-able most of Austin tourist sites are from here. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fish-Fun-Seaker
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your kind review of Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake. We are happy you were pleased with our central location which made your stay enjoyable with us and that you liked your well-equipped room which was perfect for your needs. It is also great to read that you were impressed with our...

Singapore, Singapore
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here when I attended a conference in Austin. The hotel's location was convenient, within walking distance from the Austin Convention Center (just across the river), and yet not right in the heart of town where it's probably more noisy. I have read the not-so-positive reviews and was worried that I might encounter those problems, but turned out that the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RLmEC
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. We are happy to know that your overall visit was pleasant and our location was perfect for your needs. That being said, we are sorry to read there were some concerns in regard to our service during your stay. To make sure this doesn't happen again, we are actively...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My review before was pretty hasty and nasty, when I actually found out we should of had a discount for the Buck Hunter Championship,but all turned out well when the last night we finally switched to a different room the ac worked and slept better, turned out pretty good overall.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Denny S
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to review your experience at Extended Stay America Austin - Downtown - Town Lake. We are delighted to read that your overall visit was satisfactory. It was our pleasure serving you and your friends, and we hope to see you all again soon! Sincerely, General Manager

San Diego, California
Reviewed 1 November 2016

I stayed there for the Austin F1 GP - this was a centrally located hotel close to everything we needed and at an expected premium for such an eventful weekend. First Impressions - * When we got into the room there was no toilet paper and the roll in the bathroom was down to a few sheets. This should be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dp978
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for being our guest and for sharing your rating and feedback. We apologize for the less than satisfactory stay you had with us. We want all of our guests to arrive to a clean, fresh and comfortable suite so they can have a pleasant experience. We failed in a couple of ways and for that we apologize. We...

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Reviewed 20 October 2016

We were very pleased that we chose this hotel. It was significantly less expensive than other downtown hotels in Austin. The staff was pleasant and the room was fine. The air conditioner is a style that shuts off and on during the night which bothered me the first night but I didn't notice the second night. The location was excellent...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marmoto
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

We are so glad you chose Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake for your trip to Austin and found us to be a good value as well. It is also great to read our location was convenient to everything you wanted to do on this trip. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again...

Fort Worth, Texas
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Air Conditioning worked. Full kitchen available if you request dishes and pans from the front desk. There are no amenities like pool or exercise room. Your room will be cleaned after you check out. If you need additional towels, all you have to do is take your used towels to the front desk to get replacements. "Breakfast" was a joke:...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GeneFromTexas
00esa, Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for the feedback about your stay at our hotel. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so we were disappointed to hear we did not meet your expectations. We apologize the breakfast offerings were not to your liking. We will make note of your feedback as we plan any changes to our breakfast offerings....

Reviewed 8 September 2016

Dirty front door and worn out/dirty carpet is a warning of the attention to detail that is missing at this facility. Dirty elevator. Room was neat and tidy. But....No hot water in the shower. Iron spit water on my shirt and I had to wear it that way. Lack of communication between the night and day staff about my problem...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hans P
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

Hans, thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and for sharing your comments. We are disappointed to read about the numerous issues you encountered. Please accept our apologies for failing to deliver the exceptional stay you deserved. All feedback is taken seriously, and we hope you will stay with us again for a much improved experience whenever your...

Houston, Texas
Reviewed 8 September 2016

I booked this hotel through hotwire.com for $60 per night, and for this money we got freshly refurbished, clean room with kitchenette. The location is really good - in walking distance from the city center, but in the calm and green district.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gulara A
00esa, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and for posting your kind remarks about our hotel, Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake. It is wonderful to read you not only enjoyed your clean accommodation and our convenient location, but you also found us to be a great value. It was a pleasure having you as our guest,...

30 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Austin hotels
Downtown
Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - 6th St.
Hyatt Regency Austin
#20 of 200 in Austin
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake

Address: 507 S 1st St, Austin, TX 78704-1207 (Formerly Homestead Studio Suites)
Region: United States > Texas > Austin
Price Range: $147 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake 2.5*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Extended Stay, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Studio Suites Austin - Downtown -Town Lake Hotel Austin
Extended Stay America Austin
Homestead Suites Austin
Austin Homestead Suites
Homestead Austin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Extended Stay America - Austin - Downtown - Town Lake staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We stayed on ground floor opposite car park and it was fairly quiet, but it was a Monday/Tuesday. Might be noisier on the weekend.”
 of 5 bubbles fmckay, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Preview the room before accepting it?”
 of 5 bubbles 464hansp, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Stay elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles AustinSkier22, 4 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Get a scrubber for utensils cleaning, dish detergent available at hotel”
 of 5 bubbles bobbyfaith, 14 Jun 2016 | Read review
“don't go there”
 of 5 bubbles lauriemZ7519LT, 25 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay